We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located next to the Mall and Theme park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of E-Da Skylark Hotel

Save Saved
You added E-Da Skylark Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
E-Da Skylark Hotel
No.100 Yida 8th Street, Sanhe Village, Dashu Village, Kaohsiung 84041, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 242 hotels in Kaohsiung
New Delhi
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Well located next to the Mall and Theme park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed on the top floor, the room was very large and I had two large queen sized beds to myself. An outside balcony was a nice touch, although the air-con unit did take up a lot of space. A major issue I had was that the corridor outside the lift lobby on my floor at least had a very low ceiling, I'm just under six feet and I had almost next to no margin, a person over 6'2" will need to slouch in the lift lobby. I found this a bit odd.
As other reviewers have mentioned a direct link to the Mall and theme park will be a nice addition, and there is also a lot of light streaming into the room when the Ferris wheel is on, although that is turned off by 11PM.
The breakfast selection was very good and while we did have a rented vehicle, the bus service between the entire E-Da City to Kaohsiung proper is quite good and affordable.

Room Tip: take a room with a view of the Ferris wheel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    13
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Spacious, clean, reasonably new.
My husband, toddler son and I got a superior twin, where there were two queen size beds.
All basic amenities of a 4-5star hotels were available.
The only weakness - no sky bridge link to the eDa shopping mall building/ferris wheel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Room is quite average in siZe and the room we had came with 2 queen size beds and basic items are provided. We had dinner in the hotel n the Chinese food was quite ok and not salty nor too oily. Wifi is free and room is comfortable. Overall quite nice. The nearby Eda outlet mall was quite a dismay. Clothes not as cheap as other outlet malls. There is a very clean night market - civilized type opposite the hotel near the mall. Very basic Taiwan night market varieties except taste waste so so.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The room is very spacious which has 3 single beds. The furnishes are very well maintained. It is just next to the morris wheel and walking distance to the Eda Park. There is also a shuttle bus to the Eda Park.

The room has no WIFI.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed there for 1 night last week. From outside, pretty impressive. Inside, it's upper 3 star hotel. Service so so. Breakfast spread looks good but in really sucks. Got to give mgnt credit for making the breakfast spread more impressive than what it actually is.

And, E-Da theme park is lousy. Q is so long cos of the school children. I have this feeling that during normal days (weekday, no school break or any holiday), this theme park is deserted. The the outlet mall is also very quiet. Time will tell if this place (the whole E-Da project) will be successful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This is one of the two hotels in E-Da world, a resort located in Kaohsiung County (now Kaohsiung City). The main reason I chose this one is that it's cheaper than the other. The hotel itself looks magnificent from outside, like a five star hotel. Once you step inside, you will see a smaller-than-average a four star hotel lobby. But I do like their staff's service attitude. They are trained very well for a four star hotel.

The superior family room I stayed in was not as large as I thought, but acceptable. The room is decorated with smoothing warm color. I found the its interior design very relaxing, which is not common in Taiwanese hotels. Of course everything I could expect is included: two queen sized beds, free bottled water, TV, refrigerator, bathtub and a separated shower booth. Their room is indeed worth the money I spent.

On the other side, the hotels basically has nothing else than rooms. There's no swimming pool, no gyms, no shops, and no business center. There's a restaurant though. I took the buffet breakfast there. It offers a range of western and eastern dishes, and I like the restaurants interior design. But the food taste is merely adequate.

Considering that the hotel is just across street from E-Da shopping mall, and you may be very tired after spending a day in E-Da theme park, the hotel's lack of amenities can be ignored if you only stay for one or two nights. The hotel may not be as great as it's neighboring Crowne Plaza hotel. But for a lower price, it keeps a balance with what you pay and what you get.

Room Tip: Some rooms faces a ferris wheel across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

Stayed in this hotel during a group tour. Spacious room with nice view of the Ferris Wheel but very poor sound proof quality. Can hear the phone ringing, water flowing and people talking.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to E-Da Skylark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about E-Da Skylark Hotel

Address: No.100 Yida 8th Street, Sanhe Village, Dashu Village, Kaohsiung 84041, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 242 hotels in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, AsiaRooms and Despegar.com so you can book your E-Da Skylark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage E-Da Skylark Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.