We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very informative receptionist and friendly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Life Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Life Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Life Hotel & Resort
No.237-1 Nanhua Road, Sanmin District, Kaohsiung 807, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 252 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very informative receptionist and friendly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Saw the reviews and decided to stay here while I was on my road trip from south to north... They actually had a blown up map to give and highlighted the must-see places. The receptionist was very helpful and it was a great experience with them sharing my exploits of the day and my photography experience. Generally, the people in Kaoshiung are friendly and kind.. The room is big and quiet..nice place. Will be back..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
10
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
taiwan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

I booked this hotel to stay overnight in Kaohsiung before going on to Kenting. Very close to the train station, and if you knew to look for the "Sports Bar" sign it was easy to find. The area isn't the most lovely Taiwan has to offer but was pretty consistent with the areas around train stations in every city in Taiwan. The front desk staff was extremely polite, although they only spoke Chinese. But they were very patient with foreigners' poor Chinese! There was English on the sign-in form and breakfast choice form.
Room was fairly comfortable, with a comfy bed and a sofa for lounging, along with a fridge. Bathroom was fine. The decoration was a little funky and cool. No window in my room but I was expecting that. Very clean.
I think they try hard with the breakfast but it just won't appeal to Western tastes. I wound up going out to get some other breakfast.
Overall I think it's good for a transit stop or if you're doing just a quick trip in Kaohsiung. There are cheaper hotels and nicer hotels but this was comfortable and clean and not a bad value- and really, you can't beat the convenience. One note: when we were checking out a young couple came in inquiring about an "hourly rate" which was granted. This seems pretty common in the the hotels along that street. It didn't seem overly skeevy but if that bothers you, I'd pick a hotel away from the train station!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

Yes, this hotel is conveniently located close to Kaohsiung train and MTR station. However it is on a rather unattractive street.

I should say that I had just come from Tainan where I stayed at the more expensive, fantastic Shangri-La hotel, so the contrast was a shock to the system for me. This hotel is a bit old with 'interesting' decor. The biggest drawback for me was that the room had no window, and there was sometimes an odd smell. Cleanliness was acceptable, but the discovery of long hairs here and there (obviously not mine) were off-putting.

The in-room breakfast of white-bread sandwich and cold milk tea was quite unpleasant.

I arrived in the evening and the front desk staff was very friendly and hospitable. Full points to her. But in the morning, the girl at the front desk was busy squeezing blackheads on her nose in the mirror.

I booked this hotel on the internet at NT$1800 per night, and I feel it was not worth it. I was dismayed to see that the poster outside the hotel was advertising the same room for NT$1300. If I had paid the lower price, I might have been more forgiving.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

Pros:
*V V close to Kaohsiung main station - 2 minutes walk. Also near bus terminal for buses going to Pintung / Kenting (and other places)
*Big, clean spacious rooms
*Free internet - at room (wireless) and downstairs in basement

Cons:
*Weird breakfast - their Western version is burgers with a small slice of cake and fruits.
*Staff may not speak much English

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

I stayed there for 3 days. It is very near to Kaohsiung Main Station MRT.

When we arrived, we were given towels and drinks. Great service from the front desk.

Room is big, very very clean. HD TV with 100+ channels. In-house instant hot water. Toothbrudh, tooth paste, ... all the stuff you need.

Price is cheap, definitely value for $$$. Staff is very very friendly, breakfast included.

If you are ever in Kaohsiung, you MUST stay there.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

The hotel is very close to the Kaohsiung Train Station and MRT. As other people have noted, the entrance can be hard to find. You need to look for "The Sports Bar" sign. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Not sure of their english skills as I was travelling with someone fluent in chinese. Note that they have a tiny lift that can only take two people with backpacks/small luggage or one person with large luggage comfortably. I booked a triple room and received a twinshare with double beds. The room was very clean and smallish but there was enough space for 3 people and our luggage. The bathroom was interesting as the toilet was between the shower and wash basin but the drain for the shower was under the basin - the bathroom got quite wet! We got around it by putting our used towels on the floor to soak up the extra water. The window faced another building. Breakfast was served to the room and was more like brunch/lunch than breakfast food. I would recommend it for people who only want a nice, clean place to sleep - it is a solid 3 to 3.5 star hotel.

  • Liked — The cleanliness, location and staff
  • Disliked — The bathroom setup
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Life Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Life Hotel & Resort

Address: No.237-1 Nanhua Road, Sanmin District, Kaohsiung 807, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 252 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Life Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Life Hotel And Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Life Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.