We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a Rib house!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smokey Joe's ( Kaohsiung Tzuyu)

Smokey Joe's ( Kaohsiung Tzuyu)
No.318 Tzuyu 2nd Road, Kaohsiung, Taiwan
07-9607715,07-5578655
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 2,351 Restaurants in Kaohsiung
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Its a Rib house!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

To all those people giving this restaurant grief over their 'average' food can I remind them that this is a Rib House and when in Rome... well... the point is, did you actually order any RIBS?

I admit on the first visit the food was a little underwhelming and I too resented the tip section on the bill after 10% service charge is already added, and I am sure this is a nice little earner for the staff.

Another criticism is that their website states they are open until 1.30am however they seem to regularly close the kitchen around 12.30 or earlier. Consistency is extremely important in my mind for restaurants and that includes closing times. At least if this is the case then please amend your website. We saw several couples being turned away around 12.30am, perhaps this is because they also got this information from the website.

Now all the negative stuff out of the way. The ribs perhaps unsurprisingly, were excellent! As were the accompanying fries. Also they are huge and the FULL rack we couldnt finish even with two persons sharing, so its pretty good value for money too.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    15
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaohsiung, Kao-hsiung, Taiwan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place with family or friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Various food choice, good food, and great atmosphere. You can have a nice meal here or just have drinks and bar snacks.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Everything but nothing fantastic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Smokeys is a place that serves everything.
Asian Western and Mexican. You can have it all here.
The food is ok but not more.
It's a good option if your family can't decide what you want as they have it all.
But for a nice dinner I would try something else.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great variety of food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Here you can get all, though not guarantee everything is tasty.

You can get really nice Mexican-ish food. And of course if you are craving for Chinese food, they also provide a lot of them.

I have been to their chain restaurants many times.
Despite poor service, the food is pretty good.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fast Service - Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This Mexican Restaurant is one of the best and must in Kaohsiung.
The service was fast and all workers speak english very well. The food was unbelievable good. The chooses like limitless. Thanks to this restaurant. I realy enjoy what I eat.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokey Joe's ( Kaohsiung Tzuyu) also viewed

 
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
 

Been to Smokey Joe's ( Kaohsiung Tzuyu)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smokey Joe's ( Kaohsiung Tzuyu), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.