We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top notch hostel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Journey Hostel

Journey Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Journey Hostel to your Saves list
Journey Hostel
No.147 Fuguo Road, Hualien, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
5.0 of 5 stars 10 Reviews
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“top notch hostel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

when i look for a hostel, i look for certain key factors to make the experience worthwhile and Journey Hostel definitely checked all the boxes and even more! here are a few highlights as to why:

friendly hostess & great service? check - huge thanks to Nita, she was smiling and offering helpful tips from the moment we arrived and all throughout our stay, providing excellent tips for the neighborhood and best places to visit for the amazing surrounding sites. the hostel even lends out its bikes FOR FREE so we rode around exploring the area without needing to rent.

convenient location? check - just a ~15 min walk from the Hualien train & bus stations and then about a 15-20 min bike ride to beautiful natural scenes, e.g. rivers, mountains, and waterfalls. also a 20 min walk to the local night market (or you can take the bikes and reach in half the time...)

quality, comfortable accommodation? check - my friend and i shared a private double room and were super happy with the size of the room and the cleanliness. the decor was minimalist with style and the room was far enough from the road so that we didn't even hear the street noise. the shared bathroom was also very clean (well, at least the girls' was... cannot vouch for the guys' :)) on top of these facilities, the living/common room/kitchen area were also very well-decorated to provide for a great chill environment to meet fellow travelers and hang out with a drink.

book it :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in Hualien and can't rate this hostel highly enough because of the amazing staff- Nita in particular. From the moment we arrived she was organising tours, checking train times and helping us to make Green Island reservations by phone. Nothing was too much trouble and we asked a lot if questions! We enjoyed sitting out front in the evening and were introduced to a range of their local spirits (thanks Charlie!)...very friendly owners. 10 minute walk from station and night market.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Dont expect confortable beds...they are very hard. But you will get really good service, the host is very helpful and speaks really well in English. She also let us leave our bags on spot so we could go cycling the east coast for a few days... Which was easier than trying to mail it... The hostel has a bar downstairs which is good for unwinding in the evening. Look also for a tea place just before the McDonald ( read tea cash in front) with a pond filled with fish. You can have a full meal for under 200twd including drinks... The food was really good and they have an English menu inside. Love the hostel and where it is situated.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is one of my favourous hostels that I stayed in East Asia. 15 minutes walk from the Hualien Rail Station if you leave from the exit of the rear station. few minutes walk to the main Zhongshan Road. This is a 2-storey hostel with 5 dormitory rooms and 2 shared bathrooms with different gender. The first floor houses a bar, lounge, court yard with fish pond and the kitchen. Every place is clean, quite and well decorated by great photos shotted by the owner's brother.

Free wifi, A/C, fan, linens, shower gel and tissue paper are provided. The staff is very friendly and helpful. City map and other info were giving for referenc when checking in. A dream home for the backpackers.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I highly recommend Journey Hostel to anyone visiting Hualien. Charlie is the BEST host anyone can ask for! The hostel is done up very nicely and the atmosphere really encourages travellers to interact with each other.
Facilities and location are fantastic. There isn't anything else I would ask for.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Rooms are very clean the staff is very helpful and friendly location is good 10 min walking distance to train station. The rooms and showers are very clean.............................................

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pangkalan Bun
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Journey hostel is excellent. The friendly staff and relaxed style makes it feel more like staying with friends than at a hostel! Nice bar in the front which is open to the street, and a relaxing courtyard with a lovely fishpond inside for those times when you want a more quiet atmosphere. Upstairs are the dorms and bathroom which are spotlessly clean and comfortable. I definitely recommend this place to anyone who visits Hualien.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Journey Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Journey Hostel

Address: No.147 Fuguo Road, Hualien, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 95 Specialty Lodging in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Journey Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Journey Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.