We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful change of plans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeshore Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lakeshore Hotel to your Saves list
Lakeshore Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.142 Zhongmei Road, Hualien CIty, Hualien, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 120 Hotels in Hualien
Certificate of Excellence
Okinawa, Japan
2 reviews
“Wonderful change of plans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We arrived very late in Hualien and the roads were closed due to rock fall. Our taxi driver took us to the Lakeshore Hotel and we were greeted and helped upon arrival. Because we arrived late they gave us a very nice room at a discount. 8th floor, ocean views, beautiful. We were traveling with a 1 year old and they provided a nice small crib for him. Our favorite part of the room was the huge tub and shower room enclosed in glass and overlooking the ocean. Judy at the front desk was very helpful and spoke excellent English. Then buffet breakfast had a huge variety. Overall this was a pleasant change of plans and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bulle, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Stay at the lovely spacious room with huge twin beds and free in room internet access. Nice restaurant with delicious food. Too bad that the location is far away from the center and tourist attraction.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r0nDwOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for our yearly family trip to Hualien. The staffs were very nice and helpful. The room were new, comfortable and we had the sea view. We woke up with the sun shining right into our bed room. Overall experience was excellent.

I am more of a western breakfast guy. Most of Taiwan hotels incline to offer asian style breakfast with congee rice, dried meat, and stuff like that. This was no difference with Lakeshore, however they provided more variety.

I would definitely come back again.

It is not located in center of Hualien City. So driving is recommended.

Room Tip: Sea side view is good if you don't mind waking up with the sun rise. Think about transportation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happyhare06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Brand new hotel with huge room and beds with free wifi. Arrive late at night at 8 and hardly find anything around. Decide to have dinner at the hotel and found nice food in the restaurant. Overall, I really enjoy each facilitity at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Titifff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We chose this Lakeshore hotel because we like the one in Hsinchu. We were there for a family trip and stayed at the hotel for 3 days. It was a wonderful experience. The hotel is brand new and its facilities, including the kids' room, gym and sauna, are great. The staff from the reception, housekeeping and restaurant are very friendly and helpful.

The hotel is located in a nice and quiet neighbourhood. Quite a few eateries and bakeries nearby. We were upgraded to the rooms on the 8th floor with the fantastic ocean view. The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable.

There is a garden on the hill around 10-minute walk from the hotel. You can see the harbour and lighthouse from there. A nice place to have a cup of coffee and relax.

We'll definitely return to the hotel next time we visit Hualian!

Room Tip: ask for a room with the ocean view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FC17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My friend/guide and I were traveling down the coast of Taiwan. Our planned lodging for the Taroko area fell apart at the last minute so we decided to just go into Hualien and find a place that looked nice. This was late on a Saturday evening and we were tired after a long day. One of the first places we came to was the Lakeshore which looked pretty nice from the outside so we decided to give it a try. So, basically by dumb luck we found probably the nicest place I stayed in Taiwan. It is just a shame we didn't get to spend more time there.

I had a room on the 8th floor with a view of the ocean which I believe was probably in the best category of rooms in the house. King size bed. Hardwood floors. The configuration was a bit odd with the shower and bathtub at the window end of the room, and the toilet and vanity in a small room at the other end near the door. Everything looked and smelled brand new.

I agree that the breakfast buffet had a lot to offer and was pretty good quality. Ultimately it was just a quick overnight for us. We met some very friendly staff members as we were checking out who wanted to know what we were doing there basically. I think they mainly get Chinese bus tours.

There is a small free parking garage in the basement. They also offer shuttle rides from the train station and to Taroko.

The Lakeshore name is a mystery as well. Maybe it's part of a chain?

I would not hesitate for a second to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank glennaa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medan
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Although this hotel is not located on the city center, i found this hotel is impeccable, luxury and huge bedroom also the bathroom is incredible clean! The breakfast was good, with plenty of selection ranging from Chinese to Western menu.
There's also a convenience store and some bakery shops nearby, so you still could get any supper if u're looking for food at late night...
In my humble opinion, Lakeshore Hotel is one of my favorite hotels during my trip throughout Taiwan!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liandy_Vu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien hotels
0.0 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
1.8 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
2.2 mi away
Lealea Garden Hotels - Hualien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fullon Hotel Hualien
Fullon Hotel Hualien
#27 of 120 in Hualien
4.0 of 5 stars 58 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
#28 of 120 in Hualien
4.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
1.3 mi away
Azure Hotel
Azure Hotel
#6 of 120 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeshore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeshore Hotel

Address: No.142 Zhongmei Road, Hualien CIty, Hualien, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 120 Hotels in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeshore Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Lakeshore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing