We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Night's Sleep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of CJ Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added CJ Hotel to your Saves list
CJ Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.122 Jungfu Road, Hualien City, Hualien 970, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 107 Hotels in Hualien
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“A Good Night's Sleep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

C'est Jeune is located about ten minutes (by cab) from the train station in a nondescript, quiet neighborhood of Hualien. The neighborhood has a few very small noodle shops and a larger Japanese restaurant, but dining choices in the area are quite limited

We asked, via an email sent several days in advance, for the hotel to collect us at the train station. When no one appeared we had to call the hotel. They promptly sent a cab. I asked the front desk attendant about this lapse and he candidly admitted, "We received your email, but no one read it."

This is a small hotel with only a handful of rooms on each floor. The guest rooms are also small, but quiet and comfortable. The housekeeping was adequate with the exception of the carpets, which were tracked, dirty and stained. There is complementary Internet service by means of a cable obtained from the front desk. The hotel has a no smoking policy, but the lobby, corridors and elevators were often filled with cigarette smoke.

The beds are quite comfortable, so in combination with a peaceful setting and good air conditioning we had a great night's sleep. Breakfast is cheerfully delivered to your room at a time of your choosing. There are four options to choose from. It's not a big breakfast, but it was surprisingly appetizing.

When I return to Hualien, I will probably select a hotel in a more central location, but the C'est Jeune is fine-- if they would only clean their carpets.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    40
    15
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
37
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

I chose this hotel after I read all the nice reviews. The hotel is located in the southern part of the city. Going to downtown is easier by bike, although it could be hot and humid. You may need to take a shower after the ride. It's hard to find a parking in the city, but not impossible if you are a comfort looking creature. The staff is very courteous. Some of free bikes need some maintenance. The breakfast is delivered to the room since there is no cafeteria. The food was good though. The hotel price is reasonable. I'd recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

This is a good reasonably priced hotel to stay in for one night while visiting taroko gorges in hualien. The lobby is cutely decorated. Rooms are spacious but the decor is a little old and we felt the carpet was reeking a slight stench. The location is ok, have to take a cab to the downtown area (costs about NT$ 100-NT$120) which has McDonalds/KFC and shopping streets. For breakfast they hand out a packed meal, which you can select from a small menu. Overall the hotel was fine.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
338 helpful votes 338 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

We booked this hotel on phone from Taipei, providing our arrival time by train, and were met at the Hualien train station by a placard holding taxi on arrival (compliments of the hotel). That personal attention to details continued for the rest of our stay of three days. Because of the nature of the hotel (mid-range) the services are limited, but whatever service is provided, is done with care and in the friendliest manner. The hotel rooms are distributed between two buildings (across the street from each other) and we chose to stay in the more modern one (bigger rooms in the older section, however). We found the rooms clean with a large flat screen TV, comfortable beds with pristine white linen and the bathrooms sufficiently supplied. The breakfast is delivered to the rooms at pre-arranged times, chosen the previous evening from a pre-set breakfast menu (no restaurant in the premises). The pre-set menu changes daily. However, we found that they were willing to make modifications to reflect the wishes of the guest. One member of our group wanted just a selection of fruits for example, and they did that without any hesitation or discomfit to us. Free tea/coffee making facility is provided at the lobby and the rooms and free unlimited WiFi internet access was another big plus.

The hotel, styled more like a boutique hotel, is located within the city area of Hualien and is an easy walk from most eating and shopping venues, including the two night markets. There is a clinic and pharmacy diagonally across from the hotel. In addition, the hotel provides free bikes of good quality and a city map so getting around Hualien is not a concern at all. We wanted to rent a car and again the hotel staff helped us to organize that as English can be limiting when dealing directly with the rental companies (mostly located around the railway station), and the car (near new) was delivered to us at the hotel.

In summary, one could not ask more from a mid-range hotel and the best aspect of our stay was the most friendly and accommodating staff. Our stay at C’est Juene certainly added to our positive view of Hualien and the surrounds (Taroko Gorge, hot springs, etc.), and we would like to compliment the staff via this forum for their professionalism and courtesy.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

The lobby of the C'est Jeune Hotel reminded me of The Opposite House in Beijing, with quirky, over-size, cartoonish sculptures on display and big, comfy sofas. The check-in staff were helpful and friendly, the room clean and warm, the price very reasonable. The faux flowers in the window pots were a nice touch, and the hotel's branding as anovel boutique is distinct.

Breakfast wasn't great, however, - you select from a rather random six items on a sheet at check in, and a tray is brought to your room at the proposed hour. The milk tea was good, but the absence of coffee from the list of choices was a disappointment . The vegetarian sandwich was odd. A yam and alfalfa club? I wouldn't normally advocate going to Starbucks, but in this case breakfast there would be better, I feel.

We stayed one night on our way to Taroko and C'est Jeune proved more than adequate. The hotel pick up service at the train station stops at 7pm, but our taxi driver had no problem finding the place at 11pm.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

We (myself, husband and our children 24 & 26) spent one night at the C'est Jeune Hotel because of previous reviews on Trip Advisor. It is a very nice boutique hotel with very good service and comfortable rooms. The beds were pretty comfortable by western standards and very comfortable by Asian standards. The location, as far as neighborhoods are concerned, was conveniently located but just on the edge of a nicer area. They own the building across the street so there is free covered parking. As mentioned in other reviews, your pre-selected breakfast is delivered to your room at your chosen time. The food was okay but somewhat cold. I would definitely stay here again any time that I am in Hualien.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

This hotel was renovated about three years ago, and they have done a good job of maintaining it. Our room was spotless, the desk had all of our reservation information ready, and they were helpful about guiding us to a restaurant nearby.
I speak no Chinese, and hardly anyone in Hualien speaks English, so language is often a problem, but it wasn't a problem at this hotel.
Their included breakfast does not start until 7:30, but since our train was leaving at 7:20, the desk manager arranged to have our breakfast delivered at 6:00 am.
There is no restaurant here, and finding a restaurant that serves Western food is a problem.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CJ Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CJ Hotel

Address: No.122 Jungfu Road, Hualien City, Hualien 970, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — CJ Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located near the city center and the Far East Department Store, 10 minutes from the railroad station and 25 minutes from the airport, near public transportation, and with plenty of free parking spaces. It is only 5 minutes walk to the city's center and main shopping district, and near the entrance of Na-Bin Park; in addition, the starting point for city's bicycle route is right outside the hotel. From our hotel, it is very convenient for taking a leisure walk or bicycle ride to see the beautiful city of Hualien and its coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, AsiaRooms, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your CJ Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
c Est Jeune Hotel
c Est Jeune Hualien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CJ Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.