We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay in the Taroko gorge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leader Village Taroko

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Leader Village Taroko to your Saves list
Leader Village Taroko
No.231-1 Fushih Village, Sioulin Town, Hualien 972, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 107 Hotels in Hualien
Netherlands
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay in the Taroko gorge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

N24°10'12.18" E121°34'17.31" We slept for two nights in August 2011 in a stand-alone aboriginal-style wood cabin (no. A15) with old-time porch and airco on a high meadow surrounded by postcard-perfect scenery and hundreds of endemic butterflies. The Leader Village Taroko, near Swallow Grotto in the Taroko Gorge, is a very good place to visit the gorge. They offer many walks in the gorge and take care of transportation to and from the trails. Their transportation service picked us up for NT$100 from Xincheng/Hsincheng train station. They offer nightly aboriginal musical performances, free Wi-Fi (poor reception) and a buffet restaurant on site for breakfast and dinner. Although there isn’t any restaurant near by, the food in the restaurant (some aboriginal) is good. The bungalow itself has mattresses on the floor (Japanese feeling) and a good rain shower.
Our hero became Jonathan, the manager. After Taroko gorge we had a reservation in Wuling Farm, but didn’t find public transport after Tayuling or Lishan. Jonathan took up this challenge and came up with several solutions after intense telephone calls. Not only did he find a taxi to take us for NT$5000 to Wuling Farm (exceptional beautiful 8 hour taxi ride), but arranged the next journey from Wuling Farm to Sun Moon Lake in coproduction with the reception staff at Wuling Farm. Jonathan is our hero. He made our attempt to travel to the centre of the island (highway 8, 7, 14, 21 and 18) possible. Many thanks Jonathan!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    40
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
40
32
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

absolutely amazing view - try your very best to get up early enough to catch the sunrise and the lovely lovely fresh air. the rooms are basic and if u are full-on westerner i can't imagine u liking the food served as it's really local food (nice food though!)

suggest going there for the novelty factor, stay 2 days max. if i am going to hualin again will stay in minsu.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

The views from this location was breathtaking and if you do not have many days to explore Tarako Gorge, a nights stay at this hotel will allow you to appreciate the beauty of this beautiful National park. If only the rooms were cleaner and the food more appetizing.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

We booked Leader Village Taroko online without much information and having never been to Taiwan before. We stayed for 2 nights and believe this is the best place to stay to experience Taroko National Park. The location is fabulous and so relaxing - we really didn't want to leave. The experience was a bit different - whilst still enjoying the 'luxuries' you can learn about the surrounding area and people that call Taroko home. The atmosphere in the village was very relaxed and the staff were so friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. We would definately recommend this hotel to others and would come back again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

We ended up at the Leader Village on a whim, and I'm extremely glad that we did. The cabins were minimalist, with mattresses on the floor, a small tea table, and a beautiful bathroom. The scenery was spectacular, we woke up early to meditate and watch the sunrise. This is the kind of place that inspires you to slow down, contemplate the meaning of life, and embrace a more simple and deliberate existence. It was even a little romantic, in a sleep-on-separate-mattresses kind of way. I noticed another reviewer expressed disappointment with the food, but I couldn't disagree more; the dinner, in particular, was one of the best meals in memory. If I ever opened a hotel for some reason, I would model it on this one.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiwan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

Everything was better than I expected. I was worried it would be very rustic but everything was clean and the surroundings are very pretty. The main cabin room is basic - just mattresses laying on the floor based on the number of beds you need - flat screen TV set included. The bathroom was small but clean - I was just happy with hot water and a working toilet. They offered your basic toiletries -toothbrushes, etc. The kids had a blast jumping from bed to bed and playing outside for hours. It really is a beautiful area. You can hike around the area. The "lodge" is cute - check-in and meals are here. The dinners were pretty good decent - definitely Asian (rice is served in a bamboo rod). The breakfast was too Asian for my Western standards - but there were scrambled eggs (a bit watery) and toast. The "porridge" is basically rice in water. The aboriginal show was pathetic so don't bother - or sit in the back so you can sneak out early. There were about 12 unhappy girls from about 5-15 years dancing. Unfortunately at the end the girls danced provocatively to a Lady Gaga tune not appropriate for young teens. Overall, I highly recommend this place. We hired Tiffany as a local guide. Her name is available on TripAdvisor. We were awaken from our sleep by an earthquake which is very common in this area. No problems though.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

The rooms are actually a bit better than the photographs. There's a tribal touch everywhere reflective of the indigenous people living in the area and it fits well with the location.
Food is excellent. As with elsewhere in Taiwan, fish is much better. They have set menus but there is a limited a la carte too and portions are good. Service is really good and prompt. Staff was deligent and remembered every little thing you ask for; you don't have to ask again the next time.
The best part is that this is right inside the park surrounded by mountains.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leader Village Taroko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leader Village Taroko

Address: No.231-1 Fushih Village, Sioulin Town, Hualien 972, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hualien
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Leader Village Taroko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leader Village Taroko Hualien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leader Village Taroko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.