We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall excellent value, but thin walls and hard bed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Hotel 33

Save Saved
You added Urban Hotel 33 to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Urban Hotel 33
No.33 Minzu 2nd Road, Sinsing District, Kaohsiung, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 244 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Overall excellent value, but thin walls and hard bed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This hotel is located like 90sec walk from Sinyi Elementary School station (MRT)'s exit 4. Basically you get out, walk 50m straight then turn right and within 50m you will see it.

The staff were helpful and very friendly. Breakfast was provided with the room I booked but I wasn't having high hopes as it was really cheap but it turned out to be a very pleasant surprise! It has nice coffee (proper espresso machine with multiple functions), western and asian selection of food and juice etc. Good start of the day!

The room was small, it has all the basic utilities like kettle, hair dryer and some amenities (not all there but you can request it from reception). The shower was okay but water pressure was slightly weak. Also the bed was very hard and the walls/doors are thin - we were unlucky to have a noisy family across from us who talked loudly outside their room at mid-night!

Basically there's no view in my room (mine was overlooking apartment blocks).

There's free wifi in the hotel and it has two computer at lobby for guests to use, it's very fast and not many people utilize this service while I was there. Hotel staff were very friendly and polite. They are also super helpful and genuine.

Overall it's very good value but if you are planning a romantic holiday, this might not be the place.

Room Tip: Get a room facing inside street instead of the main street would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    41
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
21
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Near to metro which is easy to use so simple to get to High Speed rail or Airport.
Modern, clean, internet, good restaurant and very friendly.

Could not ask for much more.... and reasonably priced

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Pretty nice hotel in Kaohsiung. Suitable for business travellers. A little out of the way but beds were soft and comfy. Breakfast spread was pretty ok.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Just back from Kaoshiung,Taiwan, with comfortable experience in Urban Hotel 33, really out of our expectation. Please read our sharing below:-

Like :
1. 40 mins from Airport by MRT, drop at Sinyi Elementary School (O6), Exit 4 (5 mins walk)
2. Clean and quiet room at Elegance Tower, efficient housekeeping service everyday
3. Excellent breakfast, can't ask more, Chinese, Japanese, Western style...fresh coffee..etc.
4. Modern interior renovation at Urban Cafe
5. Free Wire & Wireless internet connection in room
6. Professional Front Desk Crew, special thanks to Ms. Lily Kim. Smiling face every morning.
Speaking good English & Japanese....so cool
7. Self Launary Service at 5/F, convenient
8. Accessable to shopping areas
9. Very suitable for the business trip + few days leisure break.

Dislike :
1. Please do not expect it is a luxury hotel, no gym, no swimming pool, no grand lobby.
2. Not suitable for family vacation.

We will definitely stay again in our next trip to Kaoshiung.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed two nights and our room was super clean, very modern and hip! Breakfast was the best -- a mixture of chinese and some light american fare, plus yummy lattes. Bed was very, very firm. Good location on the orange line if you're visiting family in the area otherwise you might want to stay on the red line which has more tourist stuff and connects to the High Speed Rail - however, train and underground transportation in Taiwan is very efficient, speedy and on time so it really doesn't matter. We would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Our family enjoyed our stay in this hotel. We booked 2 regular rooms (forgot what they're called) but each is about 3-4k NTD each.

What I liked:

- Love the morning buffet spread! I really get a full tummy as the food choices suites me (compared to the food in Dandy). There's rice, boiled or tea egg, bacon, ham, bread, etc. Really good I would say.
- Location is great - less than 3 mins walk to MTR (upon exiting hotel, take 2 lefts)
- Good customer service
- Spacious rooms
- plenty of taxis passing by in front of hotel


Areas for improvement:

- Bathroom lighting not OK. Once you close the shower curtains, it gets dim in the shower area.
- No indoor safe
- we find wifi speed kind of slow

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

the hotel is just around two min of walk from the xinyi elementary school mrt. if you want to use mrt to explore the city, it would be a good choice for you. paid a bit more to book a room for 3 on the chic section (a bit more expensive than the room on elegance secion )that would give you bigger room and better view, plus free wi fi and buffet breakfast. really enjoyed our stay there. the bathroom is pretty ok very clean and give you a 'modern and minimalstic' feel and with all sorts of amenities provided. it is just a hotel that charges you 3 hotel rate but gives you 4 star hotel quality of service.
some tips for those plan to use mrt: better buy a card worth twd200 with twd100 not refundabe. the card covers not only the mrt system but also nearly all public transport. so called with the card one can enjoy 15%off per ride. however, mind you both mrt and bus service is not run as frequent as the taipei's system. and quite a big gap. actually the night market 'luk hop night market' and the interchagne of the mrt and also the most beautiful station of the city ' formosa boulevard' is only around 10 min of walk from the hotel. one can simply skip the mrt nearby and enjoy a good walk around the city. a very good experience.
when compared with another 5 star hotel (ambassador hotel )that i stayed too, given its loation and room rate, i would say it is a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Urban Hotel 33? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Hotel 33

Address: No.33 Minzu 2nd Road, Sinsing District, Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 244 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Urban Hotel 33 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Hotel 33, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;