We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for visiting the Gorge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leader Village Taroko

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Leader Village Taroko to your Saves list
Leader Village Taroko
No.231-1 Fushih Village, Sioulin Town, Hualien 972, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 107 Hotels in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 114 Reviews
Paris, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place for visiting the Gorge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here for two nights to visit Taroko Gorge. The setting is lovely, right in the mountains of Taroko Gorge, the views are amazing. The grounds of the village are well maintained and there are loads of butterflies in the gardens.
The rooms are wooden cabins. they are nice and spacious with all of the amenities of a hotel room. The price we paid included dinner, which was really good, a set menu of local food the first night and a buffet on the second, breakfast, which was also good and an afternoon tea wihich we could have when we wanted.
The staff were very nice and friendly. We booked at the evry last minute (from another hotel) and they arranged for us to be picked up from near by. Its a great place to visit the gorge from. They offer organised tours (a taxi driver that takes you on a set itinerary) we took one and it went very well. They also helped us organise our transport back to the station for an early train when we left. we were very pleased with or stay.
One thing which is a slight shame is that the shows put on b the staff to present the culture and traditions of the local people is only in chinese. We watched it anyway and still enjoyed it but it would have been nice to understand more. They do hand out a piece of paper in English with a few points to help out the people who don't speak chinese, but the show is obviously goes onto a lot more detail. We still enjoyed the music and dancing!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    40
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
40
32
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel is located in the mountains of the Taroko Gorge amid stunning scenery. It is off the beaten track, but if you book in advance, they will pick you up from the station in Hualien (about one hour away) and drop you there when you leave for TWD 800 total. The buildings are all wood, the cuisine is the mountain food of the local indigenous people, who give their name to the gorge. It's a good base for visiting the Gorge, all temples and mountains.
The area is popular with Taiwanese and Chinese visitors too, and can get pretty crowded at times. You have to wear a hard hat (which you rent at various locations in the area) because of rockfalls, and there are frequent signs with dire warnings about venomous snakes, giant hornets and wild cattle, all allegedly very dangerous. I did a fair bit of walking in the area (especially the delightful Liu Shui trail) without seeing any of these beasts, so the dangers may be exaggerated.
The evening show put on by the indigenous youngsters who work in the hotel is equally delightful, with a little audience participation, although if you don't speak Chinese few concessions are made on evenings when there are no other non-Asian visitors.
Accommodation is well appointed and comfortable rather than luxurious. A problem with my reservation, made by phone from the tourist office in the station in Taipei, which the hotel was reluctant to honour for the agreed two nights, was fairly quickly resolved in my favour after arrival.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Location in park is great. Pickup from train was prompt. The views and location are amazing. Our cabin was tidy, comfortable and fairly insect free (all very reasonable for a mountain cabin).

We also booked a car and driver through the hotel to show us around the gorge the next day. The lady who drove us around was nice. Her car a was a bit old, but for a day of sights it worked. Our driver didn't speak english. If this is important to you hire a guide too I guess.

That said, this is not budget accommodation, so I was let down by a few things:

- The food is not so good. We had really salty ribs, bland soup, bamboo rice, slimy salad. The roasted mountain yam was good. Basically the food and dining hall reminded me of being 15 again at camp but with worse food. (At least camp had mac and cheese and taco night :)

- The performance they do each night just ruins the peace and quiet for 2-hours. Unless dance music and subwoofers have a strong connection to the indigenous people of Taiwan, I don't get it.

- Again Taiwan, the mainland tourists are challenging. We were woken up at 6am by a Chinese tour group posing for photos on our porch talking at full volume. For gods sake.

- Breakfast. Again, not so good. Braised cabbage, eggs and corn?, stale cereal.

###

So you want to visit the gorge? Stay here. Don't expect peace and quiet, but it could happen. If you're a picky eater load up on snacks either in Taipei or at the 711 train station - beer, ramen, egg or dumplings in a bag (yummy! seriously) - and you're good to go. This is what I did and it saved us from being hungry. I've learned my lesson from staying at lots of places like this - bring your own food and you'll be happy.

Room Tip: They put us right by the main lodge. To get more peace and quiet ask for something further away. Tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The two outstanding positive things about this 'aboriginal' cottage hotel in the Taroko Gorge are the location (especially nice on a clear sunny morning) and the wild pig BBQ. Makes you feel at home with Asterix, though the locals are from among the Taiwan aboriginals rather than from Gaul.
The cottages are nice enough, but not very comfortable with their low beds and practically no sitting possibility other than a cushion on the floor and tiny chairs on the veranda. When the place is full, people tend to hang out in groups outside the cottages, which can get a little noisy and can drag on. The food is very nice and the staff too.
There are so called trails which turn out to be disappointingly short and tame. Lots of nice butterflies though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Situated deep in the Taroko gorge, this group of wood cabins will remind Canadians of times on vacation (I imagine). We arrived quite late in the evening and had a lovely meal, served on a hot stone. We then watched the last part of the cultural show, which was entertaining although we didn't understand any of it! The accommodation is comfortable - thick mattresses on a slightly raised wooden floor. There was a good choice of western and Asian food at the breakfast buffet. We had fantastic weather - bright sun - but I guess if it was raining heavily, then getting to the cabins would be a wet experience (though umbrellas are provided).

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Most interesting stay in Taiwan. Especially that I did not have any aboriginal encounter (likely need to dwell far into the valley for that). That hotel filled this deficit. It was a nice traditional village set in a beautiful flat area surrounded by mountains. You can hear your echo when you shout and the view is even better with the rain. They specialise in wild boar. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Included show after the dinner- very humorous.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We arrived, after a fantastic drive from Sun Moon Lake, to a very warm welcome.
It has a beautiful setting in the Gorge, lovely views, friendly helpful staff. We went to a cultural show after a lovely dinner, thoroughly enjoying the dancing, singing and information.
It is a great place to stay, and it is wonderful to know that the place is run by the original people of that area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leader Village Taroko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leader Village Taroko

Address: No.231-1 Fushih Village, Sioulin Town, Hualien 972, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hualien
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Leader Village Taroko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leader Village Taroko Hualien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leader Village Taroko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.