We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable, perfect for family with young kids!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Promisedland Resort & Lagoon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Promisedland Resort & Lagoon to your Saves list
Promisedland Resort & Lagoon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Lisiang Road, Shoufong Town, Hualien 974, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 106 Hotels in Hualien
Naha, Japan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable, perfect for family with young kids!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Promisedland on our spring break visit to Taiwan. My husband was unable to make this trip with us, so I made the trek with my two young children (ages 4 & 6). When looking up the distance of this hotel from Tayouan International, I was nervous and about the transfers and time involved in getting here. Let me say, the travel time was worth it for us. From our arrival in Tayouan, the travel time to get to Promisedland was about 6 hours with transfers (would have been shorter but we stopped for lunch in Taipei). We took a bus to Taipei main, then took the train to Hualien, then a taxi to the resort. The transportation to get here was very cheap compared to other places we have traveled like New york City or Washington DC.

As other people have mentioned, this resort is "away" from it all, which was perfect for us. We did not want to be in the city, and were looking for a resort that we wouldnt get bored at. There is a shuttle bus to and from Haualien city, which takes about 30 minutes. A cab ride is a out $16 USD. When you take the shuttle in, you can purchase tours there at the train station. We appreciated being able to travel into the hustle and bustle of the city and then retreat back to Promisedland to relax in quiet in the afternoon!

It was very beautiful, quiet, and there were lots of things that my kids enjoyed at the resort. They were able to feed the Coi, ducks, horses. We enjoyed walking around outside in the beautiful surroundings. There was an entertainment tent where a bouncy house was blown up in the afternoon for the kids to play on, and entertainment shows (Flamenco dancers) in the evening. Food was very good, but as other people have mentioned, expensive. For one adult, dinner at the buffet will run you about $28 USD, half that amount for lunch. My kids both ate free, so it wasnt bad for us! Breakfast at the buffet was free and delicious.

In April, the resort seemed a little deserted, but that is just what we prefer! The room was spacious and beautiful, each room overlooks a lagoon/pool area. Some of the pools were closed during our visit, but the main pool and and the kids playground area pool was open. It was overcast, but my kids swam anyway and had a wonderful time. The kids pool was perfect for us, it had a water playground in the middle, and was only a few feet deep all the way across. If you are looking for a quiet getaway with the option to do a little sight seeing this is a great place to do it. The setting near the mountains is beautiful.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plcresort, 公關經理 at Promisedland Resort & Lagoon, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear guest
Thanks for your comment. We’re glad that you like our service. Create a resort that kid can play heartily and happy is the purpose of Promisedland, so we’re gratifying to see your comment. In the near future, We will launch more and more event for child and sincerely invite you. If you need a destination for vacation, we’ll get ready for you anytime. By the way, if you are Interested,you can get hot news and child event on our facebook and website. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    34
    10
    3
    11
See reviews for
56
14
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Amazing service. Our daughter celebrated he 8 th birthday at Promisedland. They surprised her with a cake and serenaded her in the restaurant. On top of that, room was great. Clean and spacious. Pools were great for kids plus horses, dancing, jumping castle and great food! Our best Taiwan vacation in 4 years on island.

Room Tip: For family of 5, ask for hide a bed couch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plcresort, 公關經理 at Promisedland Resort & Lagoon, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear bangkokjt
Thanks for your comment. We’re glad that you like our service. We will continue effort and progress for your coming next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I have never written a review before, but I feel I must do it for this place.

We booked 3 rooms, each with a penthouse/loft that has a second queen bed for a big family trip. This hotel touts that it is on the Tripadvisor's world top 100 list.

If this place is in the top 100, I don't want to know what #101 is like.

Check in this evening (Saturday) and went to buffet dinner and guess what, they asked us to sit downstairs and go up to the 2nd floor to get our food and come back down because the dinning room is full. This is despite we have 8 kids (age 6~13) in our group and the danger of having kids going up and down the stairs with food.

When they finally moved us upstairs, the situation gets comical. They don't have enough glasses for all of the diners to get something to drink. When we ask them, we were told they were drying the glasses and we should just wait.

Then when we get back to our room the A/C in the loft/penthouse went dead at 10:00PM and the room heated up to at least 32 degree C. Hotel sent an engineer and after 45 minutes of futility, gave up and offered to move to another room in a different building, away from our families in the other 2 rooms.

We told them that we are all unpacked for the 3-day stay and kids are already sleeping downstairs (the A/C downstairs worked fine); that we would be willing to pay for a smaller room till the upstairs A/C is fixed the next day. We were told we have to pay the full-retail weekend rate ($8200NTD) for another room or they can give us a fan to blow cold air upstairs if we don't want to change room.

I am writing this review in a hot, stuffy room because I can't sleep.

