We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hualien - Most endowed landscape in East Taiwan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hualien FarGlory Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hualien FarGlory Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Agoda.com
and 6 more sites!
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.18 Shanling, Yanlian Tsuen, Shoufeng Shiang, Hualien 974, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 98 hotels in Hualien
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hualien - Most endowed landscape in East Taiwan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

After a blissful stay in Kenting (Kending) at Caeser Park Hotel - we drove to the East part of Taiwan - Hualien. The drive was indeed beautiful with the Pacific Ocean towards our right and the mountain ranges on the left. Finally after about 4 1/2 hours of drive (with multiple sightseeing stops on the way) - we reached Hualien and drove up the cliff to reach our Hotel - Farglory. Within minutes we were there at the Hotel and were warmly received by the Concierge and the check in staff. Our room - a large family room that had two large single beds and a large double bed - had one of the most amazing views of the Pacific ocean. Given that the hotel is located on top of the cliff - the views of the ocean become even more amazing. From the ramparts of the hotel - you get a wonderful view of the entire Hualien city - which becomes even more fantastic as the night falls. Its like stars on the ground !!!.

The hotel - a very large complex with victorian style interiors - has wonderful restaurants. The breakfast at the British Garden was fantastic with good spread of delicacies.

Sightseeing around the hotel is one the best that I have ever been to. The Taroko gorge tour was the best and the rugged mountains reminded me of my drive up the himachals in India. Nature has been preserved at its best and though tourists are increasing year on year - the authorities have ensured that nature is kept unspoilt. The river flowing through the gorge - adds to the pristine beauty offered by this natural habitat.

Coming back to the hotel - the service, attention and courtesy received from the staff was world class. This despite the size of the hotel. A simple experience will help understand what I mean by courtesy. Upon checking out and getting into the car - a bell boy (Ben) runs up and hands me over the morning news paper (in English) to read on the way. On the way out... remember. I will not forget this small, simple yet touching experience.

Room Tip: Choose a Ocean facing room - the views are breathtaking. We picked up a family room which could comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    26
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
14
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We checked in Saturday and checked out Sunday!
It was a first time for us and our 16 month old.

Property clean & well kept, regular shuttles to the Ocean Park (at bottom of hill), a nice choice of restaurants on site, spacious public area to walk around.

Lots of families there during our stay.
The property is a wonderful place for young children!
Indoor pool(s) (open all year round i believe) with one at 50cm for children.
Exercise room (for adults). Well padded toddler play room with a variety of toys!
Coin Op Video game arcade with Initial D ver 3 (2 player) in basement!

We stayed in the south wing with a balcony and view of the ocean.

Breakfast Buffet was amazing!
Lots of choices. Get there early - long lines after 8am

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We did not stay at this hotel but we got upgraded lunch here due to bad service at Bali Suites Hotel the night before.
the location quite far from town but its ok because guests so happy here. We had bento japanese menu for our lunch, simple but nice.
after lunch guests went outside of this hotel and take picture.
Awesome.... breathtaking ocean view...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed in a room with two single beds and a sofa bed. Room is very spacious and quiet, has comfy beds and a hot tub. Pillow was a bit too soft for me and there weren't any extras in the closet. The view is breathtaking and there are many shops in the hotel. However, the hotel is very far from other attractions and from the city. Breakfast was ok, not very impressive. I would recommend staying for a night or two, but probably not longer than that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We booked this hotel because our daughter wanted to see the dolphin she swam with 2 years ago. The theme park no longer offers this activity but the hotel receptionists made a big effort to communicate with the theme park and my daughter was given an exclusive chance to see (not to swim with) the dolphin again. I cannot praise highly enough how helpful the hotel staff were. We were not interested in the theme park and it was raining, so we stayed in the indoor pool and enjoyed the splendid view of the Pacific Ocean from the big window next to the jaccuzzi. We also had an ocean view from our comfortable room with a good size balcony. As mentioned by other reviews it is located in an isolated mountain area (so may be good to bring some snacks with you just in case but the hotel offers a room service for fried noodles/rice until late but not cheap). I would recommend this hotel as a side trip to Hualien/Hualian especally for family with young kids.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Big "family" resort near Hualien, on the hill with breathtaking Ocean view.
The amusement park "Ocean Park" just very close.
Don't go there for a romantic getaway: the resort is rather good for families especially with small children.
Room very spacious and nice (ask for the Ocean view). With balcony and all facilities.
Bed very comfortable.
Service ok.
No WIFI in the room but ADSL.
Breakfast pretty messy and not really good quality.
Avoid if looking for quietness....

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean View room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel feels like a Disney version of what a Chinese person would think a luxury European hotel would look like. It's striving to be a 5-star hotel. It has clean, spacious rooms and beautiful views. A family member booked the place and paid for us, so I can't comment on the value. It's a bit far from town, so not much to do at night.

The best parts were the pool/jacuzzi (awesome views!) and the breakfast buffets --- lots of choices (Western, Taiwanese, and Japanese) and everyone (kids and grandparents) was happy and full. The free shuttle to and from the Ocean Park was convenient. My kids (9 and 11) enjoyed exploring the amusement park.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hualien FarGlory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hualien FarGlory Hotel

Address: No.18 Shanling, Yanlian Tsuen, Shoufeng Shiang, Hualien 974, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 98 hotels in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hualien FarGlory Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 381 various styles of guestrooms leaning against the hills and looking out to the ocean, Hualian Farglory Hotel had a capability to provide the best facilities for 1,000 guests simultaneously. Inside fo this intricately designed Victorian style palace, your senses will be brewing with joy every moment.The deep blue Pacific Ocean is the best facility in every guestroom, and the most attentive services are an indisputable fact, which makes the well laid-out modern facilities merely accessories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, AsiaRooms, Venere, Hotels.com and Fastbooking so you can book your Hualien FarGlory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hualien FarGlory Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.