We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel for family break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of E-Da Royal Hotel

Save Saved
You added E-Da Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
E-Da Royal Hotel
No.153 Section 1, Xuecheng Road, Dashu District, Kaohsiung 840, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 242 hotels in Kaohsiung
Taipei
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A nice hotel for family break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Crowne Plaza E-Da is attached to the shopping mall and the theme park is not far away. The hotel itself offers some activities for kids already. The room is very spacious, very large bathroom, bed is very comfortable. This is a very busy hotel, especially in holidays. We could see so many families bringing kids just like us. Even hotel offers 2 very big restaurants for breakfast, we could still find the long queue after 8AM. The kids club is also very full from 9AM when it open but I could see nobody at the gym.
The staff is very sweet and nice. We are IHG gold member, and already some privileges with fruits and cookies at room,...etc.

Room Tip: The room walls are probably thin as others said, but luckily we were arranged at the room close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPEdaMarComTeam, Public Relations Manager at E-Da Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear taylorsmt:

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We are happy to learn that you and the family enjoyed the stay with us. We strive to provide great services and comfortable accommodations to all of our guests and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back our establishment. Once again, thank you for the wonderful and kind words.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    43
    16
    14
    10
See reviews for
45
18
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Extremely long waits for bus from HSR to hotel, especially with 2 young kids in tow. Paper thin walls is right, we could hear both rooms beside us. Not sure if it was only our second floor (22xx) Safe didn't work, had to call for service. Shower drain doesn't drain we'll resulting in pooling of water inside stall, and water leaking out of stall onto washroom floor. Hair dryer is barely warm, and you know how long it takes to dry long hair? Will try a different room tomorrow but so far, only the venues outside the hotel in the outlets is making this Chinese New Year vacation with the family tolerable. Very disappointed in what they claim 5 stars

Room Tip: Pay for the best, get a decent room. Pay less than $200/night, get a fair room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at E-Da Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Xavier M,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Kaohsiung, Taiwan.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

A huge hotel, good for families. Huge room as well, the twin bed is two queen sized beds, can accomodate up to 4 adults and two kids (or six small adults :) ). Shopping Mall and eateries are just within a walking distance, the same also for the theme park. I attended my friend's wedding over there, which was an awesome place as well. Great breakfast.

Room Tip: Plan a wedding here... indoor and rooftop, both are awesome :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I arrived at the hotel using the high speed train from Taipei. It is really convenient. But once out of the train station there were hundreds of other guests waiting for the shuttle bus to the hotel. It took almost an hour to get a seat. I think they need way more buses to handle to load.
Once at the hotel I was really impressed. The lobby is magnificent. It could easily compete with a RC or FS hotel. Spacious and full of light. The check in was so so. It took quite a while to find my reservation (made through the reservation department at the hotel) and I got assigned the wrong room at first. I booked a room facing the dream lake but got a room facing the ferris wheel. The first room I got was really unacceptable. Dirty carpets and wallpapers coming down. More like a hostel and quite a downer after the first impression. The second room was way better and I liked that there was a small corner with a TV to relax. The balconies are ridicoulus. So small you cant even sit (you cant sit anyways because there is no chair provided). But overall a nice room. Not 5 star but close. Could improve a little on the cleanliness. Dinner was at the Steakhouse and quite nice. The food quality is good and the service is nice and fast. We had a bottle of wine that is on promotion and its good value I have to say. The dessert was a bit bland but the waiter changed it and invited us for a coffe and we were happy. Breakfast is another story though. It was so busy that they opened a few restaruants for breakfast (Thanks god!) because otherwise the waiting would be too long I guess. We choose the Heat and Chill restaurant and it was really a show. More like hostel style, watching all the people storming at the buffet and emptying it every 5 minutes or so it seems. Good that the restaurant manager offered us to have breakfast instead in the business center because it was too noisy and so many people there. Breakfast in the business center is fine, the buffet is smaller but the a la carte is nice and the service is friendly. Check out took a while too, mainly because so many people waited. Needs to go faster.

Room Tip: Face the dream lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, Ca
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at the hotel to visit the E-da Them Park within walking distance(or free shuttle) Compared to my other Crown Plaze experience in US, this hotel is far better and will passed as a Renaissance Hotel by Marriott.

We especially enjoyed the indoor health spa, or my kids called it in-door pool because it is huge. Pool area looks nice with a tube slide, very similar to what you will see at Las Vegas strip hotels in a smaller scale. We did not use the pool because it is not heated and the water is too cold.
We did not use their breakfast because their buffet breakfast is always packed with tour groups during our 3 nights of stay there. We did enjoyed their bakery very much. They have a nice Bar located above the lobby overlooking the lobby, nice. Employees are very well trained and polite.

Quality of the room is superior 5-star quality, we booked a room with 4 beds, received a 2 room suites with total of 4 beds, 2 bath rooms, two seperate doors and a private entry way with another door - my wife just love the security. The rooms are with 5 star spec and sizes with bath robe, safe, sleeper shoes, coffee and tea station fully stocked, toiletries for men and women.

It is a easy walk to the Them Park though the outlet mall or take the free shuttle. The Mall has many dining and shopping options. (see my review on the E-Da Them Park)

Transportation is very good, they have direct shuttle from the High Speed Rail station to the hotel at a very low price. Also MAKE SURE you allow a day to visit the Buddha Memorial Center with direct shuttle service for about US$2 per person. (Even if you are not a Buddist, you will appreciate the cultural experience of the Center, allow 3 to 5 hours and make sure you enjoy their Vegetarian Lunch with western menu selection such as Subway sanwich and pasta). TIPS: Ask for a room facing the Ferris whell and upper floor - booking direct with their official site and Priority Club Membership for better services.

Room Tip: TIPS: Ask for a room facing the Ferris whell and upper floor - booking direct with their official s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Attention Business travelers, you have been warned! This is a beautiful site, building and grounds with a Disneylike family atmosphere. I dont When I called to complain no one answered. The staff is not competent as they put my room under my colleagues name and I have not successfully changed it yet, despite the fact that I have Platinum status with the Priority One program.

Very frustrating place with so much promise and no delivery!

Room Tip: Go to a differnet hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Just one word "underwhelmed". Room Service Meals where absolute garbage and expensive, bed sheets where impregnated with bleach causing skin allergies, and expensive too boot. The location is in the middle of the sticks and due to the scale of the development, the shops were understocked and full of slow moving inventory of most brands.

The Staff did listen and were sympathetic but I think the issue is at the general management level, its obvious they are using a Taiwan cost down methodolgy, cutting corners wherever possible, which does not fly with a 5 Star rating....

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to E-Da Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about E-Da Royal Hotel

Address: No.153 Section 1, Xuecheng Road, Dashu District, Kaohsiung 840, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 242 hotels in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
E-DA ROYAL HOTEL is the only five star and upscale resort hotel situated in Kaohsiung city, south of Taiwan. The hotel has e.g. facilities for a wedding (including catering), a wellness centre including the Tea Tree Spa and is the only in Asia with a Dream Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your E-Da Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kaohsiung e-Da World Hotel Kaohsiung

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage E-Da Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.