We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view but location inconvenient” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hualien FarGlory Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hualien FarGlory Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.18 Shanling, Yanlian Tsuen, Shoufeng Shiang, Hualien 974, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 99 hotels in Hualien
Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great view but location inconvenient”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great heated pool and hot spa befitting 5 star status. View splendid. But far from city centre. No shops nearby unless you are contented to be stuck in hotel after dark eating over priced food when there is better delicious stuff downtown at a fraction of the price. Their 3 day promotion package was not attractive. Breakfast for 2 days only, not 3 as expected. Ocean park entry inclusive but suitable for younger kids, older ones will be bored with the kiddy rides. Great animal educational shows though for the family...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    33
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
34
14
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed at Farglory for one night after a tour of Taroko Gorge. Checked in around 3 pm and had afternoon tea. The rooms were comfortable and clean and had a great view of the ocean. Outdoor pool was empty and closed (late may) so that was a bit disappointing. They had a few shops, but nothing of real interest. There is an arcade room for the kids to play in. The food was decent with a good variety of food for everyone's tastes. The service was great...we called for extra towels and they were knocking on our door within 2 minutes. Overall a nice relaxing stay but I wish there was a little more to do at the hotel since it is so far from the down. Ocean Park is next door so we did explore that the next day.

Room Tip: Anything with an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had a one night stay after our visit to the Taroko Gorge. Due to our early flight on the next day, we decided to stay at this hotel so will be closer to the airport.
This is a very large hotel in terms of rooms available but have no shops to speak of. Our room was facing the city of Hualien. We were lucky enough to see the Chinese version of the F16 doing some sort of manuvering exercise just outside our belcony. It was quite a treat. As the previous reviewer has mentioned, the hotel is very isolated and not exactly in the city of Hualien. (however, Hualien is very small and there isn't much in town anyway.)
The food choices were limited during our stay. We ended up eating at the Buffet for dinner and breakfast due to the closure of the Japanese restaurant. (The only other restaurant available in the hotel.)
During our exploration of the hotel, we found a faily large childcare area with a good size arcade as well as a very walkable and nicely maintained garden area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

The place is very beautiful, but we were expecting it would be closer to the main town of Hualien (otherwise we would have considered staying closer to the Taroko Gorge). Also, the service of the hotel was great, but not at the restaurants. Because of the isolation, we were forced to eat there. One night Chinese, the other night "Western" buffet. Also, we were surprised that we couldn't get a discount to the theme park below the hill, although having a free shuttle there was helpful. Surprisingly, there is no actual beach below.

Room Tip: We didn't have a room with the view of the ocean, but it was quite easy to get to the other side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Located on a mountain top, got a excellent view of the ocean and the lower ocean amusement park. The hotel it self is well maintained. Very clean, very big, service was pretty good too. The people working at the front desk may need more English trainings. I volunteered to be a interpreter for a European couple to make request at the front desk because the front desk staff was having trouble understanding them
The buffet restaurant was pretty good. The Japanese restaurant was not bad, The Chinese restaurant was soso.
It's got a really nice pool facility. They got a big outdoor swimming pool and a warm water indoor pool. Its got a really nice ocean view from the balcony of the indoor pool area.

I have stayed in 2 other hotels in the Hualian area. I would recommend this hotel to travelers.

Room Tip: Many schools also pick this hotels for their student field trips in student graduation seasons, so i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Was looking for restaurant before hopping on the train back to the city. FarGlory is a bit of the drive, but it was totally worth it! My family loved excellent food (Chinese or western) and unbelievable ocean/mountain view. We took lots of photos before leaving beautiful Hualien. The hotel is gorgeous itself. Really blew us away.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
306 helpful votes 306 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

a resort on the ocean front hillside to the south of Hualien City, 95% focussed on asian customers (combination on Taipei, Mainland China, Japanese), so very little english spoken amongst staff once away from the front desk. Rooms are lovely, well equipped, good amenities, and each with balconies (great for smokers). Restaurant buffet has great selection of clean food.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hualien FarGlory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hualien FarGlory Hotel

Address: No.18 Shanling, Yanlian Tsuen, Shoufeng Shiang, Hualien 974, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 99 hotels in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hualien FarGlory Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 381 various styles of guestrooms leaning against the hills and looking out to the ocean, Hualian Farglory Hotel had a capability to provide the best facilities for 1,000 guests simultaneously. Inside fo this intricately designed Victorian style palace, your senses will be brewing with joy every moment.The deep blue Pacific Ocean is the best facility in every guestroom, and the most attentive services are an indisputable fact, which makes the well laid-out modern facilities merely accessories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, AsiaRooms, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hualien FarGlory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hualien FarGlory Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.