We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Artistic/Designer Hotel With Super Friendly Services” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CJ Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added CJ Hotel to your Saves list
CJ Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.122 Jungfu Road, Hualien City, Hualien 970, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 107 Hotels in Hualien
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Artistic/Designer Hotel With Super Friendly Services”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We chose to stay at this hotel for 2 nights because of so many positive reviews. We definitely made a good choice, and enjoyed our stay very much. Room was nice, tidy and spacious enough with all necessary amenities, including 42 inches TV with a lot of cable channels. Unlike most hotels in Taiwan, this hotel locates in a quiet neighborhood away from noisy main streets. It is about 15 minutes by taxi from the main train station. It is close enough to the main shopping area of Hualien and other attractions, including the Nanbin night market (about 10-15 minutes by bike). This hotel offers many free things: Free breakfast (with several great selections) delivered to your room, free Wi-Fi (a little slow sometimes), free gourmet coffee/tea with snacks in lobby (you can check out the cute artworks display there), and FREE BIKE (oh yes, bike is a good way to see the city and the coastline). The service was excellent with super friendly and helpful staff. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Some tourists are loud. Ask for a quiet floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    40
    15
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
37
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
KL M'sia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

3 of us stayed at this hotel one night in december 2012. The room is rather small and it has 2 comfortable queen size bed with clean sheets and 4 pillows. complimentary coffee & chinese tea, adequate toiletries arranged neatly in bathroom drawer, small balcony, nice shower. Breakfast was served to our room at 7.30 sharp as we had requested when we arrived. We arrived at Hualien train station at 1am. We took a taxi to the hotel and cost NT$180.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I arrived in Hualien on a bike tour around Taiwan. We were wet and cold and it was late. The CJ Hotel was unfortunately booked, as it was a busy holiday weekend. Not only did the extremely kind staff offer us hot tea, they immediately began calling around to other hotels (i.e. their competition) to find us a room for the night. Having done so, one of the staff members, a very gracious and kind gentleman named Daniel, then got the hotel shuttle van, loaded in our wet dirty bikes and drove us over to the other hotel. We have traveled extensively and stayed in many different hotels, fancy and budget, but this is the finest service we have ever received. After our evening at the other hotel, we stayed one night at the CJ and really enjoyed it. Very comfortable, clean and a nice espresso machine in the lobby!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This hotel was nice. A friend and I stayed for three nights in July 2012. The room was spacious and clean, and after a couple weeks of dorms, hostels, and bamboo mats it felt luxurious. If you are used to fancy Western hotels then you might not be so impressed.
The staff were very friendly, and promptly sent someone to the train station to pick us up. The breakfast is included. It is nothing too fancy but gets you started for the day.
Other reviewers commented that this hotel is too far from the city center, but I didn't find it a problem and enjoyed walking around. Note that there is a large blue sign with "hotel c-j" written on it and an arrow pointing the way, located on a main street. We wandered around a lot coming back the first night, until realizing that this sign was there. Look out for that from the main road and then the hotel is easy to find.
They do have free bike rental, however, the bikes are not well maintained. I rode one with loose breaks. On the ride home, one brake completely came undone. Luckily I was able to slide it back in, but it really wasn't safe. I brought this to the attention of the man working there and he did seem concerned, so hopefully that bike will be taken out of rotation until fixed. So, if you check out a bike, ride around the block and inspect it before you take off on the bike path, and request another one if the brakes and gearshift aren't working.
There is wifi, but we had the same problem as others with getting a consistent signal in the room. It would come and go, and we had to sit in one spot. So if you need a consistent signal in your room for doing work, then maybe this wouldn't be a good choice. The wifi in the lobby worked well, though.
There is also a kettle and small fridge in the room, and some complimentary snacks in the lobby.
Overall I really enjoyed our stay there. At the time I booked it, it was the least expensive I could find in the area, and for two of us only slightly more than we would have paid for a hostel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed in C'est Jeune Hotel for 2 nights, during our trip to Hua Lien.

It is a fairly dated hotel in a quiet residential neighborhood. The hotel is around 10 mins brisk walk to the main street, where the shops selling local delights are.

The hotel has a small lobby with comfortable sofas. The staff were cheerful and helpful. The rooms' furnishings were fairly dated and we were given a key to open the door. The room was spacious, with 2 comfortable queen beds.

Guests can choose their preferred breakfast set every morning, and it'd be delivered to their rooms at their preferred time. I chose 9.00a.m, and the lady appeared on the dot each time. I was impressed! The breakfast were delicious on both mornings! I tried the sausage with sandwich set and fish burger set with black soya bean with barley - really nice.

For the price we paid, I felt the quality of the rooms and hotel could be better.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Despite a modern lobby, the furnishing of the rooms were dated and the room which we got (a family room) had non-existent wifi signals. While other reviewers had written that the location was good, but I found it too far from the city centre. The hotel was diagonally across town from the train station. At least 20-30 mins walk from the hotel. I think we overstayed in Hualien. After a day, there's really nothing else to do.

On a positive note, the staff was professional and welcoming. Breakfast is served to your room. Tip: The congee is the best item on the breakfast menu.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed in Hualien for two nights as we wanted to spend the day in Taroko. What strike us most about this hotel is it's beautiful design similar to the hotels in Europe.

Room:
- 2 single bed
- 2 pillows
- Kettle, hairdryer, fridge, TV

Amenities:
- Free Wifi
- Bicycles available (free)

Pros:
- Nice, quite environment
- Provide free pickup and drop-off from the railway station (10 mins drive)
- Has emergency evacuation instructions in the closet (for earthquakes)
- Free bicycles available

Cons:
- Location not easily accessible, except by taxi
- Have to walk a distance to access food / shops

Notes:
- Sometimes in the afternoon when the wind is strong, you can hear the howling of the wind in your room
- Check out the shops that sells "mochi", it's one of the specialty in Hualien
- Check out the shop named "Feng Li Wan" which sells super delicious pineapple biscuits!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CJ Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CJ Hotel

Address: No.122 Jungfu Road, Hualien City, Hualien 970, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — CJ Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located near the city center and the Far East Department Store, 10 minutes from the railroad station and 25 minutes from the airport, near public transportation, and with plenty of free parking spaces. It is only 5 minutes walk to the city's center and main shopping district, and near the entrance of Na-Bin Park; in addition, the starting point for city's bicycle route is right outside the hotel. From our hotel, it is very convenient for taking a leisure walk or bicycle ride to see the beautiful city of Hualien and its coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your CJ Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
c Est Jeune Hotel
c Est Jeune Hualien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CJ Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.