We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practical and pleasant option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CJ Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added CJ Hotel to your Saves list
CJ Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.122 Jungfu Road, Hualien City, Hualien 970, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 107 Hotels in Hualien
4.0 of 5 stars 93 Reviews
Paris
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Practical and pleasant option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This is a nice 3 star hotel, efficient, ladies at desk speak enough English and are very helpful. They booked a taxi for the day to take us to Taroko Gorge, which worked well. Room was quite big, bed comfortable, everything worked well. You can hear some traffic, but we didnt have any noise problem. Could walk 10-15 minutes up to the main street of the town for dining options. Need a taxi to go to the night food market, about 10 min in the cab. I recommend to stay in Hualien vs actually at the gorge, where there is pretty well nothing for the evening. True, the breakfast is pretty basic, but it does the job. There is a small bakery about 100 meters to the left down the street.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    40
    15
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
37
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

My stay here really is tainted with the fact that the rooms are incredibly noisy. You can hear everything from conversations on the street, to toilets running, to your neighbors on your hall. I am generally not that sensitive to outside noise, but this was more than ordinary. Additionally, the rooms were not that well kept. There were cracks in the bathroom and the mirror was splatter with paint or some other substance. Also the water pressure was very low and the shower nozzle was located very close to the wall, making showering an awkward experience.

The good is the staff. They are extremely helpful and will assist you with anything, or big problem was finding the hotel. Additionally, breakfast is delivered to the room in the morning, so you can have breakfast in bed. Unfortunately, the latest possibility for breakfast is 9 am, a bit early in my book.

Room Tip: 606 and 607 are on the side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I checked in to this hotel for 1 night stay with family members of 4 in October 2014. The room I booked was superior-family room. Room was comfortable and clean but a bit small for to move around.
As for the hotel location, is 10-12 minutes walk from hotel to old train station street and also 15 minutes walk from hotel to Hualien night market. If you travel with kids and want to go to night market then might need to get a taxi.
Overall, the staff is helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Me along with a friend stayed at the CJ for 2 nights in October, 2013. The room was quite spacious, with a decent size bathroom. The hotel, although not very close to the town centre, was within walking distance. The only issue I had was the breakfast, which had a very limited menu-either a chicken sandwich, veg sandwich or fruits. The reception staff were very friendly, which I felt is true in general for Taiwanese people. If I happen to visit this part of Taiwan again, I would probably stay at the CJ.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed here for five nights. Comfortable clean quiet room. Close to the "golden triangle". For further exploration of the city, bicycles are available including some with infant seats.
The highlight was the friendly staff - welcoming us every time we returned to the hotel, always ready to help and make our stay in the Hualien region quite enjoyable. They speak english. Children loved it here and qualified it as the best hotel of our trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Overall staff were friendly and helpful (they were happy and useful in arranging our Taroko gourge trip). Rooms were of good size. The location is around 15 minutes walk to the centre of the town. Breakfast was a coffee and sandwich from a local cafe delivered to your room but the sandwich was poor. Overall for the price a good option.p.s the hotel arranged for a Mr Pong to take us up the gourge and he was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Very pleasant 3 days stay. We took a taxi to the hotel, which is tucked away in a small side street off the main shopping area. The hotel looks small from the outside, but it is comfy and spacious inside with many contemporary artworks. We were very pleased for our stay there with good sleep, since it was so quiet. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. Our rooms were spotlessly clean. Bottles of water was provided everyday by housekeeping. Free wifi in the room and free coffee in the lobby. Free breakfast delivered to the room, and we liked the selection. All-in-all we truly enjoyed our stay, and this hotel deserves to be #1 boutique hotel in Hualien.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CJ Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CJ Hotel

Address: No.122 Jungfu Road, Hualien City, Hualien 970, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — CJ Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located near the city center and the Far East Department Store, 10 minutes from the railroad station and 25 minutes from the airport, near public transportation, and with plenty of free parking spaces. It is only 5 minutes walk to the city's center and main shopping district, and near the entrance of Na-Bin Park; in addition, the starting point for city's bicycle route is right outside the hotel. From our hotel, it is very convenient for taking a leisure walk or bicycle ride to see the beautiful city of Hualien and its coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, AsiaRooms, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your CJ Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
c Est Jeune Hotel
c Est Jeune Hualien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CJ Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.