We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“for a crown plaza disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of E-Da Royal Hotel

Save Saved
You added E-Da Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
E-Da Royal Hotel
No.153 Section 1, Xuecheng Road, Dashu District, Kaohsiung 840, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 242 hotels in Kaohsiung
Taichung, Taiwan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“for a crown plaza disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

had never seen such a dirty and smelly hotel room, view of a ruined building,weekends overbooking long time wait in restaurants and for check in/out,mini bar was leaking and moldy,for a 5 star hotel a cheek

Room Tip: book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPEdaMarComTeam, Public Relations Manager at E-Da Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear BEFRPL:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure that our facilities and services are superior and we strive to provide comfortable accommodation and friendly services. It is regrettable to learn that some finer details had been overlooked during your stay, and we would be very appreciative if you had contacted us on the spot for proper rectifications. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously and would love the opportunity to regain your faith and show you our improvements on your next visit to Crowne Plaza Kaohsiung E-DA World.

Sincerely yours,
Crowne Plaza Kaohsiung E-DA World
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    43
    16
    14
    10
See reviews for
45
18
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

As a Priority Club member, I enjoyed the priviledge of a dedicated check in counter in the Club Lounge area. I had the family suite, which is spacious and has 2 attached bathrooms. The close proximity to E-Da is a big plus. The hotel is served by several shuttle services to the E-Da, high speed rail and other tourist destination. This makes up for its distance from the Kaohsiung city. The big delight is the indoor waterspa, which has several areas with different water features too sooth tired muscles. The water jets provided warm and powerful sprays of water to massage different parts of the body. I was very impressed with the facility!

Room Tip: Family suites are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPEdaMarComTeam, Public Relations Manager at E-Da Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Siang7:

Thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel and take the time to write us a review. We are proud and most appreciative of your high praises of our convenient location to city center and theme park, as well as our fabulous indoor water spa facilities.
Once again, thank you for the positive feedback and we look forward to serving you again in the not too distant future.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hualien, T'ai-wan, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Location: The hotel is located at EDA-world resort, it’s about 30 minutes away from high speed railway(HSRC) Kaohsiung station. It is very far from downtown of Kaohsiung.
Front desk staff: The staffs are all kind and speak in good English and Chinese. But you usually need to wait at least 15 minutes for check-in because there are so many people want to check-in at the same time.

Room: I stay in a two single beds room for 4 days. The room is comfortable with enough space for two people. The equipment in room is new and well-preserved.

Restaurant: we have a breakfast and lunch in buffet, the food is nice with a lot of choices but no so impressive.

Overall it’s a hotel with good quality, but the price for the room is still too high considering the overall quality.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPEdaMarComTeam, Public Relations Manager at E-Da Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Yichingchen:

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay. We appreciate your kind comments about the language proficiency of our front desk staff and the spaceious of our guestroom. As a resort of our size, we are 15 to 20 minutes away from city center and THSR Zuoying Station, with shuttle bus running on regular schedule. Our standard check in time is 1500pm, and if going to the theme park is in your itinerary we would suggest to leave your luggage at our concierge desk so it will not delay the rest of your plan. Thank you again for sharing your experience and concerns with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Crowne Plaza E-Da is attached to the shopping mall and the theme park is not far away. The hotel itself offers some activities for kids already. The room is very spacious, very large bathroom, bed is very comfortable. This is a very busy hotel, especially in holidays. We could see so many families bringing kids just like us. Even hotel offers 2 very big restaurants for breakfast, we could still find the long queue after 8AM. The kids club is also very full from 9AM when it open but I could see nobody at the gym.
The staff is very sweet and nice. We are IHG gold member, and already some privileges with fruits and cookies at room,...etc.

Room Tip: The room walls are probably thin as others said, but luckily we were arranged at the room close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPEdaMarComTeam, Public Relations Manager at E-Da Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear taylorsmt:

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We are happy to learn that you and the family enjoyed the stay with us. We strive to provide great services and comfortable accommodations to all of our guests and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back our establishment. Once again, thank you for the wonderful and kind words.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Extremely long waits for bus from HSR to hotel, especially with 2 young kids in tow. Paper thin walls is right, we could hear both rooms beside us. Not sure if it was only our second floor (22xx) Safe didn't work, had to call for service. Shower drain doesn't drain we'll resulting in pooling of water inside stall, and water leaking out of stall onto washroom floor. Hair dryer is barely warm, and you know how long it takes to dry long hair? Will try a different room tomorrow but so far, only the venues outside the hotel in the outlets is making this Chinese New Year vacation with the family tolerable. Very disappointed in what they claim 5 stars

Room Tip: Pay for the best, get a decent room. Pay less than $200/night, get a fair room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at E-Da Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Xavier M,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Kaohsiung, Taiwan.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

A huge hotel, good for families. Huge room as well, the twin bed is two queen sized beds, can accomodate up to 4 adults and two kids (or six small adults :) ). Shopping Mall and eateries are just within a walking distance, the same also for the theme park. I attended my friend's wedding over there, which was an awesome place as well. Great breakfast.

Room Tip: Plan a wedding here... indoor and rooftop, both are awesome :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I arrived at the hotel using the high speed train from Taipei. It is really convenient. But once out of the train station there were hundreds of other guests waiting for the shuttle bus to the hotel. It took almost an hour to get a seat. I think they need way more buses to handle to load.
Once at the hotel I was really impressed. The lobby is magnificent. It could easily compete with a RC or FS hotel. Spacious and full of light. The check in was so so. It took quite a while to find my reservation (made through the reservation department at the hotel) and I got assigned the wrong room at first. I booked a room facing the dream lake but got a room facing the ferris wheel. The first room I got was really unacceptable. Dirty carpets and wallpapers coming down. More like a hostel and quite a downer after the first impression. The second room was way better and I liked that there was a small corner with a TV to relax. The balconies are ridicoulus. So small you cant even sit (you cant sit anyways because there is no chair provided). But overall a nice room. Not 5 star but close. Could improve a little on the cleanliness. Dinner was at the Steakhouse and quite nice. The food quality is good and the service is nice and fast. We had a bottle of wine that is on promotion and its good value I have to say. The dessert was a bit bland but the waiter changed it and invited us for a coffe and we were happy. Breakfast is another story though. It was so busy that they opened a few restaruants for breakfast (Thanks god!) because otherwise the waiting would be too long I guess. We choose the Heat and Chill restaurant and it was really a show. More like hostel style, watching all the people storming at the buffet and emptying it every 5 minutes or so it seems. Good that the restaurant manager offered us to have breakfast instead in the business center because it was too noisy and so many people there. Breakfast in the business center is fine, the buffet is smaller but the a la carte is nice and the service is friendly. Check out took a while too, mainly because so many people waited. Needs to go faster.

Room Tip: Face the dream lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to E-Da Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about E-Da Royal Hotel

Address: No.153 Section 1, Xuecheng Road, Dashu District, Kaohsiung 840, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 242 hotels in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
E-DA ROYAL HOTEL is the only five star and upscale resort hotel situated in Kaohsiung city, south of Taiwan. The hotel has e.g. facilities for a wedding (including catering), a wellness centre including the Tea Tree Spa and is the only in Asia with a Dream Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Otel so you can book your E-Da Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kaohsiung e-Da World Hotel Kaohsiung

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage E-Da Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.