We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are looking for a place with golf and swimming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parkview Hotel

Save Saved
You added Parkview Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parkview Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1-1 Lin-Yuan, Hualien City, Hualien, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 100 hotels in Hualien
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“If you are looking for a place with golf and swimming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

A nice hotel with lots of different activities, golf, climbing wall, racket ball, swimming, etc. The spa package is a good deal, if you have time, check out the 2 hour spa, you can even do it as a couple. Location is close to the city central and train station. The buffet is ok.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    50
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
45
20
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

During our family of five's trip to Taiwan in June, we had a stopover in Hualien and stayed at the Parkview Hotel for a night. Upon arrival, we noticed that the hotel was classy and modern. Being part of a tour group, check-in was quick and easy, although the line seemed to be small in the first place.

The hotel room was neat and furbished. It was nothing extraordinary but was above standard and suited our needs. If I'm not wrong, most, if not all the facilities were in working condition. The room was very large and the bathroom was small but clean. The bathtub seemed to be quite small in height after looking through the photos I took, and that was a bit discomforting. We were able to have a good night's sleep, particularly after the jacuzzi we had which I'll come to in a while.

We had both dinner and breakfast at the hotel. Dinner was amazing and had an array of Western and Asian meals, something I rarely saw in the other hotels I stayed at. The dining area was elegant and the meals were particularly good, the spotlight on the Western dishes. Breakfast was a standard buffet, and it was slightly better than what other hotels served, so it was not bad.

The special feature of this hotel for me is the facilities it offers. The hotel has a recreation centre next to it which we could enjoy during the evening and it was a pleasant surprise to me since I never expected this much facilities. There was a rock climbing wall, a squash court, a video arcade, table tennis, some massage chairs in the basement, an indoor swimming pool with a jacuzzi and an outdoor swimming pool.

My father and I loved the jacuzzi - rather than having simply jets shoot out gusts of water at your body, there are a variety of different ways to enjoy it - there are several fountains that spray different intensities of water onto our backs, foot reflexology underwater and torrents of water coming from the bottom, also of different intensities, as well as the aforementioned jets. My father said it was the most memorable experience in the hotel. Word of caution, though: it is necessary to wear a cap at all times in the swimming pool.

Service was pretty good as well. Even though most of the staff spoke Mandarin, there was a trainee who hailed from where I'm from so he could speak English fluently, making communication much easier. He works at the recreation centre, and I could remember the staff there were helpful and friendly. Service on the whole was very good.

All in all, this hotel stands out for its array of recreational facilities in store. If I could spot a flaw in the hotel, it was probably the recreation centre being somewhat dated. Nonetheless, it was a very good stay, and I'd recommend this to families in particular for the many activities they offer indoors.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

At first glance, the Parkview Hotel looks great - nice lobby, shops, and dining options but after walking around more & checking into our room, it is obvious that the hotel could definitely use some renovations. Although the rooms are very spacious, the furniture, mattress, and especially the bathroom, need upgrading. There is free wifi and great shower pressure though.

The recreation center and pools are extensive, but again, could use upgrades, especially the gym. We did use the ping pong table & billiards table a lot though, and they were great. It was nice to have many activities available.

Lastly, the buffet is pretty good. We had breakfast included. The high tea is a fantastic deal - basically lunch buffet for less than 300NT ($10) if you can wait until 2:30.

Overall, the service is nice, location is decent, and it is a pretty good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great hotel. My 2 teenage daughters and husband stayed overnight in July 2012. It was very clean, spacious and comfortable. The view was very nice. My daughters enjoyed the pool. The buffet was a mixture of Asian and western cuisine with great selections. The hotel staff was helpful and polite. Only downside was it was not easily within walking distance to the center of city. Overall, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I was here with my mom visiting. This hotel is good size for american standards with a good bathroom as well. the views are pretty breathtaking. the service is awesome and you are a short taxi ride into town. i would definitely stay here again .

attached is a picture of our view. pano rama style.

i hope this was Helpful!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Excellent recreation facility with ping-pong, billiard, rock climbing (fee), indoor/outdoor pool, hiking trail, computer room, craft classes, and WiFi (in-room and at lobby). We loved the spacious room (we stayed in a Superior Family Room), comfortable beds and the view of the ocean and mountain.
The transportation staff were wonderful. They were professional, friendly, and helpful. (Thank you Dragon (Mr. Wong?) and A-Shen). The staff at the recreation facility were friendly and helpful as well. They made us feel very welcomed. We enjoyed an excellent Shabu Shabu/ hot pot dinner at Matsu. The almond fruit basket dessert was awesome. It has brownies inside.

Room Tip: Book ping-pong table & pool table early as the wait can get long after dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012 via mobile

Staff always friendly and helpful, they always willing to take the time to help! Great value for money and good location for sightseeing. There are a lot of activities to do around the hotel...

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview Hotel

Address: No.1-1 Lin-Yuan, Hualien City, Hualien, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hualien
#7 Family Hotel in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkview Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Ctrip DaoDao, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkview Hotel Hualien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.