We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parkview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Parkview Hotel to your Saves list
Parkview Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1-1 Lin-Yuan, Hualien City, Hualien, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 116 Hotels in Hualien
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great hotel for family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stay in this hotel as a stop over to Taroko. It's a lovely hotel in Hualien. We hired the bikes from the hotel and ride to pebble beach, had a lovely time exploring the area at our own pace. The hotel room is very spacious and comfortable. Two double beds great for our family of 4. We also enjoyed the lovely surround of the hotel. It's resort style with lots of space.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    65
    22
    4
    2
See reviews for
71
22
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Beautiful location close to the Taroko Gorge. The view from the breakfast buffet was simply fantastic. Gorgeous grounds.

More importantly, the staff was able to help us with a huge dilemma. We originally planned on renting a car to tour the Gorge. When we found out that was impossible, the staff worked extensively with us to arrange a driver that would accommodate our schedule and itinerary.

(Get an International Driving Permit before you leave the States.)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

A nice hotel with lots of different activities, golf, climbing wall, racket ball, swimming, etc. The spa package is a good deal, if you have time, check out the 2 hour spa, you can even do it as a couple. Location is close to the city central and train station. The buffet is ok.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

During our family of five's trip to Taiwan in June, we had a stopover in Hualien and stayed at the Parkview Hotel for a night. Upon arrival, we noticed that the hotel was classy and modern. Being part of a tour group, check-in was quick and easy, although the line seemed to be small in the first place.

The hotel room was neat and furbished. It was nothing extraordinary but was above standard and suited our needs. If I'm not wrong, most, if not all the facilities were in working condition. The room was very large and the bathroom was small but clean. The bathtub seemed to be quite small in height after looking through the photos I took, and that was a bit discomforting. We were able to have a good night's sleep, particularly after the jacuzzi we had which I'll come to in a while.

We had both dinner and breakfast at the hotel. Dinner was amazing and had an array of Western and Asian meals, something I rarely saw in the other hotels I stayed at. The dining area was elegant and the meals were particularly good, the spotlight on the Western dishes. Breakfast was a standard buffet, and it was slightly better than what other hotels served, so it was not bad.

The special feature of this hotel for me is the facilities it offers. The hotel has a recreation centre next to it which we could enjoy during the evening and it was a pleasant surprise to me since I never expected this much facilities. There was a rock climbing wall, a squash court, a video arcade, table tennis, some massage chairs in the basement, an indoor swimming pool with a jacuzzi and an outdoor swimming pool.

My father and I loved the jacuzzi - rather than having simply jets shoot out gusts of water at your body, there are a variety of different ways to enjoy it - there are several fountains that spray different intensities of water onto our backs, foot reflexology underwater and torrents of water coming from the bottom, also of different intensities, as well as the aforementioned jets. My father said it was the most memorable experience in the hotel. Word of caution, though: it is necessary to wear a cap at all times in the swimming pool.

Service was pretty good as well. Even though most of the staff spoke Mandarin, there was a trainee who hailed from where I'm from so he could speak English fluently, making communication much easier. He works at the recreation centre, and I could remember the staff there were helpful and friendly. Service on the whole was very good.

All in all, this hotel stands out for its array of recreational facilities in store. If I could spot a flaw in the hotel, it was probably the recreation centre being somewhat dated. Nonetheless, it was a very good stay, and I'd recommend this to families in particular for the many activities they offer indoors.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

At first glance, the Parkview Hotel looks great - nice lobby, shops, and dining options but after walking around more & checking into our room, it is obvious that the hotel could definitely use some renovations. Although the rooms are very spacious, the furniture, mattress, and especially the bathroom, need upgrading. There is free wifi and great shower pressure though.

The recreation center and pools are extensive, but again, could use upgrades, especially the gym. We did use the ping pong table & billiards table a lot though, and they were great. It was nice to have many activities available.

Lastly, the buffet is pretty good. We had breakfast included. The high tea is a fantastic deal - basically lunch buffet for less than 300NT ($10) if you can wait until 2:30.

Overall, the service is nice, location is decent, and it is a pretty good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great hotel. My 2 teenage daughters and husband stayed overnight in July 2012. It was very clean, spacious and comfortable. The view was very nice. My daughters enjoyed the pool. The buffet was a mixture of Asian and western cuisine with great selections. The hotel staff was helpful and polite. Only downside was it was not easily within walking distance to the center of city. Overall, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I was here with my mom visiting. This hotel is good size for american standards with a good bathroom as well. the views are pretty breathtaking. the service is awesome and you are a short taxi ride into town. i would definitely stay here again .

attached is a picture of our view. pano rama style.

i hope this was Helpful!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview Hotel

Address: No.1-1 Lin-Yuan, Hualien City, Hualien, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 343
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkview Hotel Hualien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.