We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Convenient!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Hotel 33

Save Saved
You added Urban Hotel 33 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Urban Hotel 33
No.33 Minzu 2nd Road, Sinsing District, Kaohsiung, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 243 hotels in Kaohsiung
Paterson, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Location and Convenient!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

7 of us stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. This hotel just around the corner of a busy street, easy access to subway and very convenience.
Love the buffet breakfast with Chinese and Western food. Reasonable room size and bathroom.The bed is so hard and cannot sleep well at night. The AC did not work well at all and temp never go below 25C even got the tech worked on it. The lobby just OK and look empty. Good for a very short stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    40
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
21
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed here for a week with family. We went for the cheaper room (there are two types of rooms, ones to the right of the check-in lobby are cheaper and more average sized while those on the left are more premium ones that are more like suites) that includes breakfast. The bed is okay, a bit hard but I think Taiwanese generally prefer harder beds so we were fine. Bathroom is smaller than expected but clean. Not sure why other comments said there was no wifi...there was, just didn't work too well, but if you tell them about it, they'll actually come and install your own wifi router in the room and it is so much better. The breakfast is pretty nice, good variety and balance between Western and Asian dishes.

We were in the corner room of a high-level floor. We didn't notice this the first two days bcs we were hardly in the room but then by our third, we begin to smell something foul, like a smell that you find typically in public toilet in Taiwan, in the room as soon as we get in. The smell "goes away" after our noses get adjusted to it...but it was definitely becoming more and more unpleasant and we even started to notice that the lobby kind of smelled like that, too, every time we come back to the hotel. We requested a room change and they gave us a room that has actually been renovated and has a bathtub as opposed to a shower so it was kinda nice. So we made the change in the afternoon of our 4th day, and about 30min after we unpacked already in the new room, the front desk called asking us if we could switch to another room because they had a Japanese customer checking in and would prefer a room that has a tub so they could bath. The front desk sort of just expected us to move willingly w/o offering up anything for our trouble since we already had to move once since our first room smelled bad and we had just unpacked...I thought it was rather unprofessional on their end, had this been in the US, we would have been offered an upgrade or something or that Japanese guest could have been upgraded if they ran out of the preferred room choice. Anyway, we were busy and had to be on our way out and really didn't want the trouble of packing and unpacking again so we told them that we would not want to move again. Other than these inconveniences, the overall stay was okay and the location was good, I'd consider staying at the hotel again.

Room Tip: Request a room that has already been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed 2 nights back in December taking an exam. The hotel is located opposite the testing centre and is extremely convenient for me as the test takes 7 hours back to back. Check-in was smooth and friendly but nothing exceptional. I got a corner room with a very tiny window (1 foot width) which overlooks half a brick wall. Needless to say there was very little natural light. The interiors were amply decorated and comfortable enough for me to burn the midnight oil. While there was no WiFi, the cable internet is free and stable throughout my stay. No breakfast included with my room but I did sample dinner at their 2nd floor restaurant which is slightly overpriced. Food is otherwise standard hotel fare. For the same price I could have stayed somewhere posh and nice with a buffet breakfast spread.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The first thing that struck me about this hotel is the fact that the lobby looked plain and almost run on a shoe-string budget. The hotel has a lot of space, too much that isn't well utilized, combined with the use of marble floor, it makes the whole place feel cold and uninviting. Giving the whole place an empty feeling

This sense of emptiness accompanies you as you go up to your floor. The carpets used in the corridors were a little thin which is mainly why it gives a sense of emptiness.

As you enter the room, you'd find that the room is huge. There is lots of underutilized space, so much so that you can fit another queen sized bed into the room easily. Add that in with the fact that the room has weak lighting, it gives a foreboding sense that made me feel uneasy in the room.

The room windows are not always strategically located and do not run the width of the room, which means that there is limited natural light shinning into the room.

There is no wifi, and the only internet connection is via a RJ45 cable that is 3 feet long, and will definitely not allow you to bring your laptop to the bed.

Similarly the toilet is huge, but underutilized. The marble flooring again gives the toilet a sense of coldness.

Overall, while I found the place fairly new, clean and well kept, the oversized rooms, underutilized space and sometimes poor lighting will make me reconsider this hotel. Its not the the hotel is bad, but that the above mentioned issues means that I never felt at ease in the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We paid 215 euros for three nights.
We got a quite correct room for Taiwanese standards. Not as new as other reviewers said, but very clean.
The room was big, in the 11th floor, bathroom clean but the window was so tiny we almost had no natural light.
The bed was so blooding hard that we couldn't sleep well in the three nights we spend there. We felt tired and sore in the morning.
Breakfast was a just-ok buffet.
You can get far better places for that high price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Just around the corner of a busy street, easy access to subway and many small shops nearby.
Very friendy staffs. Excellent buffet breakfast in Chinese and Western food. Reasonable room size and bathroom, good bedding and clean. There is no safety deposit box in the room. Wi-fi signal was weak. I did not pay for the rooom and have no idea about their rate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Room was new and modern. Quite spacious (compared with other Asian hotels). We have a nice sleep and nice bath in this hotel.
Location is excellent. Very close to metro station.
Breakfast is very nice too. A nice range of choice with good quality. I particularly loved the fresh salads and their Taiwanese ''nurou fan''!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Urban Hotel 33? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Hotel 33

Address: No.33 Minzu 2nd Road, Sinsing District, Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 243 hotels in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Urban Hotel 33 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Hotel 33, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.