We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kindness is a great feeling” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kindness Hotel (Kaohsiung Main Station Front)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kindness Hotel (Kaohsiung Main Station Front) to your Saves list
Kindness Hotel (Kaohsiung Main Station Front)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.44 Jianguo 3rd Road, Sanmin District, Kaohsiung, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 275 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bhubaneswar, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Kindness is a great feeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

First let me open my heart to you: the quality of care and service of this hotel swept me off my feet. Like kindness is the culmination of many good virtues, so is Kindness Hotel the acme of so many desirable merits.

Just 3 minutes walk from the MRT, Main Train station and bus stop, reaching the hotel and accessing other attractions of the city is a breeze. Just get out of the main entrance and turn left and walk to find all the three terminals. Just the other side of the road in front of the bus stop are KFC and McDonald and other trendy eating places. If you walk straight beyond the MRT you will reach a electronics bazaar with all big names having their presence. Turn right and walk about 500 meters to reach the happening night market. This much about the location of the hotel.

Kindness oozes out of the front desk staff who greet you collectively every time you are in view. The hotel provides free tea, coffee, juice, corn flakes and ice cream to the guests any time of the day. You feel the itch, just walk into the dining hall to have your scoop or cuppa.

The rooms are elegantly made up with wide screen TV and all facilities. Free wi-fi connection is fast. You also get access to internet through the two PCs placed in the lobby for guests. Cycles are supplied free for moving around. Washing machines have free detergent packs made available for you. One hiccup about the washing machine operations. The instructions are in Chinese only without any English translation. As the hotel attracts a lot of tourists without knowledge of Chinese language, the hotel should put the English equivalents too.

Breakfast spread consisted of a wide choices of western and mostly Taiwanese fare. But with a lot of bread and bakery items and plenty of eggs food is not a problem for someone not used to local dishes.

The corridor carpets are clean and smart, the common areas exude brightness and verve. A very good hotel that will elicit some kindness in you.

Room Tip: I found the twin bedded room in the 8th floor agreeable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
康橋商旅-雄中館, 經理 at Kindness Hotel (Kaohsiung Main Station Front), responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Google Translation
謝謝你的讚美!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    41
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
27
20
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Located about three minutes walk away from the Kaoshiung Railway Station and MTR station, this hotel is very conveniently located for those travelling on public transport. It takes only about 15 mins by MTR from Zuoying Highspeed Rail Station to reach the hotel. The hotel is bright and looks clean. The room is small and basic, but good enough for one person given the rates i paid. The breakfast spread is extremely generous. Internet connection is good. Overall good value for money for budget travellers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
康橋商旅-雄中館, 經理 at Kindness Hotel (Kaohsiung Main Station Front), responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Google Translation
謝謝你的讚美!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The staffs are always greeting and smiling. My friend do find it a bit irritating that they are excessively polite but I kind of enjoy it. The services are great and they are always ready to help. Thumbs up to that.

The rooms are clean, facilities are new but size is quite small. I don't understand why the room must have 2 doors - one main door, one glass door. I got a room without window but it was relatively bigger than the other standard room and it is rather obvious. Still, it was rather cramp, but hey, you can't beat the low price.

Breakfast buffet was quite good, nothing special just the standard stuffs. But lots of beverage to choose from, with different types of tea or juices.

Lastly, they loan bicycles for free (as long as you don't cycle too far), which is rather unique. But it is a good option to have if you want to get something from somewhere nearby but are too lazy to walk there.

Room Tip: If you want a bigger standard room, try asking for one with no window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
康橋商旅-雄中館, 經理 at Kindness Hotel (Kaohsiung Main Station Front), responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Google Translation
謝謝你的讚美!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

One of the better Hotel I have stay in and value for money.

Hotel is 5-10 mins walk from the Kaohsiung Main Station.
Very convenient as there are many buses just outside the hotel also. You just need to know which number to take.

The staff are very friendly and greet all customers whenever they go in and out of the hotel lobby.
However maybe they could be more helpful when finding more information for the customers.

Rooms are clean and bathroom have shower gel and shampoo differentiated for female and male (seldom do I see hotels doing this)

Breakfast is good and have a decent variety.

Hotel provide laundry room with free washing powder and softner. Free use of washing machine and dryers. There are free drinks, ice cream and popcorn in the hotel cafeteria.

Wifi speed is good and excellant coverage.

Definately worth the money and will stay there if I visit Kaohsiung again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
康橋商旅-雄中館, 經理 at Kindness Hotel (Kaohsiung Main Station Front), responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Google Translation
謝謝你的讚美!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

An affordable hotel with superb service! Their staffs are very polite & friendly and their room service was great! They serve good buffet breakfast too (though you can’t compare them to the 4 or 5-star restaurants)!

To be honest, you may find their room slightly small in size but you should be happy about the cleanliness of their room. The room don’t look worn out and the air ventilation in the room and bathroom is good too.

It is very near to Kaohsiung Main Station (probably less than a 10-mins walk) and have some good shops around for you to do some impromptu shopping. KFCs, Mcdonalds, Yoshinoya and Subway are also conveniently located around the Hotel area!

I would recommend this hotel to those who wish to have fun in Kaohsiung and be welcomed back to the hotel with clean room and warm smiles from their staffs.

I would definitely re-visit this hotel again if I return for another holiday!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
康橋商旅-雄中館, 經理 at Kindness Hotel (Kaohsiung Main Station Front), responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Google Translation
謝謝你的讚美!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

The hotel staff were really friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Japanese style rooms w decent facilities. Breakfast was pretty good as well...they have computers available the lobby with free coffee/tea served.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
康橋商旅-雄中館, 經理 at Kindness Hotel (Kaohsiung Main Station Front), responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Google Translation
謝謝你的讚美!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed in Kindness Hotel during our Taiwan tour. We traveled to Kaohsiung by train. The hotel is very close to the main station. They were very kind to allow us to check in at 11am. The MRT station is beside the main station - thus we could do Lotus Lake on our own.
The staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast had a good selection of pastries. While I was doing our laundry ( 4 washers and 4 dryers), they brought me a large bun with meat filling that tasted great - I already has a large lunch. The computers with large monitors all worked. There is complementary coffee, tea, juice, popcorn, ice-cream. Our room was very new and everything worked. Great value hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
康橋商旅-雄中館, 經理 at Kindness Hotel (Kaohsiung Main Station Front), responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Google Translation
謝謝你的讚美!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kindness Hotel (Kaohsiung Main Station Front)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kindness Hotel (Kaohsiung Main Station Front)

Address: No.44 Jianguo 3rd Road, Sanmin District, Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 275 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kindness Hotel (Kaohsiung Main Station Front) 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kindness Hotel (Kaohsiung Main Station Front) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kindness Hotel (Kaohsiung Main Station Front), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.