We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-done foods, normal services” 4 of 5 stars
Review of E-Da Royal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added E-Da Royal Hotel to your Saves list
E-Da Royal Hotel
No.153 Section 1, Xuecheng Road, Dashu District, Kaohsiung 840, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 247 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Well-done foods, normal services”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We visited here via internet coupon package - deluxe room super king, dinner & Breakfast for around USD260. Arrived by self-driving in the afternoon that we suppose it is the fast to getting there, avoiding a long queue for shuttle. The outdoor pool is as azure as a 5 star should be, and fantastic. Spacing room, marbling bath and patterned carpet made it a good start to our stay. The dining serves with several restaurants; we chose Italian one where no crowd of starving people walk around - a comfortable dinner. The breakfast buffet displayed a variety of dishes; after this trip, my friends tell the foods in buffet hall is the best and been wild acclaimed.
Crowne Plaza, originated from IHG, has introduced in Taiwan through E-Da Group. We can see they urge on catching themselves up with international level. But the service quality is hard to accomplish the perfects soon; the front staff and receptionists had not enough experience and attitude to close to 5 star. The lobby was all the time full of the crowd checking out/in. These points apparently affect the mood of guest seeking a rest.

Room Tip: Not suggest to family guests for its double double
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPEdaMarComTeam, Public Relations Manager at E-Da Royal Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Jasonyeh:

Thank you for staying at Crowne Plaza Kaohsiung E-Da World and taking valuable time to write us a review. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed our spacious room, comprehensive recreational facilities as well as exceptional food and beverage choices.
At the same time, please accept our sincere apology for the lapse in services extended to you during your recent stay. Continued on-job trainings have been implemented to strengthen staff’s education and attitude to avoid any recurrence since. We noticed that it has been a while since your last visit and we cordially invite you to come back again and see our improvements.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    51
    21
    14
    12
See reviews for
58
19
4
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hsinchu County, Taiwan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The appearance of the hotel is very beautiful.
Close to the shopping center and the E-DA amusement park.
Rooms is a little bit small and not impressive.
The air conditioning is a little bit loud, poor sleep quality.
Limited choices for Breakfast, and it's expensive too.
Restaurant waiter should be more diligent.
Service part needs to be improved: the lack of Bathroom Amenities, needs to call twice to notify the counter.
Hotel facilities are good and very new.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPEdaMarComTeam, Public Relations Manager at E-Da Royal Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear WeichinPeng

Thank you for staying at Crowne Plaza Kaohsiung E-Da World and taking valuable time to write us a review. We appreciate your positive comments with regards to the hotel exterior, the convenience to the outlet mall and theme park and our facilities.

As for the air conditioning noise you have mentioned, we take it very seriously and have asked our engineer team to undergo investigations, but if possible, we would like to know the room number you stayed so we could have checked in time.

For the breakfast issue, we offer international buffet selections but regret if the choices are not to your likings; other than buffet breakfast, we also provide A-La-Carte menu as an option. As for the price, we do offer room package which includes breakfast and many customers find it a great bargain. With regards to the attentiveness of our staff, we will take immediate and appropriate actions to strengthen their service attitude.

Once again, thank you for bringing these up to help us improve and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Far from kaohsiung city and cost TWD$500 taxi if u don't want to wait for shuttle. Big hotel but try avoid crowd in holiday. Need to queer up for breakfast for 15min. Plenty of shops in mall opposite to hotel. Bath Room is bigger that sleeping room and face the window with unprotected view.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Was apprehensive before booking this hotel due to negative feedback on Tripadvisor but still went ahead. Turned out to be a pleasant surprise for my family!

Travelled with hubby and 2 kids aged 5 and 8. Shuttle from Zuoying HSR was a breeze n cheap. Check in was fast and hassle free. Rooms were new and clean with no smell at all. Hotel is located directly opposite the mega outlet mall, n free shuttle service brings us to the Eda theme park. Hotel facilities are good and very new. My family thoroughly enjoyed the indoor spa pools n games room. Gym facilities are good too.

