We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome views, ok rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hualien FarGlory Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hualien FarGlory Hotel to your Saves list
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.18 Shanling, Yanlian Tsuen, Shoufeng Shiang, Hualien 974, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 110 Hotels in Hualien
Chicago
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Awesome views, ok rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This hotel is perched up in a hill so you get 365 degrees of Hualien and the ocean. I would recommend walking around hotel grounds to take full advantage.
The rooms are a bit dated. Decoration is a mish mash of things: tropical, fantasy (knights & princesses). It's like they want a theme but just go 1/2 way and not executing it fully.
The hotel lobby is very grand. But I think service is lacking. A few service people were joking around at the bakery and yelled down to another service person at the buffet restaurant. The staff is just not trained too well.
I had to do laundry and housekeeping did send small laundry detergent to my room. I thought that was very thoughtful.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room (if there's any)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    38
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
45
15
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The hotel rooms are rather old but they are clean. View is excellent and food is not bad too. Hotel service is so so and tends to inconvenience guests for own inefficiency in operation. They were pushy on getting us to have our dinner buffet which is included in room rate at 5:30pm for both nights but we refused to do so on the second night. To dine, we have to bring the meal coupons to the restaurant reception (which is normal) and the restaurant reception asked us to sign on another bill to reconfirm that we have given them the coupons (which is not normal). Then after we finish the meal, we have to bring back a card that was put on the table to the restaurant reception and inform them that we are done with eating. They keeps on checking and asking on the no of coupons we gave them. My husband get really annoyed by all these. While we checked with the manger why all these requirements and he said it is because they use a lot of trainees from school which are not experienced, hence need some extra process to control. I hope the hotel can improve on the service and focus on enhancing guest experience.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

After a blissful stay in Kenting (Kending) at Caeser Park Hotel - we drove to the East part of Taiwan - Hualien. The drive was indeed beautiful with the Pacific Ocean towards our right and the mountain ranges on the left. Finally after about 4 1/2 hours of drive (with multiple sightseeing stops on the way) - we reached Hualien and drove up the cliff to reach our Hotel - Farglory. Within minutes we were there at the Hotel and were warmly received by the Concierge and the check in staff. Our room - a large family room that had two large single beds and a large double bed - had one of the most amazing views of the Pacific ocean. Given that the hotel is located on top of the cliff - the views of the ocean become even more amazing. From the ramparts of the hotel - you get a wonderful view of the entire Hualien city - which becomes even more fantastic as the night falls. Its like stars on the ground !!!.

The hotel - a very large complex with victorian style interiors - has wonderful restaurants. The breakfast at the British Garden was fantastic with good spread of delicacies.

Sightseeing around the hotel is one the best that I have ever been to. The Taroko gorge tour was the best and the rugged mountains reminded me of my drive up the himachals in India. Nature has been preserved at its best and though tourists are increasing year on year - the authorities have ensured that nature is kept unspoilt. The river flowing through the gorge - adds to the pristine beauty offered by this natural habitat.

Coming back to the hotel - the service, attention and courtesy received from the staff was world class. This despite the size of the hotel. A simple experience will help understand what I mean by courtesy. Upon checking out and getting into the car - a bell boy (Ben) runs up and hands me over the morning news paper (in English) to read on the way. On the way out... remember. I will not forget this small, simple yet touching experience.

Room Tip: Choose a Ocean facing room - the views are breathtaking. We picked up a family room which could comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We checked in Saturday and checked out Sunday!
It was a first time for us and our 16 month old.

Property clean & well kept, regular shuttles to the Ocean Park (at bottom of hill), a nice choice of restaurants on site, spacious public area to walk around.

Lots of families there during our stay.
The property is a wonderful place for young children!
Indoor pool(s) (open all year round i believe) with one at 50cm for children.
Exercise room (for adults). Well padded toddler play room with a variety of toys!
Coin Op Video game arcade with Initial D ver 3 (2 player) in basement!

We stayed in the south wing with a balcony and view of the ocean.

Breakfast Buffet was amazing!
Lots of choices. Get there early - long lines after 8am

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We did not stay at this hotel but we got upgraded lunch here due to bad service at Bali Suites Hotel the night before.
the location quite far from town but its ok because guests so happy here. We had bento japanese menu for our lunch, simple but nice.
after lunch guests went outside of this hotel and take picture.
Awesome.... breathtaking ocean view...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed in a room with two single beds and a sofa bed. Room is very spacious and quiet, has comfy beds and a hot tub. Pillow was a bit too soft for me and there weren't any extras in the closet. The view is breathtaking and there are many shops in the hotel. However, the hotel is very far from other attractions and from the city. Breakfast was ok, not very impressive. I would recommend staying for a night or two, but probably not longer than that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We booked this hotel because our daughter wanted to see the dolphin she swam with 2 years ago. The theme park no longer offers this activity but the hotel receptionists made a big effort to communicate with the theme park and my daughter was given an exclusive chance to see (not to swim with) the dolphin again. I cannot praise highly enough how helpful the hotel staff were. We were not interested in the theme park and it was raining, so we stayed in the indoor pool and enjoyed the splendid view of the Pacific Ocean from the big window next to the jaccuzzi. We also had an ocean view from our comfortable room with a good size balcony. As mentioned by other reviews it is located in an isolated mountain area (so may be good to bring some snacks with you just in case but the hotel offers a room service for fried noodles/rice until late but not cheap). I would recommend this hotel as a side trip to Hualien/Hualian especally for family with young kids.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hualien FarGlory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hualien FarGlory Hotel

Address: No.18 Shanling, Yanlian Tsuen, Shoufeng Shiang, Hualien 974, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 110 Hotels in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hualien FarGlory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 381 various styles of guestrooms leaning against the hills and looking out to the ocean, Hualian Farglory Hotel had a capability to provide the best facilities for 1,000 guests simultaneously. Inside fo this intricately designed Victorian style palace, your senses will be brewing with joy every moment.The deep blue Pacific Ocean is the best facility in every guestroom, and the most attentive services are an indisputable fact, which makes the well laid-out modern facilities merely accessories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, AsiaRooms, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hualien FarGlory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hualien FarGlory Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.