We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended - Location & Quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arsma Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Arsma Hotel to your Saves list
Arsma Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.68 Boai Street, Hualien, Taiwan   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 108 Hotels in Hualien
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Highly recommended - Location & Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

From Hualien train station, taxi fare was NT150 to the hotel. Stayed 2 nights for NT5,800 which is a really great bargain.

Being new, it has a great modern quality room: clean bed, bathroom, nice big TV. The japanese toilet bowl was a nice touch, having a built-in seat warmer is a luxury when the weather is cold.

As for location, ask for the local map from the reception. There are plenty of great food stalls and local products store to spend the night walking the nearby streets.

We had a 6am train to catch to kaoshiung (the other slots were fully booked. lesson learnt: booking 2 days earlier wasn't enough) and arranged for a morning call. The hotel staff didn't make the call, we overslept, the taxi driver left and we were in a panic mode. At the reception, the staff responded immediately by grabbing the hotel car keys, escorting us to the car, and speeding off to the train station. Made it in 10 mins with 5 mins to spare. Love the service recovery.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    16
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Fantastic value new hotel in centre of town. Goes over and above to make your stay pleasant and enjoyable
Standouts include:
- amazing value with facilities on par with a five star hotel, for a fraction Of the price
- speedy free wifi
- free shuttle pick ups from train station- just make sure you book in advance
- large spacious rooms, some with ocean views
-very comfortable mattress and sheets
- fancy toilet with all the trimmings, only issue is figuring out how to use it
- dual shower heads with waterfall like head for firm massage like shower as well as the usual spray shower head
- coin operated self serve washer and dryer inside hotel, very convenient for long term travelers
- extensive breakfast spread
- parting gift of mochis for completing the feedback form
- walking distance from railway art markets
They also have Bike hire on site, but limited selection. Staff trying very hard to please you, so be patient with their English.
Note that checkin time is 3pm so room may not be ready, but they will store luggage and it is well worth the wait.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

My family (wife, 4 kids under 9 and 2 grandparents) stayed here, in two rooms. The rooms are large and the bedding was entirely adequate for us. The rooms are clean and new, and the bathrooms beat many 5 star brand name hotels I've been to elsewhere, in terms of size, quality of bathroom fittings and water pressure.

Location is great for those who want to get the snacks and local goodies that Hualien offers (within walking distance).

Only downsides : the breakfast is passable but mediocre. And the hotel is some distance from the main Tze chiang night market. But overall, a fantastic hotel that we would definitely return to.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanjing
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Free train station pick-up (must order it the day before), nice clean rooms that comfortably took me, my wife and our 8 year old son, friendly and very helpful but not English-speaking reception staff, quick free WIFI and centrally located for strolling around this quaint town … all equals extremely good value. Very happy to recommend.

Room Tip: Order transfers in advance and consider that Hualien is better visited during the week rather than w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

It was my first visit to Hualian and my initial reaction to Arsma Hotel when we stepped into the lobby was : WOW, so grand ! We did not expect to see such grand hotel in Hualian, what a surprise.
The guest room was spacious and modern, clean and comfortable. Bathroom is equipped with high tech auto toilet, another feature that impressed me.It was really a lovely stay in the hotel as the staff were friendly and the room rate was also quite reasonable.

Room Tip: book the room in high floor with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
香港
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We're not the first time to Hualien, so we decided to stay in a new hotel. Arsma Hotel just opened in this Jan. The hotel offers the free pick up from train station. It's very closed to downtown, walk distance to go shopping souvenir and local food. The staff is very friendly and helpful, they are pleased to answer our questions.

The room was very clean and big. Good facilities. The most surprised thing was the auto-toilet, the Japanese style. We're lucky to stay in high floor with nice sea view!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

First time to visit Hualien, wasn't expecting much since it is a very small town and the hotel room rental I paid was kinda cheap. Then I was surprised when checked in the hotel... It is new, clean and very comfy with convenience location. Staffs are warm and helpful. I strongly recommend! I'm gonna to miss their bathroom, specially the high-tech paperless auto toilet!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arsma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arsma Hotel

Address: No.68 Boai Street, Hualien, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 108 Hotels in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arsma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arsma Hotel is a landmark urban resort that provides elegant and convenient accommodations and services. The hotel is proud of its neo-classic ornaments and a spacious lobby with a gorgeous chandelier that beautifully lit the entire place. We are confident that our elite customers will savor luxurious and attentive services when experiencing Arsma with us.Our hotel has 126 well-appointed guest rooms that provide the utmost comfort to the satisfaction of our distinguished guests. With stylish lighting and exquisite furniture, the rooms are all characterized by uniquely splendid ambience that carries you away. Upper-level rooms feature marvelous views from the Central Mountains in the West, to the Pacific Ocean in the East. You will have the opportunity to indulge yourself in the magnificence of natural beauty just by staying in your room. We hope to make and share memories with you while your stay at Arsma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arsma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arsma Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.