We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best site in Kaohsiung” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lian Lake

Lian Lake
Lientan Rd., Zouyin Dist., Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 107 Attractions in Kaohsiung
Type: Bodies of Water
Attraction Details
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best site in Kaohsiung”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I'm shocked that this isn't higher up on the attractions list. I spent the day here with my husband and it was a very relaxing and interesting walk around the lake. I noticed that a lot of people wrote reviews that there were no Lotuses, but in early December 2012, there were plenty of them. The coolest part were all of the temples, though. They are very different from what I usually see. My only complaint is that there were not very many restaurants near by. Make sure you go on a full stomach.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    81
    37
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southwark
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good place but NB map is wrong location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Very pleasant and interesting. The temples on the lake are modern and quite brash. Those in the streets nearby are older and worth looking at.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“No lotus, but lots of temples”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Dont be fooled by the name of the place. There is no lotus in sight, but a calm lake where I saw some people do water sports such as wakeboarding and water skiing.

There are many temples surrounding the lake with magnificent structures, great for the photo-enthusiasts or those into the Chinese/ Buddhist/ Taoist culture.

The lake isnt too large and you can easily stroll around the lake in about an hour or two depending on how fast you go. There's also some nice food places nearby, just ask the locals. On weekends, they have special cultural buses that start from Zuoying HSR station that take you around the lake for $50NT per person.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No lotus seen”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

There is no lotus seen during visit, perhaps due to World Games 2009. Only people fishing at the lake, but there are temples around. Visit the Confucius Temple nearby, and you can see the Dragon and Tiger Pagodas and Taoist God Statue from far away.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Just a Vast Lake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Maybe it was wrong timing when I visited, the lake was empty - no lotus in sight. Anyhow, it was a relaxing to sit by the lake and enjoyed the local fruits. However, the pagodas over the lake were great art pieces constructed with very good craftsmanship.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lian Lake also viewed

 

Been to Lian Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lian Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.