We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A uniquely Taiwan hotel experience, good for family trips” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hualien FarGlory Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hualien FarGlory Hotel to your Saves list
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.18 Shanling, Yanlian Tsuen, Shoufeng Shiang, Hualien 974, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 112 Hotels in Hualien
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A uniquely Taiwan hotel experience, good for family trips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The word kitsch often comes to mind when describing Taiwanese attempts at luxury, and this place is not an exception. That said, I must say it's the best kitsch I've seen on the island so far. The style is I think supposed to be Victorian, and there are touches that were pulled off nicely - for example, I really like the lobby with its huge floral centerpiece and fountain - and the indoor garden in a small building adjacent to the lobby was particularly nice.

The room was set up in the long-ways fashion I'm not partial to (the bed faces the side wall instead of the window), but the bathroom was spacious, with a good tub for bathing my daughter.

The indoor swimming pool is laned like at a gym, but there are water massagers at one end for people who just want to kick back. There is a huge hot-tub with a nice view of the coast, and best of all, they have a really large, shallow, heated kiddie pool. The hotel also has a pretty well-stocked kiddie room (plenty of books, blocks, balls, etc.)

The breakfast, Japanese and Western buffets were all very nice - the Western buffet is a better value than the Japanese one in our opinion.

Probably the main draw of the hotel, though, is the adjacent Far Glory Ocean Park. While I don't think a review of the hotel itself should strictly include that, I do definitely give that place a double thumbs-up for a fun family trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    38
    20
    2
    1
See reviews for
47
15
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Hualien FarGlory Hotel is situated atop a hill in Taiwan, and is a pretty big facility. It is probably the nicest hotel at which I've stayed in Taiwan.

That said, the hotel oozes cheese (from the electronic grand piano playing in the lobby, which is on a 20-minute loop of old songs that will drive you mad after a couple of days). All of the decor is straight out of the 1960s, heavy on pinks and florals and odd wallpaper.

The gym isn't bad, with a pool area that has a large lap pool, a decent-size jacuzzi spa, and this weird kiddie pool area with a rock formation that looks like it should have a waterfall, but doesn't have a waterfall. They will make you buy a daggy swim cap to use the pool, if you don't have your own (that goes for kids too). There was an outside pool that was not in service when we were there.

Right down below the lobby is the area they use for breakfast buffets in the morning, and drinks in the evening. The breakfast buffet is pretty good: lots of selections of both Asian and Western cuisine. The evening drinks are a little harder to come by, as service levels are low.

The one danger I'd warn of is: the hallways are VERY loud, making it difficult to try and catch some sleep if you're going to bed early. Hualien FarGlory is large so it attracts a lot of tour groups; we saw said groups screaming up and down the hallways to each other, which was really annoying. You may as well stay up a bit later and grab a drink in the bar. You won't even have to ask the ghost piano player to "play it again, sam".

Room Tip: go to the end of the hallway or you'll have a lot of ambient noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The 5-star hotel in the area. Unfortunately, 5-star only means how much they charge you, it doesnt mean that they deliver the same quality of service. First, the facility is aged. You can see lots of vendors in hotel lobby which make the lobby a bit messy. Second, buffet restaurant is too small. You will be forced to eat somewhere else if too many hotel guest. Third, the sales representative in their Taipei office is very rude. Argu with customer on the pricing which was a mistake they made. Even try to thread us that if we insist to use coupon on Saturday, our colleague's coupon will be restricted the usable period (was none!!) It is ridiculous that they expect customer to bare their own mistake like this. Totally un-acceptable. I will never go back to that hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The concierge services is very poor. Tell me that the fridge inside the room is of recycling type. I bought a chilled coke and strawberry milk in the evening. put inside the fridge. the next day, the coke was not cold and the milk turn sour. Horrible. Before i did the check in, was told my transportation to the railway was covered, when i check out they have the audacity to ask me to pay for the transport down. horrible.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I was here for one night stay... though the view is great...but there are nothing much you could do... there are bus service to the theme park nearby..

their buffet is average.. not as luxurious as i thought.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This hotel is perched up in a hill so you get 365 degrees of Hualien and the ocean. I would recommend walking around hotel grounds to take full advantage.
The rooms are a bit dated. Decoration is a mish mash of things: tropical, fantasy (knights & princesses). It's like they want a theme but just go 1/2 way and not executing it fully.
The hotel lobby is very grand. But I think service is lacking. A few service people were joking around at the bakery and yelled down to another service person at the buffet restaurant. The staff is just not trained too well.
I had to do laundry and housekeeping did send small laundry detergent to my room. I thought that was very thoughtful.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room (if there's any)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The hotel rooms are rather old but they are clean. View is excellent and food is not bad too. Hotel service is so so and tends to inconvenience guests for own inefficiency in operation. They were pushy on getting us to have our dinner buffet which is included in room rate at 5:30pm for both nights but we refused to do so on the second night. To dine, we have to bring the meal coupons to the restaurant reception (which is normal) and the restaurant reception asked us to sign on another bill to reconfirm that we have given them the coupons (which is not normal). Then after we finish the meal, we have to bring back a card that was put on the table to the restaurant reception and inform them that we are done with eating. They keeps on checking and asking on the no of coupons we gave them. My husband get really annoyed by all these. While we checked with the manger why all these requirements and he said it is because they use a lot of trainees from school which are not experienced, hence need some extra process to control. I hope the hotel can improve on the service and focus on enhancing guest experience.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hualien FarGlory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hualien FarGlory Hotel

Address: No.18 Shanling, Yanlian Tsuen, Shoufeng Shiang, Hualien 974, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 112 Hotels in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hualien FarGlory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 381 various styles of guestrooms leaning against the hills and looking out to the ocean, Hualian Farglory Hotel had a capability to provide the best facilities for 1,000 guests simultaneously. Inside fo this intricately designed Victorian style palace, your senses will be brewing with joy every moment.The deep blue Pacific Ocean is the best facility in every guestroom, and the most attentive services are an indisputable fact, which makes the well laid-out modern facilities merely accessories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hualien FarGlory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hualien FarGlory Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.