We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but service needs to improve” 4 of 5 stars
Review of E-Da Royal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added E-Da Royal Hotel to your Saves list
E-Da Royal Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.153 Section 1, Xuecheng Road, Dashu District, Kaohsiung 840, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 276 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Great hotel but service needs to improve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I arrived at the hotel using the high speed train from Taipei. It is really convenient. But once out of the train station there were hundreds of other guests waiting for the shuttle bus to the hotel. It took almost an hour to get a seat. I think they need way more buses to handle to load.
Once at the hotel I was really impressed. The lobby is magnificent. It could easily compete with a RC or FS hotel. Spacious and full of light. The check in was so so. It took quite a while to find my reservation (made through the reservation department at the hotel) and I got assigned the wrong room at first. I booked a room facing the dream lake but got a room facing the ferris wheel. The first room I got was really unacceptable. Dirty carpets and wallpapers coming down. More like a hostel and quite a downer after the first impression. The second room was way better and I liked that there was a small corner with a TV to relax. The balconies are ridicoulus. So small you cant even sit (you cant sit anyways because there is no chair provided). But overall a nice room. Not 5 star but close. Could improve a little on the cleanliness. Dinner was at the Steakhouse and quite nice. The food quality is good and the service is nice and fast. We had a bottle of wine that is on promotion and its good value I have to say. The dessert was a bit bland but the waiter changed it and invited us for a coffe and we were happy. Breakfast is another story though. It was so busy that they opened a few restaruants for breakfast (Thanks god!) because otherwise the waiting would be too long I guess. We choose the Heat and Chill restaurant and it was really a show. More like hostel style, watching all the people storming at the buffet and emptying it every 5 minutes or so it seems. Good that the restaurant manager offered us to have breakfast instead in the business center because it was too noisy and so many people there. Breakfast in the business center is fine, the buffet is smaller but the a la carte is nice and the service is friendly. Check out took a while too, mainly because so many people waited. Needs to go faster.

Room Tip: Face the dream lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    65
    25
    17
    13
See reviews for
72
23
5
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, Ca
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at the hotel to visit the E-da Them Park within walking distance(or free shuttle) Compared to my other Crown Plaze experience in US, this hotel is far better and will passed as a Renaissance Hotel by Marriott.

We especially enjoyed the indoor health spa, or my kids called it in-door pool because it is huge. Pool area looks nice with a tube slide, very similar to what you will see at Las Vegas strip hotels in a smaller scale. We did not use the pool because it is not heated and the water is too cold.
We did not use their breakfast because their buffet breakfast is always packed with tour groups during our 3 nights of stay there. We did enjoyed their bakery very much. They have a nice Bar located above the lobby overlooking the lobby, nice. Employees are very well trained and polite.

Quality of the room is superior 5-star quality, we booked a room with 4 beds, received a 2 room suites with total of 4 beds, 2 bath rooms, two seperate doors and a private entry way with another door - my wife just love the security. The rooms are with 5 star spec and sizes with bath robe, safe, sleeper shoes, coffee and tea station fully stocked, toiletries for men and women.

It is a easy walk to the Them Park though the outlet mall or take the free shuttle. The Mall has many dining and shopping options. (see my review on the E-Da Them Park)

Transportation is very good, they have direct shuttle from the High Speed Rail station to the hotel at a very low price. Also MAKE SURE you allow a day to visit the Buddha Memorial Center with direct shuttle service for about US$2 per person. (Even if you are not a Buddist, you will appreciate the cultural experience of the Center, allow 3 to 5 hours and make sure you enjoy their Vegetarian Lunch with western menu selection such as Subway sanwich and pasta). TIPS: Ask for a room facing the Ferris whell and upper floor - booking direct with their official site and Priority Club Membership for better services.

Room Tip: TIPS: Ask for a room facing the Ferris whell and upper floor - booking direct with their official s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
361 reviews 361 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Attention Business travelers, you have been warned! This is a beautiful site, building and grounds with a Disneylike family atmosphere. I dont When I called to complain no one answered. The staff is not competent as they put my room under my colleagues name and I have not successfully changed it yet, despite the fact that I have Platinum status with the Priority One program.

Very frustrating place with so much promise and no delivery!

Room Tip: Go to a differnet hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Just one word "underwhelmed". Room Service Meals where absolute garbage and expensive, bed sheets where impregnated with bleach causing skin allergies, and expensive too boot. The location is in the middle of the sticks and due to the scale of the development, the shops were understocked and full of slow moving inventory of most brands.

The Staff did listen and were sympathetic but I think the issue is at the general management level, its obvious they are using a Taiwan cost down methodolgy, cutting corners wherever possible, which does not fly with a 5 Star rating....

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

As it's a crown plaza, I do not expect that it is just like a local hotel.

Next to I-shou university, remote, it's a long way from the e-da world as well, quite like the distance from Disney's paradise pier to Disneyland in Los Angeles. Shuttle bus Is available though.

