We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort and surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Promisedland Resort & Lagoon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Promisedland Resort & Lagoon to your Saves list
Promisedland Resort & Lagoon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Lisiang Road, Shoufong Town, Hualien 974, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 103 Hotels in Hualien
Orange, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort and surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I have stayed in 5 or 6 hotels in Hualien and this is truly the best getaway in Hualien. The resort is quite far from the downtown area and other scenery spots, but the resort itself is a wonderful sight-seeing place. It's worthy the ride to stop by at least 1 or 2 nights and enjoy the canal tour, swimming pool, hot spring spa, magic show and eco zoo next to the resort.

[Room]

Every room has canal view balcony, very pretty. The theme of the architecture seems to be a well mixture of Catalonian art and Taiwanese pattern. The room and bathroom is spacious and exotic.

[Amenities]

We got welcome snack in the room, I liked the mini-sized honey cake a lot and bought more as souvenir before I left. They had complimentary bottled water, bath products, bath salt, hairdryer, slippers and safety.

[Facility]

My family enjoyed the hot spring with two different temperature in different pools. We also had a free eco ride of canal tour for booking the room, and it was very pleasant. Along the canal was botanical garden, we felt get lost in Garden of Eden.

[Food]

The buffet has a plenty of cuisine to choose from and they taste not bad, I really miss some taiwanese cuisine such as fried radish cake with soy sauce and pork rib soup.

[Service]

As I mentioned earlier, the resort was kinda far away from everything, therefore they offer free shuttle service from the Hualien train station. Just make reservation ahead of time and they also have timetable for the shuttle van online.


Overall, it's a hidden gem in east coast of Taiwan!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    33
    8
    2
    11
See reviews for
54
12
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is one of the best holiday resorts in Hualien. This resort covers a very large area and you may need to book a golf cart to move around your luggage in case your mansion is far away from the entrance/lobby. The resort adopted a tropical feel design with a stream running through the resort. The room is very spacious and clean, in particular the bathroom is very large. Staff are helpful and attentive. While there are many cheaper accommodation options in Hualien, one reason we took this resort is that it offers package for high speed train ticket from Taipei. This saved us time and efforts in booking tickets online (very difficult for express train). The resort also provides shuttle bus between the resort and the Hualien railway station. Moreover, the breakfast is good and up to the standard.

This resort is a bit far away from the city center so you will need to have a car/taxi reserved to travel between the resort and Hualien city for dining and shopping. Note that the Chinese restaurant inside the resort is just average and a bit expensive.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
issac t, 公關經理 at Promisedland Resort & Lagoon, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Caveman Lee
We appreciate give us excellent review. It was our pleasure and honor to have you visited our resort. About Chinese restaurant review ,we will improving direction. All of our staffs will be more than happy to assist you anytime.

With regards,
Warm greeting from Promisedland Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

What a surprise it was to find this resort in it's pristine setting in Hualian. The facilities are well maintained and the rooms are clean and well appointed. We received excellent service from all of the staff, who were friendly and helpful, and the resort has a nice mix of pools and activities to keep entertained.

What we enjoyed most was it's surroundings, which we were able to enjoy on foot and on rented bicycles. It is located in a beautiful valley surrounded by one of the prettiest and most pristine agricultural regions I've ever seen.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
issac t, 公關經理 at Promisedland Resort & Lagoon, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Kan C
Your review indeed amazed us ! It was our pleasure and honor to have you visited our resort. All of our staffs will be more than happy to assist you anytime.

With regards,
Warm greeting from Promisedland Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This resort is hidden within the rift valley 30 minutes south of Hualien. They have a free shuttle to transport you from either the airport or the train station hourly, otherwise, trips into town by taxi runs around NT$700.

The hotel is styled as an eclectic European resort, with Italian statues mixed with Spanish architecture. Guests get complimentary boat ride around the compound as well as combo Taiwanese and Western breakfast. There's also an adjoining Nature Park operated by the same owner, with bamboo boat ride, pony ride, archery, and paddle boat and others.