I know I must adjust my expectation based on the situation. I have traveled and stay in hotels all over the world at both end of budget, and I have never had worst experience than this one.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plcresort, 公關經理 at Promisedland Resort & Lagoon, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Mr. Peter C
Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We apologize for any inconvenience caused and attach great importance to the issue. Promisedland will correct deficiencies and improve the service quality, please give us a opportunity to prove and redeem. Thanks for your comment again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I have stayed in 5 or 6 hotels in Hualien and this is truly the best getaway in Hualien. The resort is quite far from the downtown area and other scenery spots, but the resort itself is a wonderful sight-seeing place. It's worthy the ride to stop by at least 1 or 2 nights and enjoy the canal tour, swimming pool, hot spring spa, magic show and eco zoo next to the resort.

[Room]

Every room has canal view balcony, very pretty. The theme of the architecture seems to be a well mixture of Catalonian art and Taiwanese pattern. The room and bathroom is spacious and exotic.

[Amenities]

We got welcome snack in the room, I liked the mini-sized honey cake a lot and bought more as souvenir before I left. They had complimentary bottled water, bath products, bath salt, hairdryer, slippers and safety.

[Facility]

My family enjoyed the hot spring with two different temperature in different pools. We also had a free eco ride of canal tour for booking the room, and it was very pleasant. Along the canal was botanical garden, we felt get lost in Garden of Eden.

[Food]

The buffet has a plenty of cuisine to choose from and they taste not bad, I really miss some taiwanese cuisine such as fried radish cake with soy sauce and pork rib soup.

[Service]

As I mentioned earlier, the resort was kinda far away from everything, therefore they offer free shuttle service from the Hualien train station. Just make reservation ahead of time and they also have timetable for the shuttle van online.


Overall, it's a hidden gem in east coast of Taiwan!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is one of the best holiday resorts in Hualien. This resort covers a very large area and you may need to book a golf cart to move around your luggage in case your mansion is far away from the entrance/lobby. The resort adopted a tropical feel design with a stream running through the resort. The room is very spacious and clean, in particular the bathroom is very large. Staff are helpful and attentive. While there are many cheaper accommodation options in Hualien, one reason we took this resort is that it offers package for high speed train ticket from Taipei. This saved us time and efforts in booking tickets online (very difficult for express train). The resort also provides shuttle bus between the resort and the Hualien railway station. Moreover, the breakfast is good and up to the standard.

This resort is a bit far away from the city center so you will need to have a car/taxi reserved to travel between the resort and Hualien city for dining and shopping. Note that the Chinese restaurant inside the resort is just average and a bit expensive.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
issac t, 公關經理 at Promisedland Resort & Lagoon, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Caveman Lee
We appreciate give us excellent review. It was our pleasure and honor to have you visited our resort. About Chinese restaurant review ,we will improving direction. All of our staffs will be more than happy to assist you anytime.

With regards,
Warm greeting from Promisedland Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

What a surprise it was to find this resort in it's pristine setting in Hualian. The facilities are well maintained and the rooms are clean and well appointed. We received excellent service from all of the staff, who were friendly and helpful, and the resort has a nice mix of pools and activities to keep entertained.

What we enjoyed most was it's surroundings, which we were able to enjoy on foot and on rented bicycles. It is located in a beautiful valley surrounded by one of the prettiest and most pristine agricultural regions I've ever seen.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
issac t, 公關經理 at Promisedland Resort & Lagoon, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Kan C
Your review indeed amazed us ! It was our pleasure and honor to have you visited our resort. All of our staffs will be more than happy to assist you anytime.

With regards,
Warm greeting from Promisedland Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This resort is hidden within the rift valley 30 minutes south of Hualien. They have a free shuttle to transport you from either the airport or the train station hourly, otherwise, trips into town by taxi runs around NT$700.

The hotel is styled as an eclectic European resort, with Italian statues mixed with Spanish architecture. Guests get complimentary boat ride around the compound as well as combo Taiwanese and Western breakfast. There's also an adjoining Nature Park operated by the same owner, with bamboo boat ride, pony ride, archery, and paddle boat and others.

Pricing for meals outside of breakfast seem to be on the high side. And given the resort's location, you really don't have any other alternative. Other cons: After a day, there's limited amount of activities to fill your day. In addition, owner seems to be pushing a Christian agenda.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Promisedland Resort & Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promisedland Resort & Lagoon

Address: No.1 Lisiang Road, Shoufong Town, Hualien 974, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Hualien
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Promisedland Resort & Lagoon 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is an artwork of leading architects from the world’s top resort designing firm W A T&G.The whole place is saturated with fantasy inspired by Spanish architect,Antoni Gaudi,in the form of winding arches with sprouting Babylon,Byzantine , and Moorish motifs.Sporadic usages of mosaic with astute Andalusia homeland accent add playful character to the building hapes.As if in a breathtaking show of titanic pulse,layers of mountain ridges wind their way into the distant horizon resembling tumbling tides in the nearby Pacific Ocean .Next to the spectacular feat of nature also loom traces of exotic domes ,arches,hallways,columns,and other civic forms.Humanity awaits eventful encounter upon your arrival in this amazing journey to Promised Land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Promisedland Resort & Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Promised Land Hotel Hualien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Promisedland Resort & Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.