We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Customer Services” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hualien FarGlory Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hualien FarGlory Hotel to your Saves list
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.18 Shanling, Yanlian Tsuen, Shoufeng Shiang, Hualien 974, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 107 Hotels in Hualien
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Customer Services”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We booked this hotel because our daughter wanted to see the dolphin she swam with 2 years ago. The theme park no longer offers this activity but the hotel receptionists made a big effort to communicate with the theme park and my daughter was given an exclusive chance to see (not to swim with) the dolphin again. I cannot praise highly enough how helpful the hotel staff were. We were not interested in the theme park and it was raining, so we stayed in the indoor pool and enjoyed the splendid view of the Pacific Ocean from the big window next to the jaccuzzi. We also had an ocean view from our comfortable room with a good size balcony. As mentioned by other reviews it is located in an isolated mountain area (so may be good to bring some snacks with you just in case but the hotel offers a room service for fried noodles/rice until late but not cheap). I would recommend this hotel as a side trip to Hualien/Hualian especally for family with young kids.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    36
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
45
14
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel feels like a Disney version of what a Chinese person would think a luxury European hotel would look like. It's striving to be a 5-star hotel. It has clean, spacious rooms and beautiful views. A family member booked the place and paid for us, so I can't comment on the value. It's a bit far from town, so not much to do at night.

The best parts were the pool/jacuzzi (awesome views!) and the breakfast buffets --- lots of choices (Western, Taiwanese, and Japanese) and everyone (kids and grandparents) was happy and full. The free shuttle to and from the Ocean Park was convenient. My kids (9 and 11) enjoyed exploring the amusement park.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

FarGlory is known as a luxury resort, a getaway for families and couples. It sits atop the city of Hualien with a view of the ocean, which is beautiful. My husband and I thought it was great the first night but we did get bored pretty quickly. It's so far away from the town we felt trapped. Instead of the hotel all-you-can-eat breakfasts (which was mostly Western, by the way) we would have much rather eaten at food stalls and hole-in-the-walls in town and experiencing the local life. The Sea World-like facility was closed for the winter when we were there, which was a bummer.

It was nice the pool and jacuzzi was empty so we got to enjoy it all to ourselves.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great heated pool and hot spa befitting 5 star status. View splendid. But far from city centre. No shops nearby unless you are contented to be stuck in hotel after dark eating over priced food when there is better delicious stuff downtown at a fraction of the price. Their 3 day promotion package was not attractive. Breakfast for 2 days only, not 3 as expected. Ocean park entry inclusive but suitable for younger kids, older ones will be bored with the kiddy rides. Great animal educational shows though for the family...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed at Farglory for one night after a tour of Taroko Gorge. Checked in around 3 pm and had afternoon tea. The rooms were comfortable and clean and had a great view of the ocean. Outdoor pool was empty and closed (late may) so that was a bit disappointing. They had a few shops, but nothing of real interest. There is an arcade room for the kids to play in. The food was decent with a good variety of food for everyone's tastes. The service was great...we called for extra towels and they were knocking on our door within 2 minutes. Overall a nice relaxing stay but I wish there was a little more to do at the hotel since it is so far from the down. Ocean Park is next door so we did explore that the next day.

Room Tip: Anything with an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had a one night stay after our visit to the Taroko Gorge. Due to our early flight on the next day, we decided to stay at this hotel so will be closer to the airport.
This is a very large hotel in terms of rooms available but have no shops to speak of. Our room was facing the city of Hualien. We were lucky enough to see the Chinese version of the F16 doing some sort of manuvering exercise just outside our belcony. It was quite a treat. As the previous reviewer has mentioned, the hotel is very isolated and not exactly in the city of Hualien. (however, Hualien is very small and there isn't much in town anyway.)
The food choices were limited during our stay. We ended up eating at the Buffet for dinner and breakfast due to the closure of the Japanese restaurant. (The only other restaurant available in the hotel.)
During our exploration of the hotel, we found a faily large childcare area with a good size arcade as well as a very walkable and nicely maintained garden area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

The place is very beautiful, but we were expecting it would be closer to the main town of Hualien (otherwise we would have considered staying closer to the Taroko Gorge). Also, the service of the hotel was great, but not at the restaurants. Because of the isolation, we were forced to eat there. One night Chinese, the other night "Western" buffet. Also, we were surprised that we couldn't get a discount to the theme park below the hill, although having a free shuttle there was helpful. Surprisingly, there is no actual beach below.

Room Tip: We didn't have a room with the view of the ocean, but it was quite easy to get to the other side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hualien FarGlory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hualien FarGlory Hotel

Address: No.18 Shanling, Yanlian Tsuen, Shoufeng Shiang, Hualien 974, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 107 Hotels in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hualien FarGlory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 381 various styles of guestrooms leaning against the hills and looking out to the ocean, Hualian Farglory Hotel had a capability to provide the best facilities for 1,000 guests simultaneously. Inside fo this intricately designed Victorian style palace, your senses will be brewing with joy every moment.The deep blue Pacific Ocean is the best facility in every guestroom, and the most attentive services are an indisputable fact, which makes the well laid-out modern facilities merely accessories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, AsiaRooms, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hualien FarGlory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hualien FarGlory Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.