We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Hotel 33

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Urban Hotel 33 to your Saves list
Urban Hotel 33
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.33 Minzu 2nd Road, Sinsing District, Kaohsiung, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 278 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Booked two rooms for four as I was travelling with a group of friends. Staff was very courteous and professional at check-in/check-out and throughout the stay. We all liked that the hotel was relatively new with modern decor. Rooms are not large but more than enough for five teenage girls in a room without feeling crowded. There was a tiny window in the room facing a wall so there was essentially no view to talk about. Wifi was okay but at times not strong enough. Requested the iron and ironing board by phone and promptly delivered to room by a service lady though without a smile. Breakfast was not sumptuous but more than sufficient to freshen one up with a fair selection of Western and Chinese food, fresh fruit, etc. A short walk to MRT station makes everywhere so easily accessed. Overall a very nice stay and satisfactory with regard to the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    43
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
22
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This hotel is located like 90sec walk from Sinyi Elementary School station (MRT)'s exit 4. Basically you get out, walk 50m straight then turn right and within 50m you will see it.

The staff were helpful and very friendly. Breakfast was provided with the room I booked but I wasn't having high hopes as it was really cheap but it turned out to be a very pleasant surprise! It has nice coffee (proper espresso machine with multiple functions), western and asian selection of food and juice etc. Good start of the day!

The room was small, it has all the basic utilities like kettle, hair dryer and some amenities (not all there but you can request it from reception). The shower was okay but water pressure was slightly weak. Also the bed was very hard and the walls/doors are thin - we were unlucky to have a noisy family across from us who talked loudly outside their room at mid-night!

Basically there's no view in my room (mine was overlooking apartment blocks).

There's free wifi in the hotel and it has two computer at lobby for guests to use, it's very fast and not many people utilize this service while I was there. Hotel staff were very friendly and polite. They are also super helpful and genuine.

Overall it's very good value but if you are planning a romantic holiday, this might not be the place.

Room Tip: Get a room facing inside street instead of the main street would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Near to metro which is easy to use so simple to get to High Speed rail or Airport.
Modern, clean, internet, good restaurant and very friendly.

Could not ask for much more.... and reasonably priced

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Pretty nice hotel in Kaohsiung. Suitable for business travellers. A little out of the way but beds were soft and comfy. Breakfast spread was pretty ok.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Just back from Kaoshiung,Taiwan, with comfortable experience in Urban Hotel 33, really out of our expectation. Please read our sharing below:-

Like :
1. 40 mins from Airport by MRT, drop at Sinyi Elementary School (O6), Exit 4 (5 mins walk)
2. Clean and quiet room at Elegance Tower, efficient housekeeping service everyday
3. Excellent breakfast, can't ask more, Chinese, Japanese, Western style...fresh coffee..etc.
4. Modern interior renovation at Urban Cafe
5. Free Wire & Wireless internet connection in room
6. Professional Front Desk Crew, special thanks to Ms. Lily Kim. Smiling face every morning.
Speaking good English & Japanese....so cool
7. Self Launary Service at 5/F, convenient
8. Accessable to shopping areas
9. Very suitable for the business trip + few days leisure break.

Dislike :
1. Please do not expect it is a luxury hotel, no gym, no swimming pool, no grand lobby.
2. Not suitable for family vacation.

We will definitely stay again in our next trip to Kaoshiung.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed two nights and our room was super clean, very modern and hip! Breakfast was the best -- a mixture of chinese and some light american fare, plus yummy lattes. Bed was very, very firm. Good location on the orange line if you're visiting family in the area otherwise you might want to stay on the red line which has more tourist stuff and connects to the High Speed Rail - however, train and underground transportation in Taiwan is very efficient, speedy and on time so it really doesn't matter. We would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Our family enjoyed our stay in this hotel. We booked 2 regular rooms (forgot what they're called) but each is about 3-4k NTD each.

What I liked:

- Love the morning buffet spread! I really get a full tummy as the food choices suites me (compared to the food in Dandy). There's rice, boiled or tea egg, bacon, ham, bread, etc. Really good I would say.
- Location is great - less than 3 mins walk to MTR (upon exiting hotel, take 2 lefts)
- Good customer service
- Spacious rooms
- plenty of taxis passing by in front of hotel


Areas for improvement:

- Bathroom lighting not OK. Once you close the shower curtains, it gets dim in the shower area.
- No indoor safe
- we find wifi speed kind of slow

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Urban Hotel 33? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Hotel 33

Address: No.33 Minzu 2nd Road, Sinsing District, Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 278 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Urban Hotel 33 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Urban Hotel33 is affiliated with the Han-Hsien Hospitality Co. It is in the heart of Kaohsiung commercial district, and located a mere 15 ~ 25 minutes away from the Taiwan Railway Station and airport, and is adjacent to the KRTC. Urban Hotel33 features modern designed Elegance Section and Chic Section. With 167 guest rooms, a business entertainment center, conference room, restaurant and other facilities, our five-star international hotel provides the finest quality and superior service to both our business travelers and tourists from around the world. Our attentive and caring hospitality makes you feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Urban Hotel 33 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Hotel 33, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.