We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sunshine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sunshine to your Saves list
Hotel Sunshine
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.75 Jhonghua Fouth Road, Lingya District, Kaohsiung 802, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 253 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
2 reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

good service with waiters
confortable bed, restroom.
delicious meal.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    22
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
5
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

This is basically very popular with Asians, by which i mean it is not a western style, think dark carved wood and gold bits everywhere.

We were shown three rooms before we found one which did not smell of drains. They all looked out onto a brick wall , so avoid rooms ending with a three. The room on the front was better, I'd say an average 3 start hotel standard.

Staff were very friendly and helpful, we didn't bother with breakfast on the second day as there was nothing we wanted to eat.

If you are western and prefer a western style of modern hotel then try somewhere else, this cost us £55 uk which was only a little cheaper then the 5star places in town, and we Shpuld have stayed there. Even better, id recommend staying 30mins away by train at the shangri la in Tainan and coming in on the train, where we then went on to stay for the second time!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

Great place to stay. The service was amazing. When we entered the room there was fruit with a note welcoming us and wishing us a pleasant stay. The staff even offered their help in finding a hotel in Taipei. Hands down the best I stayed in, in Taiwan,amazing staff and an amazing service. Book through the internet it is cheaper!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

Very welcoming and alert staff with sincerity in helping to ease any problematic situations or questions I enquired. Daily breakfast is generous, diverse and routinely kept refreshed. My room was perfect for me; spacious, very tidy and very clean. I am more than content to stay here again when I return to Kaohsiung. I spoke with a few visitors and they seemed quite content to return as well. It's location is a 5min stroll from the MRT (next to cinemas). There are surrounding night markets with a variety of nightlife spots within walking distance. A mixture of local and western surprises and as I've discovered since being in Taiwan the locals are incredibly friendly and honest. A very happy stay and would highly recommend to one and all.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sunshine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunshine

Address: No.75 Jhonghua Fouth Road, Lingya District, Kaohsiung 802, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 253 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sunshine 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunshine was established in 1995 and opened at Jhonghua 4th Road. With elegant Chinese classic, the hotel uses valuable and rare rosewood furniture to blend with refined oriental culture and make innovative contemporary designs by unique Chinese culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sunshine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sunshine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.