We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, friendly staff, nice amenities in a compact room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Life Hotel & Resort

Save Saved
You added Life Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Life Hotel & Resort
No.237-1 Nanhua Road, Sanmin District, Kaohsiung 807, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 244 Hotels in Kaohsiung
India
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“good location, friendly staff, nice amenities in a compact room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

it was very easy to find and a very short walk from the mrt which was very convenient. the staff was very friendly and did all they could to help. one of them actually accompanied my husband all the way to the bank when he wanted to change money which was really nice. the room was compact but had all amenities one would need for a comfortable stay. bathroom was a good size. though there was no window in the room, we didn't miss it as we were there only to sleep and change. the kenting bus is just 1 min away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
10
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Is very near the metro so very convenient. Hotel outlook is not that great though

Stepped into the lobby and there is a heavy cigarette stench though staff are very friendly and helpful

Room is kinda small for a couple stay but is kinda unique their amenities in the room

Sofa is just infront of bed so kinda useful only for bags, TV offers a great deal of channel and almost all lighting and TV can be controlled by a controller by the bed. controller kinda looks like those KTV remote controller though

Bathroom is separated by a translucent glass and is kinda huge. shower head in this bathroom is huge, kinda looks like those cleaning up during a HAZMAT incident. spacious bathroom though

Looks more like a motel when we stepped into the room but we are satisfied as the room has a good enough ambience has lots of space for our HUGE shopping luggage and is close to the metro and bus interchange

close to 3 night markets, general tip: ASK THE STAFF for anything. they will advise you promptyly

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

This hotel is located very near to the city center where you can just walk around to get food, big shopping malls and shopping street. It is also conveniently located very near to the station.

The hotel is clean and not too small, just nice for a short stay. The staff is friendly as well. It also provides free parking space for travelers who are driving to Kaohsiung, you just need to inform the staff and you will be directly to a 'secret' little parking area underground due to the limited outdoor parking space in Kaohsiung.

Getting a cab is also very convenient, just 2 minutes walk to the nearest junction of the hotel and you can take a cab everywhere.

Recommended for couples as the room might be a little bit small for family.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

The location was great and just 2 minutes walk from the station. Convenience store round the corner and local restaurants just downstairs. Staff have been friendly and informative. The room was comfortable and the large bathroom was quite impressive. They have free tea and sofas at the lobby. We like the hotel very much, except that the smell of cigarette smoking was extremely strong all the time, which has discouraged us from sitting and relaxing at the lobby. The smell also came into the room through the air-conditioning and sometimes we have to switch off the air-con and open the windows. Other than this, the hotel was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

I chose this hotel due to it's proximity to the bus station, the train station also is right next door also. Its about a minute walk to the bus stop, which most tourists use to get to Kenting.
The hotel itself is comfortable, the staff managed with limited English but I had no problems checking in.
The room was comfortable, spacious, and at around $50 a night great value.
The bathroom itself was huge and almost the size of some rooms I've stayed in.
The hotel is located near a great camera shopping street, where you can buy any type of accessories from lens to cases etc.
You may find your the only westerner here, but none the less it's a good choice for your stay in KS.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Saw the reviews and decided to stay here while I was on my road trip from south to north... They actually had a blown up map to give and highlighted the must-see places. The receptionist was very helpful and it was a great experience with them sharing my exploits of the day and my photography experience. Generally, the people in Kaoshiung are friendly and kind.. The room is big and quiet..nice place. Will be back..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiwan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

I booked this hotel to stay overnight in Kaohsiung before going on to Kenting. Very close to the train station, and if you knew to look for the "Sports Bar" sign it was easy to find. The area isn't the most lovely Taiwan has to offer but was pretty consistent with the areas around train stations in every city in Taiwan. The front desk staff was extremely polite, although they only spoke Chinese. But they were very patient with foreigners' poor Chinese! There was English on the sign-in form and breakfast choice form.
Room was fairly comfortable, with a comfy bed and a sofa for lounging, along with a fridge. Bathroom was fine. The decoration was a little funky and cool. No window in my room but I was expecting that. Very clean.
I think they try hard with the breakfast but it just won't appeal to Western tastes. I wound up going out to get some other breakfast.
Overall I think it's good for a transit stop or if you're doing just a quick trip in Kaohsiung. There are cheaper hotels and nicer hotels but this was comfortable and clean and not a bad value- and really, you can't beat the convenience. One note: when we were checking out a young couple came in inquiring about an "hourly rate" which was granted. This seems pretty common in the the hotels along that street. It didn't seem overly skeevy but if that bothers you, I'd pick a hotel away from the train station!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Life Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Life Hotel & Resort

Address: No.237-1 Nanhua Road, Sanmin District, Kaohsiung 807, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 244 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Life Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Life Hotel And Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Life Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.