Pricing for meals outside of breakfast seem to be on the high side. And given the resort's location, you really don't have any other alternative. Other cons: After a day, there's limited amount of activities to fill your day. In addition, owner seems to be pushing a Christian agenda.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiwan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The staffs there are so wonderful. I like to say the rezort has best resources - their staffs. The staffs are all enthusiasm to serve the hotel guests. They greeted us sincerely & truly care our feeling a lot. I am quite amazing how does the management can make their staffs work so hard to serve customers. I have been travled many countries and I can say the hotel is definitely be award top 100 resort in the world. This is my 2nd time visited this resort and I am so touch by their efforts to maintain such big land. I like to say thank you to those staffs who stationed at lobby area to offer extra hands to search my 12 year old boy while we couldnt locate him. Also like to thank the staff who dedicated a driver to send my 3 year old daughter to see Dr all the way without extra charge. When I was panic, I can feel they were also worried and eager to help us. I am so touch with your service and my family all had great time there. By the way, I also stayed at 2 nights at hotel bayview ranked #1 in hua lian city. I just like to say it is hard to compare apple and orange because they are targeted different customers. For famiky with kids like me, promised land resort is truly number one choice.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms near lobby but it may quite hard due to its popularity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
issac t, 公關經理 at Promisedland Resort & Lagoon, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Axycl
We appreciate your visiting and praised our staff. It was our pleasure and honor to have you visited our resort. If there is any needs of our services in the future, please feel free to contact with us anytime. All of our staffs will be more than happy to assist you anytime.
With regards,
Warm greeting from Promisedland Resor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I was invited to a conference being held at this resort hotel. Took a twin to room to share with a colleague at the meeting. Upon arrival, nice reception area and efficient service, followed by golf cart ride to our room, although it was not far away. Room large, spacious and well equipped. Views from the windows beautiful, various lagoon and plantation sights. No minibar, but there was a fridge and a call to reception produced beer to stock it (including top up at 3am). Aircon very effective. Wifi fine (free) but bit slow.

Restaurant selection fairly limited (one chinese one varied with some western), snacks and drinks also from pool bar. Being typically Taiwanese no actual bar at night, but the western type restaurant happy to serve drinks, closing at midnight.

Conference facilities very comfortable, main room had tables so easy to take notes/use lap top (good wifi) etc...

No time to venture out so can not comment on general location, but for this 3-night stay was perfect!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
issac t, Public Relations Manager at Promisedland Resort & Lagoon, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Mr. ProfJackman
We appreciate your visiting and interests in Promisedland Resort. It was our pleasure and honor to have you visited our resort. If there is any needs of our services in the future, please feel free to contact with us anytime. All of our staffs will be more than happy to assist you anytime.

With regards,
Warm greeting from Promisedland Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have been in Taiwan many times for business trip, but this summer we had decided to take a week for family vacation to Taiwan. After a little investigating, it seemed clear that the place to stay was the Promisedland Resort, located in Hualien, eastern Taiwan, it offers amazing view of lagoon, and the most wonderful staff I have ever met there.
The Resort in Hualien exceeded all my expectations. It was like the perfect vacation you never even imagined, you can do whatever you want such as boat ride, SPA program, horse-back riding, bicycle tour, DIY stone-oven bread baking class, aboriginal bamboo rafting, feeding animal etc… On our first few walks to the hotel night show, we were usually picked up by a cart and told to call next time.
I finally realized that the Promisedland Resort had selected as best world 100 Hotel and Resort by the Images Publishing group. Wow! I am so happy I have been there, And I look forward to returning soon. See again! Promisedland Resort!!

Room Tip: Every guest room has view of lagoon, I would recommend guest room at cottage one or two, peaceful ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Promisedland Resort & Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promisedland Resort & Lagoon

Address: No.1 Lisiang Road, Shoufong Town, Hualien 974, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Hualien
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hualien
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Promisedland Resort & Lagoon 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is an artwork of leading architects from the world’s top resort designing firm W A T&G.The whole place is saturated with fantasy inspired by Spanish architect,Antoni Gaudi,in the form of winding arches with sprouting Babylon,Byzantine , and Moorish motifs.Sporadic usages of mosaic with astute Andalusia homeland accent add playful character to the building hapes.As if in a breathtaking show of titanic pulse,layers of mountain ridges wind their way into the distant horizon resembling tumbling tides in the nearby Pacific Ocean .Next to the spectacular feat of nature also loom traces of exotic domes ,arches,hallways,columns,and other civic forms.Humanity awaits eventful encounter upon your arrival in this amazing journey to Promised Land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, AsiaRooms, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Promisedland Resort & Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Promised Land Hotel Hualien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Promisedland Resort & Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.