We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victorian Theme Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mirador Hotel Kaosiung

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mirador Hotel Kaosiung to your Saves list
Mirador Hotel Kaosiung
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   No.77 Wufu Second Road, Xingxin District, Kaohsiung, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 247 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Victorian Theme Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

For the full review and the pics: Pls visit my blog: http://mintyqueen.blogspot.sg/2013/08/kaohsiung-mirador-hotel.html

Mirador hotel [mirəˌdôr/] : A tower attached to a building,
According to Mirador Hotel Website, the hotel name, Mirador is derived from a Spanish word, which is known as balcony. This forms the inspiration of the hotel design. To create a hotel that has exquisite touches and to inspire guests to pursue a dream of their own. The focus of this hotel is definitely its Victorian décor. Victorians loved statues, as it is a symbolism of romance.
What would you expect from a hotel lift? I was quite surprised by the cute design on the lift door. But I was even more surprised by the décor inside the lift. A lounge chair inside the lift! Pretty! Unlike normal lift, this lift is really large. It has a huge extension at the back so as to fit the lounge chair. Victorian bedroom themed décor always bring us back to the era where kings and queens ruled the world. There was an attempt by Mirador hotel to design the room with Victorian theme. The walls were covered with pale yellow patterned wallpaper to add a sense of luxury in the room. To add a further touch of Victorian glitz and glamour to the room, there was an ornately designed mirror and a dresser table to bring forward the sense of royalty. However, I like to emphasis that this is really a basic hotel. Walls were really thin as we could hear families chatting with one another inside our room. Furthermore, the real fun of this hotel was the rooftop. The beauty of the rooftop stunned me. Apparently, it was often used as a backdrop for prewedding photoshoot. You get to have your breakfast at the rooftop. So that we were able to admire the décor, while having our meal. Breakfast was so good. You have a choice between Western or Chinese set. I love the condiments for the porridge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    19
    13
    6
    0
See reviews for
18
15
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Checked in yesterday and staying there now. In short, clean room with basic necessities in. Staff friendly and provided directions to simple enq. Only minus is a 12min walk from Central Park mrt. However, the service and decor of this place makes up for it!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Had 2 nights stay in Mirador hotel and I am overwhelmed with the nice deco! It was a very smooth and quick check in. Room and bathroom were clean, apart from a mouldy shower curtain. It has a good location as it is near to shopping area and metro line (Central park). Had not much of a problem finding the hotel from the metro station. However, the fridge in the room was making sudden , loud noise that kinda disturb my sleep. Since we were only staying for two days, we did not ask for a change of room. Maybe we were just unlucky. Breakfast was excellent! For the price we paid, I think it was a worthwhile stay =)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Kaohsiung was our first destination to Taiwan. Choosing Mirador, we have no regret.Good location where we were so near to the streets where lots for shopping for the young. Both my children bought lot of stuffs there.

Hotel was nice and clean but the room was small even we booked the family room for 4. If you just need a place to stay, that will be fine as you don't stay in the room for the whole days. But my son do, when we went out to shop he stayed in the room with the TV programme and free wifi. He loved the cosy environment.

Laundry was cheap as the hotel send out to the laundry shop to wash. NT150 for 5 kg. If you choose to stay here for your first destination don't have to bring too many clothing. But do note that after washing, they just fold the clothing into the big plastic bag, no ironing done. For us, not a problem at all.

The hotel staffs were helpful and friendly. They willing to give you advise and help you as long as you asked them.

Staying here for the first time, I have a great and wonderful experience. Thanks for all the staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Mirador Hotel is located very near the Shinjyuejiang shopping area and the subway. There are also alot of nice eateries around the area. The deco of the hotel is bright and warm and the rooms are clean. I would definitely stay in this hotel when i return next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

A charming little boutique hotel which gives you a warm feeling of home. The hotel is well located along the main road of Wufu Seconf rd.There are many shopping centres just down this road. At night, the night market a few streets from this hotel springs to life.Transport is a breeze as you can just flag down a taxi outside the hotel and local buses ply just outside the hotel.The nearest Metro-Central park is just 10 -15 mins walk away.Bus No 25 outside the hotel brings you to Love River and many of kaosiung places of interest. Good price,good location, friendly and courteous staff and the feeling of home...what more do you ask for? Thumbs up for this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 6 nights in a triple room perfect as we had our 2 year old the room has a double and single bed. The room is really clean and housekeeping keep it nice the whole time. Good amenities very tiny bathroom and the shower curtain is not big enough do it floods the room. A couple of English stations on the tv so can get by. The only room negative is a horrible sulphur smell that comes and goes but not enough to ruin your stay. Breakfast is a whole other matter I read other reviews saying how good it is we only managed 3 out of our free 6. The western breakfast is chicken nuggets corn French toast with sausage and cucumber inside it boiled egg with sweet chilli sauce salad and seafood sticks just not our cup of tea. You can't beat the location of the hotel 5 min to MRT and lots of shops and restaurants nearby. We would definitely stay again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mirador Hotel Kaosiung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirador Hotel Kaosiung

Address: No.77 Wufu Second Road, Xingxin District, Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 247 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mirador Hotel Kaosiung 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
【Mirador Hotel】located in the right center of Kaohsiung downtown, and the most popular shopping center. It only takes 3 to 5 minutes to MRT "Central Park Station" by walk, furthermore, it only takes ONE minute to the most well-known Shinkuchan shopping center. No matter if you want to feel the night of love river, enjoy the great foods at Liu-Ho Night Market or go shopping among department stores, they are all under reachable distance. You will definetely have wonderful and unforgettable sweet memories during your business trips or family travel.We provide best service and most reasonable rate, hope you will have pleasant and unforgettable memories. thus,【Mirador Hotel Kaohsiung】will be your best choice during your stay in Kaohsiung. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mirador Hotel Kaosiung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mirador Hotel Kaosiung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.