We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing vacation and good restaurant!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Promisedland Resort & Lagoon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Promisedland Resort & Lagoon to your Saves list
Promisedland Resort & Lagoon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Lisiang Road, Shoufong Town, Hualien 974, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 107 Hotels in Hualien
Hualien, T'ai-wan, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Relaxing vacation and good restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Location: The hotel is 20-30minutes away from downtown of Haulein. You may arrange shuttle bus from hotel when you make your booking. The hotel is much more like a little resort that features in its spanish, mediterranean architecture style.

Front desk staff: The staffs are all kind but mainly speak in Chinese. After checking in, they will drive you with your luggage to your suite.

Room: I stay in a 4 people’s suites for a night. The room is really comfortable and luxurious with enough space for four people. The view is also very nice, indeed.

Restaurant: The restaurant serves delicious cuisine both in chinese and western flavor!! Definitely worth its price. You may also buy their feature dessert: honey cake.

Overall it’s a good experience, I think it’s more suitable for people want a lazy vacation=)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    35
    11
    3
    11
See reviews for
59
14
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Taipei
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is a beautiful place, a nice getaway for the whole family. Having stayed at Farglory our previous two visits (before our kids came along), we wanted to go somewhere where our two young kids (3 and almost 1) could enjoy. Promisedland seemed like the ideal place, with a small waterpark, animals, boat rides, etc. We enjoyed our 3 day, 2 night visit, but we'd say this place is good, not great. For what we paid, we were expecting a little more. The staff are all very friendly and professional, the food is pretty good (but Farglory's is better), but sad to say, our hotel room floor was dirty when we arrived...we ended using a bath towel and cleaning it ourselves not once, but three times since our young one was crawling and we like to walk barefoot on the floors. We told the hotel staff when we checked out and they were exceptionally nice about it and apologized and told us we should have told them earlier, but...

Room Tip: Our room was a bit of a walk from the lobby / restaurants / activities. If your kids are small, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I just came back from a 2 day vacation. I have stayed at Promise Land for several times and I was never disappointed. I specially love the staffs. Always smiling and very helpful. The rooms I have stayed in is always spacious. Love their breakfast. They also have a very nice poor. I will definitely come back any chance I have.

Room Tip: Bring insect repellent if you visit on spring and summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

A 3 hour train ride from Taipei, Taiwan, this place is like no other. Taking the train you're able to see the picturesque mountains, coast, and small towns. It's part of the adventure. It's nestled between the mountains but very accessible because of the major roads. This place is for pure relaxation. The villas are impressive, and the grounds are beautifully covered with an amazing landscape. Many activities to partake in... but it's definitely a place to R E L A X!

Room Tip: Indulge and go for the upgrade corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed at Promised Land resort during our recent "road trip" in Taiwan. Though the resort seems a bit 'plopped out of nowhere', there's lots to do on the grounds and no need to leave the premises at all! My baby was a bit too young (only 10 months), but can't wait to go back when he is a bit older so he can take advantage of all the fun activities (and there are lots!): boat rides, swimming pools/slides, jungle gyms, canoeing, etc. etc. The rooms are a bit ho-hum (nothing special), but they are quite clean. The resort is definitely showing its age, but again, this didn't bother me, surprisingly (I'm usually very picky!). The breakfast buffet wasn't fabulous but wasn't too bad. All in all, a very fun place and one I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to friends/family.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

If you are looknig for a place to bring your family for a trip in Taiwan this is it.
Food was good.
Plenty of activities.
Staff were nice and professional.
Facilities are new, clean and usable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

I consider myself something of an expert on Disney resorts since I have stayed in all but two of the Florida on-site resorts. Walking through Promised Land reminded me greatly of being in a Disney World resort. There are about 20 buildings, each two stories tall and having about 10-20 rooms on each floor. When you check in, they take you and your luggage to the room on a large golf cart.

The room itself was incredibly spacious--large bedroom and large bathroom. The bath had a tub plus a separate walk-in shower. The room was comfortable, except for the fact that the bed was much softer than I like.

The meal in the main restaurant are served buffet style and are mostly western food. In fact, the resort is supposed to be Gaudi-style (after the Spanish architect) and much of the restaurant food is Spanish. The buffet includes beverages (juices and soft drinks) as well as a large selection of desserts.

There is an outdoor theater with a free show each night, and it includes Flamingo as well as other western entertainment. The resort also offers a free canal boat ride through the beautifully landscaped resort. There is a large pool and other smaller pools in the resort, but the only hot tub is in the spa and there is a charge for that.

The second floor of the welcome building with the front desk has a lounge with a variety of newspapers and magazines, a kid play area, and several computers for free internet.

We only stayed one night because this stay was part of a tour, but I would have enjoyed spending more time at this resort.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Promisedland Resort & Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promisedland Resort & Lagoon

Address: No.1 Lisiang Road, Shoufong Town, Hualien 974, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Hualien
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Promisedland Resort & Lagoon 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is an artwork of leading architects from the world’s top resort designing firm W A T&G.The whole place is saturated with fantasy inspired by Spanish architect,Antoni Gaudi,in the form of winding arches with sprouting Babylon,Byzantine , and Moorish motifs.Sporadic usages of mosaic with astute Andalusia homeland accent add playful character to the building hapes.As if in a breathtaking show of titanic pulse,layers of mountain ridges wind their way into the distant horizon resembling tumbling tides in the nearby Pacific Ocean .Next to the spectacular feat of nature also loom traces of exotic domes ,arches,hallways,columns,and other civic forms.Humanity awaits eventful encounter upon your arrival in this amazing journey to Promised Land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Promisedland Resort & Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Promised Land Hotel Hualien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Promisedland Resort & Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.