We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staffs are friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CJ Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added CJ Hotel to your Saves list
CJ Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.122 Zhongfu Road, Hualien City, Hualien 970, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 116 Hotels in Hualien
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Staffs are friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I checked in to this hotel for 1 night stay with family members of 4 in October 2014. The room I booked was superior-family room. Room was comfortable and clean but a bit small for to move around.
As for the hotel location, is 10-12 minutes walk from hotel to old train station street and also 15 minutes walk from hotel to Hualien night market. If you travel with kids and want to go to night market then might need to get a taxi.
Overall, the staff is helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    45
    16
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
38
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Me along with a friend stayed at the CJ for 2 nights in October, 2013. The room was quite spacious, with a decent size bathroom. The hotel, although not very close to the town centre, was within walking distance. The only issue I had was the breakfast, which had a very limited menu-either a chicken sandwich, veg sandwich or fruits. The reception staff were very friendly, which I felt is true in general for Taiwanese people. If I happen to visit this part of Taiwan again, I would probably stay at the CJ.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed here for five nights. Comfortable clean quiet room. Close to the "golden triangle". For further exploration of the city, bicycles are available including some with infant seats.
The highlight was the friendly staff - welcoming us every time we returned to the hotel, always ready to help and make our stay in the Hualien region quite enjoyable. They speak english. Children loved it here and qualified it as the best hotel of our trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Overall staff were friendly and helpful (they were happy and useful in arranging our Taroko gourge trip). Rooms were of good size. The location is around 15 minutes walk to the centre of the town. Breakfast was a coffee and sandwich from a local cafe delivered to your room but the sandwich was poor. Overall for the price a good option.p.s the hotel arranged for a Mr Pong to take us up the gourge and he was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Very pleasant 3 days stay. We took a taxi to the hotel, which is tucked away in a small side street off the main shopping area. The hotel looks small from the outside, but it is comfy and spacious inside with many contemporary artworks. We were very pleased for our stay there with good sleep, since it was so quiet. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. Our rooms were spotlessly clean. Bottles of water was provided everyday by housekeeping. Free wifi in the room and free coffee in the lobby. Free breakfast delivered to the room, and we liked the selection. All-in-all we truly enjoyed our stay, and this hotel deserves to be #1 boutique hotel in Hualien.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel personnel are very helpful and nice. They helped us to find out information on certain places of attractions and also helped us to book train tickets. The hotel generally has a clean, modern and artistic feel. The room is spacious and clean. The hotel location is great as it is within walking distance to lots of good food and yummy local products. Overall, the experience of staying in CJ Hotel for 2 nights was very good! We will definitely choose the same hotel if we visit Hualien again:)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJHotel122, General Manager at CJ Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear value guest,
It was our pleasure to receive your review about our hotel. We are glad that you fully enjoyed your accommodation along with everything else we offered. The staff will be very pleased with your feedback.
We will keep trying our best to provide the most pleasant experience for our guests.
Thank you again for the feedback. We all are looking forward to your next visit!

CJ Hotel
General Manager
Sandy Pan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We chose to stay at this hotel for 2 nights because of so many positive reviews. We definitely made a good choice, and enjoyed our stay very much. Room was nice, tidy and spacious enough with all necessary amenities, including 42 inches TV with a lot of cable channels. Unlike most hotels in Taiwan, this hotel locates in a quiet neighborhood away from noisy main streets. It is about 15 minutes by taxi from the main train station. It is close enough to the main shopping area of Hualien and other attractions, including the Nanbin night market (about 10-15 minutes by bike). This hotel offers many free things: Free breakfast (with several great selections) delivered to your room, free Wi-Fi (a little slow sometimes), free gourmet coffee/tea with snacks in lobby (you can check out the cute artworks display there), and FREE BIKE (oh yes, bike is a good way to see the city and the coastline). The service was excellent with super friendly and helpful staff. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Some tourists are loud. Ask for a quiet floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien hotels
1.1 mi away
Beauty Inn
Beauty Inn
#9 of 116 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
0.6 mi away
East Town 26
East Town 26
#2 of 116 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cullinan Hotel
Cullinan Hotel
#11 of 116 in Hualien
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hualien Charming City Hotel
0.2 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
0.4 mi away
Arsma Hotel
Arsma Hotel
#7 of 116 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CJ Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CJ Hotel

Address: No.122 Zhongfu Road, Hualien City, Hualien 970, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — CJ Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located near the city center and the Far East Department Store, 10 minutes from the railroad station and 25 minutes from the airport, near public transportation, and with plenty of free parking spaces. It is only 5 minutes walk to the city's center and main shopping district, and near the entrance of Na-Bin Park; in addition, the starting point for city's bicycle route is right outside the hotel. From our hotel, it is very convenient for taking a leisure walk or bicycle ride to see the beautiful city of Hualien and its coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your CJ Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
c Est Jeune Hotel
c Est Jeune Hualien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CJ Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.