We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parkview Hotel

Save Saved
You added Parkview Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parkview Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1-1 Lin-Yuan, Hualien City, Hualien, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 99 hotels in Hualien
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great value for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Our family of four (two adults and two kids ages 4 and 7) stayed here for one night on our around the island tour. We had a suite which was very spacious and the kids even had their own room with a Japanese style sleeping mats. While the architecture is also dated, the inside is recently renovated and the bathrooms were very modern and Western in style.

We arrived late in the evening and left early the next morning, so we didn't get a chance to use the resort facilities. But we walked around the morning of our departure and checked out the pool facilities which looked clean, spacious and well maintained. They had a separate kiddie pool and slides, as well as an indoor playground, pool tables and ping pong tables. There is a large open lawn area and even a driving range. There was a yummy bakery and ice cream stand in the lobby and even a small toy store next to the gift shop.

The breakfast buffet was included, but there were several large tour groups eating breakfast at the same time, so the elevators going downstairs were overcrowded and there was a line to get seated. The quality and selection was a bit subpar, especially in the Western selections.

Despite the crowded breakfast and subpar food, for the value and space, I would still recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    47
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
44
19
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed two nights here. First impression when we saw the hotel from outside is it looks quite grand. However, upon entering the room, it really looks dated. The furniture & beds look rather old. The hotel is also not situated in city centre.

The good points about this hotel are the large compound with waterfall landscape, large swimming pool, sporting facilities (squash court, rock climbing, table tennis, pool table, gym, sauna, kids playground, etc) & relatively good buffet breakfast. Hotel guests are free to use/enjoy all the facilities. Noticed that there are lots of tourist groups (mainly from HK, mainland China & locals) staying in this hotel. As such, during busy hours, there can be long queues at the buffet counters. We use this hotel as our base to explore Taroko Gorge National Park & the east coast tourist attractions between Taitung & Hualien.

Free Wifi inside the room but Internet connectivity could be intermittent at times. As we arrived quite late (after more than 5 hours trip going over the mountainous terrain of Taroko National Park from Taichung), we had buffet dinner at the 2nd floor restaurant. Dinner was just okay, not pricy and service is good. We got a high floor room that faces the Pacific Ocean - providing a splendid view in the morning! If you want a quiet, comfortable hotel with in-house sporting facilities, this is the one!

Room Tip: Get a high floor room facing the Pacific Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Arrived here on the 4th Nov after the visit of the Taroko National Park. Came here because it was part of a package by CTC. The hotel overall was quite large and the room definitely was large too. Stayed at the 11th floor and got arranged in rooms 1106 and 1108. The rooms requires a key to unlock which was quite weird since now many hotel is using those card keys. The rooms were large and spacious and was clean and comfortable. The room I had was facing the city. The room had cable TV programs too and WiFi was available for free throughout the whole hotel which was superb but speed sometime can get slow as the WiFi is shared with one level each. Aircon temperature was okay as well. The bathroom is quite well spacious too and has a bathtub too. The room is also equipped with electric kettle and packets of coffee and tea too.
Had our dinner in the hotel as the hotel is quite far from the city and was quite inconvinent to get there too. The dinner was buffet-style and served quite a huge variety of food. Ice-creams were provided too. Dinner was quite okay and the service wasn't quite bad too.
There was some souvenir shop at there too and they sell some accessories and necessary items too. Movies DVD were also available for rent too.
Breakfast was also at the same location as dinner and was also served with buffet-styled. Food was also overall quite okay and they provide cereals, bacon and many more breakfast foods.
The swimming pool was also quite large and behind it is a waterfall that attracted many guests taking photos with it. There was also sauna and gym in the hotel.
Overall the hotel service and quality were good and the staff are good and polite too.

Room Tip: Choose rooms that faces the golf-course(swimming pool/waterfall). They offer a much better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Make no mistake, this is a resort hotel and as such is necessarily some distance from the centre of town. It's big (as are the rooms) clean in every respect and replete with (2) pools, gym and squash court. And you can rent a 21-speed bike for $200NT and cycle up the coast. It's a very scenic ride.
The distance from town might be a larger problem were it not for the free shuttle bus to/from the train station. It takes about 10 minutes and saves a $180NT cab ride. We took it almost daily.
The breakfast buffet offers a wide variety but (understandably) caters to their primarily Asian clientele.
We were less impressed with the evening buffet in that, in our opinion, it did not offer sufficient value for money. We opted on a couple of evenings for the Chinese dim sum on the 2nd floor.
The staff was welcoming - and for a large hotel, that's a real plus. And in typical Taiwanese fashion, polite beyond measure. We did find, in almost every transaction, overcoming the language barrier would prove difficult. But with good humour (on both sides) and some innovative interpretation, the difficulty would be resolved. Front desk staff was quite fluent in English.
Overall, a good spot for some R&R.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Room is clean and comfortable. There are various indoor and outdoor facilities for kids (mine is ~5yrs) to play around for the whole day.

People are friendly and able to provide advice on nearby sightseeing.

The buffet is just ok, as there aren't many choices. I'd rather go to downtown and try other local flavors.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed in this hotel. Large, comfortable, clean rooms, but a bit sparse. Wi-fi is decent and large grounds, but a bit unkempt. Large pool. Hotel restaurant serves a buffet which is above average. The staff was very helpful. When I wanted to use the gym they even lent me a pair of trainers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taichung, Taiwan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were there for a night during the 3 day trip in Hualien. The room we had was at the end of the hallway on 15F. Great window view of the beautiful garden and waterfall. As they were fully booked, we didn't hear anything in our room. There's speaker for iPad and DVD player if you rent movies at their shop. We will stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview Hotel

Address: No.1-1 Lin-Yuan, Hualien City, Hualien, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hualien
#7 Family Hotel in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkview Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkview Hotel Hualien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.