We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are run down and old.. breakfast is worse” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Astar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Astar Hotel to your Saves list
Astar Hotel
No.6-1 Mingquan Road, Haibing Avenue, Hualien 970, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 103 Hotels in Hualien
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Rooms are run down and old.. breakfast is worse”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed in A star with a tour group in March 2013. The hotel room is badly furnished with old furniture, bath room is equally bad with low quality bathroom accessories (sink, shower, WC). Bed is reasonable though. Does not feel like a 3 or 4 star hotel by any standards. The breakfast provided by the hotel is not palatable at all. The selection is minimal and the food looks like the least appealing. Hotel faces the ocean though which is the only thing probably i think could save the hotel from a 1 star rating. Hotel is 3 min walk from a convenience store as well. Will not recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We came for the AMD race, and this hotel was perfectly situation right in front of the starting point. It's located away from the town centre of Hualien but it's easy enough to cab to town. There were a few restaurants within walking distances, the Korean one we went to was quite nice. There's a 7-11 just up the road a some bubble tea shops as well.

The view from our room was partially blocked by the wall in front but from the balcony we could still glimpse out to the sea. The room was very big as we had requested a 3 person room, so it had a living room with coffee table and chairs facing the TV, then a divider that separated the bedroom, which had a sofa bed as well.

The hotel is a little dated but still clean and comfortable. Everything in the room worked and there was no strange odour or unidentified objects. All basic amenities were available (TV, fridge, kettle, hair dryer etc). And the Wi-fi connection was good.

Breakfast was the typical Chinese/Western fare, which was not bad at all considering they had to feed so many cyclists and support crew. The steamed buns were in steamers so were not soggy like the ones they have in a glass steam cupboard you see in some local Taiwanese joints. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KS
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2007

Reasonably priced hotel which was very comfotable for a backpacker to catch up on sleep. Located to the cultural stuff I wanted too see. Very affordable but still pretty nice for the price.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2007

great value for a stundent traveler who wanted to experience a safe and diverse trip in taiwan. great staff who helped me find where i was going around town.

  • Liked — value
  • Disliked — no extras
  • Stayed January 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Astar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astar Hotel

Address: No.6-1 Mingquan Road, Haibing Avenue, Hualien 970, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 103 Hotels in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Astar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.