We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come for the view and location, not the food.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Leader Village Taroko

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Leader Village Taroko to your Saves list
Leader Village Taroko
No.231-1 Fushih Village, Sioulin Town, Hualien 972, Taiwan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 120 Hotels in Hualien
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Come for the view and location, not the food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Location in park is great. Pickup from train was prompt. The views and location are amazing. Our cabin was tidy, comfortable and fairly insect free (all very reasonable for a mountain cabin).

We also booked a car and driver through the hotel to show us around the gorge the next day. The lady who drove us around was nice. Her car a was a bit old, but for a day of sights it worked. Our driver didn't speak english. If this is important to you hire a guide too I guess.

That said, this is not budget accommodation, so I was let down by a few things:

- The food is not so good. We had really salty ribs, bland soup, bamboo rice, slimy salad. The roasted mountain yam was good. Basically the food and dining hall reminded me of being 15 again at camp but with worse food. (At least camp had mac and cheese and taco night :)

- The performance they do each night just ruins the peace and quiet for 2-hours. Unless dance music and subwoofers have a strong connection to the indigenous people of Taiwan, I don't get it.

- Again Taiwan, the mainland tourists are challenging. We were woken up at 6am by a Chinese tour group posing for photos on our porch talking at full volume. For gods sake.

- Breakfast. Again, not so good. Braised cabbage, eggs and corn?, stale cereal.

###

So you want to visit the gorge? Stay here. Don't expect peace and quiet, but it could happen. If you're a picky eater load up on snacks either in Taipei or at the 711 train station - beer, ramen, egg or dumplings in a bag (yummy! seriously) - and you're good to go. This is what I did and it saved us from being hungry. I've learned my lesson from staying at lots of places like this - bring your own food and you'll be happy.

Room Tip: They put us right by the main lodge. To get more peace and quiet ask for something further away. Tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stoneman60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
185 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The two outstanding positive things about this 'aboriginal' cottage hotel in the Taroko Gorge are the location (especially nice on a clear sunny morning) and the wild pig BBQ. Makes you feel at home with Asterix, though the locals are from among the Taiwan aboriginals rather than from Gaul.
The cottages are nice enough, but not very comfortable with their low beds and practically no sitting possibility other than a cushion on the floor and tiny chairs on the veranda. When the place is full, people tend to hang out in groups outside the cottages, which can get a little noisy and can drag on. The food is very nice and the staff too.
There are so called trails which turn out to be disappointingly short and tame. Lots of nice butterflies though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helmut S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Situated deep in the Taroko gorge, this group of wood cabins will remind Canadians of times on vacation (I imagine). We arrived quite late in the evening and had a lovely meal, served on a hot stone. We then watched the last part of the cultural show, which was entertaining although we didn't understand any of it! The accommodation is comfortable - thick mattresses on a slightly raised wooden floor. There was a good choice of western and Asian food at the breakfast buffet. We had fantastic weather - bright sun - but I guess if it was raining heavily, then getting to the cabins would be a wet experience (though umbrellas are provided).

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MarionBurkimsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Most interesting stay in Taiwan. Especially that I did not have any aboriginal encounter (likely need to dwell far into the valley for that). That hotel filled this deficit. It was a nice traditional village set in a beautiful flat area surrounded by mountains. You can hear your echo when you shout and the view is even better with the rain. They specialise in wild boar. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Included show after the dinner- very humorous.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis-lck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We arrived, after a fantastic drive from Sun Moon Lake, to a very warm welcome.
It has a beautiful setting in the Gorge, lovely views, friendly helpful staff. We went to a cultural show after a lovely dinner, thoroughly enjoying the dancing, singing and information.
It is a great place to stay, and it is wonderful to know that the place is run by the original people of that area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pogpog51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

A brilliant property! Easily the best place to stay in the park and a reasonable price too. Nestled deep in Taroko Gorge on a small clearing. The confortable wooden cabins are well designed and contain all the usual amenities. What makes this place amazing is the location, the friendly, helpful staff, and the feast of a dinner every evening. It was a seriously big spread they put on! The "cultural show" was entertaining, if a little bit kitsch. This was a perfect base for exploring Taroko, and a welcome escape from the craziness of Taipei.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dingo_woop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Location is excellent, giving breathtaking views over the whole scenic area the Taroko Gorge is famous for. The bungalows are tidy and nicely decorated, with each one having a tiny porch, which invites to have a cold beer after some hot summer walks during the day. Staff is very friendly.

The food was good and average, however, the loction, uniqueness and surroundings are the reasons why one is staying at this marvelous place. Only negative experience was the 2 hour party the staff gave each of our two evenings to guests and tourists, at blasting volume, in the middle and around all the bungalows. The fact that the songs and explanations (at evenly decibels) were in local language did not help us to enjoy the evenings.

However, definitely a very special place, which we recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frogs_land
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien hotels
4.9 mi away
Silks Place Taroko
Silks Place Taroko
#4 of 120 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 791 reviews
13.7 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
12.8 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Lealea Garden Hotels - Hualien
12.8 mi away
Beauty Inn
Beauty Inn
#14 of 120 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
#28 of 120 in Hualien
4.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leader Village Taroko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leader Village Taroko

Address: No.231-1 Fushih Village, Sioulin Town, Hualien 972, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hualien
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Leader Village Taroko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leader Village Taroko Hualien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing