We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for the kids!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Promisedland Resort & Lagoon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Promisedland Resort & Lagoon to your Saves list
Promisedland Resort & Lagoon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Lisiang Road, Shoufong Town, Hualien 974, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 102 Hotels in Hualien
CT
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Fun for the kids!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed at Promised Land resort during our recent "road trip" in Taiwan. Though the resort seems a bit 'plopped out of nowhere', there's lots to do on the grounds and no need to leave the premises at all! My baby was a bit too young (only 10 months), but can't wait to go back when he is a bit older so he can take advantage of all the fun activities (and there are lots!): boat rides, swimming pools/slides, jungle gyms, canoeing, etc. etc. The rooms are a bit ho-hum (nothing special), but they are quite clean. The resort is definitely showing its age, but again, this didn't bother me, surprisingly (I'm usually very picky!). The breakfast buffet wasn't fabulous but wasn't too bad. All in all, a very fun place and one I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to friends/family.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    31
    7
    2
    11
See reviews for
51
11
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sidney
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

If you are looknig for a place to bring your family for a trip in Taiwan this is it.
Food was good.
Plenty of activities.
Staff were nice and professional.
Facilities are new, clean and usable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

I consider myself something of an expert on Disney resorts since I have stayed in all but two of the Florida on-site resorts. Walking through Promised Land reminded me greatly of being in a Disney World resort. There are about 20 buildings, each two stories tall and having about 10-20 rooms on each floor. When you check in, they take you and your luggage to the room on a large golf cart.

The room itself was incredibly spacious--large bedroom and large bathroom. The bath had a tub plus a separate walk-in shower. The room was comfortable, except for the fact that the bed was much softer than I like.

The meal in the main restaurant are served buffet style and are mostly western food. In fact, the resort is supposed to be Gaudi-style (after the Spanish architect) and much of the restaurant food is Spanish. The buffet includes beverages (juices and soft drinks) as well as a large selection of desserts.

There is an outdoor theater with a free show each night, and it includes Flamingo as well as other western entertainment. The resort also offers a free canal boat ride through the beautifully landscaped resort. There is a large pool and other smaller pools in the resort, but the only hot tub is in the spa and there is a charge for that.

The second floor of the welcome building with the front desk has a lounge with a variety of newspapers and magazines, a kid play area, and several computers for free internet.

We only stayed one night because this stay was part of a tour, but I would have enjoyed spending more time at this resort.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

The area is a nice place for family, especially for some young kinds. The place will send you to the room by a small boat after you check in. It is very special hotel in my impression. But the room rate is a little bit expensive.

You can spend one-day in the hotel if you like swimming activities. You also can ride bicycle to university near the hotel. It is also a beautiful place which you can enjoy and have good fun.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
225 hotel reviews
Reviews in 189 cities Reviews in 189 cities
785 helpful votes 785 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2008

MY TRAVEL STYLE: If possible, I try to stay away from business and strongly prefer resorts that resemble the Four Seasons, Aman, and Oberoi but try to find similar properties at lower cost. I seek out the “wow” experiences and I encourage you to view hotels I have stayed at and their respective reviews (by clicking on my name).

LOCATION: Ok, not too close to many things but is a destination in itself. At least an hour from Taroko Gorge. Having a car here would be a good idea. 25 minutes to Hualien city by car.

BEST WAY TO GET THERE: We drove from the Anton Resort Springs area (stayed at New Life Resort). Took a very leisurely couple of hours by car.

TYPE OF ROOM: Isabella honeymoon suite

BED/SHEETS/PILLOW: Bed is very comfortable, soft and has ultra luxurious linens. The down pillows are excellent. One of the best beds in our last 120 hotels in the last 11 months.

LIGHTING: Tons of lighting in both bedroom and bathroom.

BATHROOM/SHOWER: Shower has medium water pressure and temperature can be made consistently hot if desired. Separate bathtub.

TOILETRIES: Good quality

CLEANLINESS: Entire room and bathroom are exceptionally clean with the exception of a little mold in the shower grout.

A/C: Quickly and quietly got our room cool.

CLOSET SPACE: Better than average closet space.

STYLE OF ROOM: Huge room with couch and balcony with chairs and table. Very comfortable Spanish style design.

QUIET/MORNING LIGHT: Room is very quiet and all morning sunlight can be blocked with the curtains.

FOOD: Breakfast is included and had a good selection of both Asian and western cuisine. Waffles, eggs, 3 choices of cereals, salads, toast, yogurt, and fruits. Food was ok but nothing special. There is a Chinese and Western restaurant on the property. The Chinese restaurant doesn’t have English menus and the staff doesn’t speak English so good luck there. The Western restaurant’s menu choices are not so good and are identical to the room service menu. Our spaghetti Bolognese ended up being a seafood pasta with mediocre taste and some of the shellfish was close to inedible. At least it was only about US$7.00 for the entrée. Luckily we have a car so all of our non-included meals since this meal have been outside the resort. There are also options for food at the pool but the highlight there is hotdogs and packaged cup-o-noodle style soup. My suggestion is to bring food with you to this resort.

