We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scary hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marshal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marshal Hotel to your Saves list
Marshal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.36 Kung Yuan Road, Hualien City, Hualien 970, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 120 Hotels in Hualien
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Scary hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Stayed at this hotel on 25th June 2011 with my family of four. The hotel was undergoing renovations. Room are big but dreary. On the night we were there there were tremors and the doors creaked. Bathrooms were very run down. There seems to be bedbugs because I was feeling itchy all over and could not sleep. Staff very friendly though. Send us to the airport.

Breakfast was average. Location wise it's walking distance to the shopping areas and there
is a very popular bao/dumplings shop 2 street away. Very good and cheap food around the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peggy_tan48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
257 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

We stayed at the Marshall for one night as part of a tour. The hotel seems elderly, but the rooms and public spaces are nice enough. The neighborhood is pretty run down, and our room contained what seems to be a bedbug warning. That was enough to make us feel itchy, but we had no real bites. When we mentioned an MSG allergy, most of the breakfast choices were ruled out by conscientious staff. Dinner wasn't so limited for some reason. A great bonus with the dinner buffet is free draft beer.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BornTooLoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

Their services are good, food also delicious,
but the next morning I woke up, I was bitten by too many bed bugs. I am sufferring for 3 weeks, until now . So be careful.

Mushi ni kamareru no o ki o tsukete kudasai.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller28121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hualien hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

Large hotel, central and minutes from town, clean. Good breakfast offer including Western choices. As holiday tourists we had a list of things to do that the hotel booked, and as we were there at the end of September tours were small and friendly. Touring was the reason for staying here, as we took a trip to Taraoko National Park, and saw some of the most amazing scenery in the world. Thankfully not too many westerners know its there! A ot of concentration in the area on the original Taiwanese people, there are shows you can go to to see traditional dancing and so on. And one of our favourite trips of our three week stay in Taiwan was walking along the river, climbing and jumping into the river, on a half day trip, great fun, made more so by our two guides, great guys who we bribed with beers to take us out that evening to see the rest of the town, well worth it. So the hotel is an ideal base for sightseeing, but if I was here on business I'd stay there too.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil_Nightingale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiwan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

the location is good. our room have a wi-fi. the room (bed) is clean but the bathroom needs a renovation (cracked bathtub). overall i think the hotel is a little bit old. customer service is super. breakfast is so-so, not too great.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank rubytaiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
172 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 625 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2006

Overall nice place. The room was attractive, the location was excellent (within easy walking distance of just about everything). Breakfast was OK, but room was very crowded as the hotel has lots of tour groups and they all converge on the dining room at the same time. The had a pool and sauna. Internet computers available at 20 Taiwan Dollars per hour. The room wasn't as quiet as I would have liked (a little bit of plumbing noise and you could hear doors closing in other rooms).

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank maynard7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotts Valley CA
Level Contributor
208 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2006

This hotel was booked for us as part of a 5-day Taiwan tour. Immediately upon arrival, we needed to take a business call. We were informed that there was no internet access from the room booked for us; they immediately offered to upgrade (for free) to a "business room". This room had electrical converters to accommodate our US plugs and free broadband access. We appreciated this quick thinking and kindness on the part of the checkin staff at the Marshal hotel.

The room itself was a nice size and had a tasteful decor - the furniture and carpets looked reasonably new. The bathroom fixtures looked to be of cheap construction.

The breakfast had a large variety of Chinese, Japanese and Western style foods. And, it seems to be favored by tour groups, so it can be quite busy in the morning.

The location is nice for walking around near the local markets as well as more upscale shopping.

  • Liked — friendly and customer-oriented staff
  • Disliked — cheap looking bathroom
  • Tips/Secrets — walk around to the local markets; we had dinner at a local dumpling soup restaurant for about $3USD !
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien hotels
0.7 mi away
Lienfook Hostelry Hualien
Lienfook Hostelry Hualien
#40 of 120 in Hualien
4.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Town 26
East Town 26
#5 of 120 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cullinan Hotel
Cullinan Hotel
#19 of 120 in Hualien
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
CJ Hotel
CJ Hotel
#20 of 120 in Hualien
4.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Spring Autumn Hotel
Spring Autumn Hotel
#51 of 120 in Hualien
3.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews
0.8 mi away
Astar Hotel
Astar Hotel
#32 of 120 in Hualien
3.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marshal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marshal Hotel

Address: No.36 Kung Yuan Road, Hualien City, Hualien 970, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Marshal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 11-story Hotel located 3 km from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Marshal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshal Hotel Hualien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing