We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican food in Taiwan!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dos Tacos

Dos Tacos
177, Bo-Ai street, Hualien city, Hualien 970, Taiwan
+886 3 831 1733
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 352 Restaurants in Hualien
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Mexican food in Hualien downtown, chill place, chill music, own by a foreigner who loves Hualien and lives here. We have burritos, nachos, hard tacos, soft tacos, quesadillas, and draft beer.Free wifi. Enjoy your trip in Hualien, enjoy your food in Dos Tacos! Welcome!
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food in Taiwan!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I was very shocked to find Mexican food in hualien. We shot a film there and for lunch I had the chicken burrito. Yum!!! Excellent service and cool owners! I loved the way they baked or fried (not sure) the burrito it made a crunch as I bit into it. Yum! I loved their fresh ingreidients and their salsa and hot sauce are divine. I would definitely recommend and go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    11
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We are from San Antonio Texas, and we know Tex-Mex. Dos Tacos was a blast, the food was great (one of the best salsas we have ever had, and they refill it if you want) plus the atmosphere was really chill. If you are looking for a relaxed, low key, authentic people kind of restaurant, then this is your place. By the way, the owner (a gringo) really represents with an awesome, fresh mint mojito. When I say fresh mint, I mean he grows the mint on property in front of the restaurant on the deck and picks it just for your mojito. The only way a mojito should be made :) No hype, just great people and service. Completely recommend...

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss the opportunity to have the best Mexican food in Taiwan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Ther are a few Mexican restaurants in Taipei, but with Dos Tacos it's as good as it gets when it comes to Mexican food. Everything from the Sauce to the Burrito itself was just excellent and made with high end quality ingredients. The price seems maybe a bit high, but after you just have one bite you are certain that this is worth every single NT$.
But actually it's not just about the food. If you also want a heartwarming welcome, then you will be at the right address. You feel that they love their restaurants and are happy about you as a guest, so you will love it too. I will definitely go there again and again, and if it's just for a cold Stella to have a nice chat.
Highly recommended!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Chill place awesome food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Last month went to hualien with my family, we found this cool place in downtown! We love the soft taco and burritos, big nachos plate, owner is pretty nice, music exotic! Good mexican food!

Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Tex Mex in Taiwan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Only thing better than the food at Dos Tacos are the people that run it. We came back again the second time we were in Hualien purely to hang out with the crew. Legends.

The food is packed with flavour. If you're hungry, go with a chimichanga - a deep fried burrito with a side of rice, beans and
quac. It is a thing and it is as good as it sounds. On a side note, I didn't need to eat again after one of those.

We came to Taiwan not expecting to eat anything closely resembling Tex-Mex... But super glad that we stumbled across this place. Keep doing your thing Dos Tacos!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dos Tacos also viewed

Hualien, Taiwan
Hualien, Taiwan
 

Been to Dos Tacos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dos Tacos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.