We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of Loud Mainlanders” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shihtiping

Shihtiping
No.52, Shitioing, Gangkou Vil., Fengbin Township | Route 11, Hualien, Taiwan
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 207 things to do in Hualien
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Shihtiping is a scenic harbor and fishing village between Hualien and Taitung.
singapore
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Full of Loud Mainlanders”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

When we arrived it was getting crowded with lots of tourists taking in the sights. We took a short walk from the car park and managed to take some photos without strangers in them. However, when we walked out, there were close to 22 huge coaches in the car park. We ran to our car to get out of there!

As we drove past the main point of attraction to a side lane, it was better as it was less chaotic and cooler. The views from here were quite good to capture a few shots. Come early to avoid the crowd, especially in summer!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    27
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Shihtiping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Along the coast, the marine abrasion in Shihtiping is the most magnificent ...But the view site is flooded with tourists, so I prefererred to visit the harbor .. Super quiet place, no tourists, contact with fishermen and more a great fish restaurant ...

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful stone steps hewn by nature”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is an area of coastal terraces with coastal plants, wave-cut platforms (like stone steps), sea trenches and cliffs. There is no shade whatsoever on the rocks! In summer, make sure you have adequate sun block, put on sunglasses and wear a cap/hat to protect your head.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Shitiping 石梯坪”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

It is one of the scenic east coast attraction at Hualien which is famous for its special geology of sea terrain including the wave-cut platforms, uplifted coral reefs, cliffs and the potholes. It is near to the port where whale-watching first started in Taiwan. There are some wooden structures camping site that are clean and equipped with lights.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Go there when it's not so hot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Love the view and the kids love the fact we can go catch fishes and crab. Don't like the heat! In fact the first time we were there, we were a lot happier because we are not toast.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shihtiping also viewed

 

Been to Shihtiping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shihtiping, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.