What disappoints me is the room itself. Simple, not that big as it promotes. 2 queen size beds, a small table with 2 wooden chairs and that is it... Not even a sofa, nothing!!!!! Not soundproof and u can easily hear people talking in another room.

There's a small balcony but as our room is on 2/F, i don't want to get out anyway.

The shopping outlet is good for spending an afternoon when you are tired of going to E-da world.

The small local food stores adjacent to
the hotel has made the area less boring at night time.

Swimming pool with a swirly waterslide is small and crowded but there's an indoor pool with jacuzzi, which is quite good. Kids room, there's technically nothing but a ball pit.
There are 2 snooker tables, 1 table tennis table, a glide hockey around, and a paid game centre as well.

Food choice is limited for breakfast but enough to kick the day off.

Being a hotel attached to a theme park, i expect more kids friendly decor or facilities such as slippers & bathrobes for kids & etc.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Dear Sirs,

I am writing you to express my unhappiness about a wedding event that
my friends and I recently joined at the Crowen Plaza Kaohsiung on
Sunday. To begin with the service was not tolerable. When we arrived
at the hotel the reception staff did not know about the wedding or
where it was located. We had to wait for 20 minutes until they could
find about. When we arrived at the wedding chapel the service staff
greeted us with upset faces, we felt like we were enemies and not
guests at the wedding. After ushering us to our table we discovered
that the table cloth was torn and dirty. It looked like it had been
used before and did not get exchanged for another event. The chairs
were also dirty and it was especially uncomfortable to sit down for
the ladies in white dresses for the fear of getting stains on their
backs.

When the dinner started the food took a very long time to be served
for all guests. I saw one table already finishing up the food while
the last table was not served yet. All the time the wait staff did not
smile or felt us being welcome. One ladie and one gentlemen that
seemed to be the managers for that they wore a formal uniform were
standing at the entrance being busy on their phones texting or playing
games but they did not seem to pay attention to their guests. I asked
one of the waitresses and it was the banuqting manager and the vice
president of foods. No wondre that your staff does not smile when
their supervisors are not helping them and keeping themselves
entertained with the phones.

The food and drinks we were served were all tasty and nice. But when
we asked for refill the waiters told us that we would have to pay
extra so we did not want a refill but later found out that everything
was for free. So why did they tell us that we would have to pay? I
know that some of the other guests did and our wedding couple was so
embarresed about that. Why would anyone want the guests to pay when it
is free and paid for?

Later we decided to have a drink at the bar with our friends and we
saw the same lady sitting their drinking juices and busying herself
with the phone again. All the while the wedding was still going on.

Why is that? Are we not imporant enough to get the attention of your
management? Or maybe we did not pay the extra for the waiters to
receive a good service, I think your staff and workers should reunited
to make special events like weddings very succesful and a happy moment
for all the guests. Maybe you lack training or management skills?
Maybe we should pay extra to get a better servicer. Our friends are
very embarresed and too embaressed to write you.

I want to let you know this because we will also post this letter on
the internet review sites so other people are warened. I hope you will
improve and rectifyze this pending issues soon so your other guests
dont have this experiences.

Best regards,

Peter Hsu

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy D, Manager at E-Da Royal Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Peter,


On behalf of the management I want to thank you for your valuable time in speaking out and helping us understand how we have failed you, your family and friends. I want to convey my sincere apologies for the inexcusably poor experience. We are deeply regretful and saddened because what happened directly opposes the core values of our hotel. Speaking for myself, I would never tolerate this level of service at my own wedding reception.

I want to share with you that we have taken especially high notice of your testimonial and feedback from the newlyweds to make things right. We are in contact with the couple and are making constructive dialogue to make amends. This issue will not be overlooked and we will most definitely be addressing all concerned areas to change the attitudes and conduct of our people.

Again, we apologize for your experience. Thank you for your patronage and I hope in the future you will find our changes satisfactory.


Very Truly Yours,

Andy D
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

family w/ 2 8y.o kidz, pretty impressed w/ hotel frontage n lobby. excellent location w/ excellent bus transfer to e-da park n mall. very nice elegant rooms and very sumptous dinner n bfast all buffet. must try ferris wheel just walking distance opposite the hotel. great hotel views when your up and superb view esp at night. DEFINITELY recommend and even come back next time.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to E-Da Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about E-Da Royal Hotel

Address: No.153 Section 1, Xuecheng Road, Dashu District, Kaohsiung 840, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kaohsiung
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — E-Da Royal Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 656
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
E-DA ROYAL HOTEL is the only five star and upscale resort hotel situated in Kaohsiung city, south of Taiwan. The hotel has e.g. facilities for a wedding (including catering), a wellness centre including the Tea Tree Spa and is the only in Asia with a Dream Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your E-Da Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kaohsiung e-Da World Hotel Kaohsiung

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage E-Da Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.