We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of Loud Mainlanders” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shihtiping

Shihtiping
No.52, Shitioing, Gangkou Vil., Fengbin Township | Route 11, Hualien, Taiwan
038781452
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 211 things to do in Hualien
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Shihtiping is a scenic harbor and fishing village between Hualien and Taitung.
singapore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Full of Loud Mainlanders”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

When we arrived it was getting crowded with lots of tourists taking in the sights. We took a short walk from the car park and managed to take some photos without strangers in them. However, when we walked out, there were close to 22 huge coaches in the car park. We ran to our car to get out of there!

As we drove past the main point of attraction to a side lane, it was better as it was less chaotic and cooler. The views from here were quite good to capture a few shots. Come early to avoid the crowd, especially in summer!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    28
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Shihtiping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Along the coast, the marine abrasion in Shihtiping is the most magnificent ...But the view site is flooded with tourists, so I prefererred to visit the harbor .. Super quiet place, no tourists, contact with fishermen and more a great fish restaurant ...

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful stone steps hewn by nature”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is an area of coastal terraces with coastal plants, wave-cut platforms (like stone steps), sea trenches and cliffs. There is no shade whatsoever on the rocks! In summer, make sure you have adequate sun block, put on sunglasses and wear a cap/hat to protect your head.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Shitiping 石梯坪”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

It is one of the scenic east coast attraction at Hualien which is famous for its special geology of sea terrain including the wave-cut platforms, uplifted coral reefs, cliffs and the potholes. It is near to the port where whale-watching first started in Taiwan. There are some wooden structures camping site that are clean and equipped with lights.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Go there when it's not so hot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Love the view and the kids love the fact we can go catch fishes and crab. Don't like the heat! In fact the first time we were there, we were a lot happier because we are not toast.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shihtiping also viewed

 

Been to Shihtiping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shihtiping, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.