Staff were helpful and very dedicated. Left my newly bought umbrella on the shuttle bus on the way to the hotel. Was sad and informed the staff if they could help contacting the bus driver to locate my umbrella. Imagine my surprise when I returned from the trip to the theme park to see my lost umbrella in the room!

Though young, my kids have stayed at a number of hotels. They said this is the best hotel they have stayed so far and I kind of agree.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPEdaMarComTeam, Public Relations Manager at E-Da Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear CatherineL:

Thank you for staying at Crowne Plaza Kaohsiung E-DA World and taking valuable time to write us a comprehensive review. We really appreciate the high appraises you gave to our Room, Facilities, Shuttle and overall Staff Services and the easy access from High Speed Rail Zuoying Station to our hotel. We strive to provide great and impressive services to all our guests and it makes us so happy to read that we have exceeded your expectations. We will definitely share your experiences with all hotel members.
We hope to have the honor of serving you and the family again should your travel brings you back to Kaohsiung.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is located right next to E-Da outlet shopping mall and amusement park. we booked a family room with 2 queen beds which is spacious enough for us. The room is clean but the sound proof is not good just as others said. If your destination is amusement park and shopping mall, this is the right oneto choose. Otherwise it's kind of far from downtown Kaohsiung. However, the shuttle bus runs very frenquently to downtown and HSR station.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPEdaMarComTeam, Public Relations Manager at E-Da Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear rliao1688:

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Kaohsiung E-DA World as your preferred hotel and taking the time to write us a review. We are glad that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and the fact that we are within proximity to the theme park. Given the size of our hotel, we are about 15 to 20 minutes from city center and as you have mentioned the shuttle bus runs frequently which makes it hassle free. Thank you again for the compliments and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Yours truly,
Crowne Plaza Kaohsiung E-DA World
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taichung, Taiwan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

had never seen such a dirty and smelly hotel room, view of a ruined building,weekends overbooking long time wait in restaurants and for check in/out,mini bar was leaking and moldy,for a 5 star hotel a cheek

Room Tip: book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPEdaMarComTeam, Public Relations Manager at E-Da Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear BEFRPL:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure that our facilities and services are superior and we strive to provide comfortable accommodation and friendly services. It is regrettable to learn that some finer details had been overlooked during your stay, and we would be very appreciative if you had contacted us on the spot for proper rectifications. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously and would love the opportunity to regain your faith and show you our improvements on your next visit to Crowne Plaza Kaohsiung E-DA World.

Sincerely yours,
Crowne Plaza Kaohsiung E-DA World
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

As a Priority Club member, I enjoyed the priviledge of a dedicated check in counter in the Club Lounge area. I had the family suite, which is spacious and has 2 attached bathrooms. The close proximity to E-Da is a big plus. The hotel is served by several shuttle services to the E-Da, high speed rail and other tourist destination. This makes up for its distance from the Kaohsiung city. The big delight is the indoor waterspa, which has several areas with different water features too sooth tired muscles. The water jets provided warm and powerful sprays of water to massage different parts of the body. I was very impressed with the facility!

Room Tip: Family suites are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPEdaMarComTeam, Public Relations Manager at E-Da Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Siang7:

Thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel and take the time to write us a review. We are proud and most appreciative of your high praises of our convenient location to city center and theme park, as well as our fabulous indoor water spa facilities.
Once again, thank you for the positive feedback and we look forward to serving you again in the not too distant future.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to E-Da Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about E-Da Royal Hotel

Address: No.153 Section 1, Xuecheng Road, Dashu District, Kaohsiung 840, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 656
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
E-DA ROYAL HOTEL is the only five star and upscale resort hotel situated in Kaohsiung city, south of Taiwan. The hotel has e.g. facilities for a wedding (including catering), a wellness centre including the Tea Tree Spa and is the only in Asia with a Dream Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your E-Da Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kaohsiung e-Da World Hotel Kaohsiung

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage E-Da Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.