TV/INTERNET: Internet is no charge but very slow and wireless only. About 8 channels in English including Discovery, HBO, Animal Planet, and Cinemax.

SERVICE: Staff are very pleasant and helpful but few employees speak even basic English. Many signs and pamphlets explaining hotel activities are in Chinese only so may be best to get a translation on day one.

COMMON AREA: Beautiful setting. Palms trees and manicured gardens set among waterfalls and ponds with koi fish. Pool is excellent and very inviting. Every so often there is the odd roman sculpture set within the grounds. The Pool requires a that guests wear a swimming cap which may be purchased for 100 TWD at the hotel. There are only 2 sets of lounge chairs by the pool (4 total) as most Taiwanese prefer a poolside table and chairs. The umbrellas for the lounge chairs block very little sunlight and the better umbrellas for the tables and chairs block much more but I could still notice sun coming through. I would be nervous about getting sunburned when out by the pool. The 4 loungers have no cushions therefore you are going to be sitting on hard wood.

ROOM & CITY TIPS:
The rooms closest to the lobby are in the best location since it’s closest to the main pool and hotel activities. There is a 3rd restaurant outside the main hotel area that specializes in seafood and especially clams (we didn’t know this until our 3rd day). Having a car is a good idea if staying at this hotel since nothing is in walking distance. There are some good biking roads around the hotel (hotel rents bikes). This is a perfect hotel for kids as there are many kids activities here and many other kids were present. Some of the buildings with rooms have a 3rd floor which probably have the best views. If you are ok with the limited English, mediocre food, and some of the pool issues, then I highly recommend this hotel as it very likely the best hotel in all of Hualien.

  • Liked — Beautiful room and excellent bed
  • Disliked — No cushions on pool lounge chairs, pool umbrellas don't block the sun
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
306 helpful votes 306 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2008

Was here with my boyfriend and his company (it was a company trip, all expenses paid for) and stayed 2D1N.

The hotel mini bus picked us up from the airport (at a small cost) and on the way to the hotel, the bus driver gave us a little guide on Hualin as we drove through major view points.

This resort is far away from everything else and there's nothing within walking distance, so if you are consider staying here, you might want to consider renting a car.
The hotel does offer buses to the city centre and does tour packages but all activities ends pretty early (including the last bus to/ from city centre), so you might get really bored in the night.

The room I stayed in was huge (I think it might have been the honeymoon room... my boyfriend's company booked it for us, so I'm not sure what kind of room type they've selected) and was really comfy.

I think if you pay extra money, you can use the resort's theme park facility. I didn't bother with it cuz they didn't really interest me...

  • Liked — Nice Spacious rooms
  • Disliked — Remote location
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2007

It is a nice resort with very large land area. During our stay there, we notice the guests are mostly locals. The rooms are big and clean with king size bed, a sofa and the toilet is also big with bathtub and separate shower. The room for triple sharing has 2 big queen size bed which actually can sleeps 4 pax. As the resort are like chalet style with every blocks only 2 storeys high so do expect many mosquitoes around the area and if you're lucky in the rooms too!
Great Breakfast with many western and chinese selections.There's a free boat ride round the resort for all staying guests. During the day, guests can rent a bicycle, swims or have a hot spring spa in the resort and night time they have 'live' performance by their local singers or simply just relax in their small mountain bar. Overall we find the resort a good place for both families or couples who just wanna relax!

  • Liked — The rooms and also they have this make-a-wish lantern event
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Promisedland Resort & Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promisedland Resort & Lagoon

Address: No.1 Lisiang Road, Shoufong Town, Hualien 974, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Hualien
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hualien
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Promisedland Resort & Lagoon 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is an artwork of leading architects from the world’s top resort designing firm W A T&G.The whole place is saturated with fantasy inspired by Spanish architect,Antoni Gaudi,in the form of winding arches with sprouting Babylon,Byzantine , and Moorish motifs.Sporadic usages of mosaic with astute Andalusia homeland accent add playful character to the building hapes.As if in a breathtaking show of titanic pulse,layers of mountain ridges wind their way into the distant horizon resembling tumbling tides in the nearby Pacific Ocean .Next to the spectacular feat of nature also loom traces of exotic domes ,arches,hallways,columns,and other civic forms.Humanity awaits eventful encounter upon your arrival in this amazing journey to Promised Land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, AsiaRooms and Tingo so you can book your Promisedland Resort & Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Promised Land Hotel Hualien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Promisedland Resort & Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;