We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful change of plans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeshore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lakeshore Hotel to your Saves list
Lakeshore Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.142 Jung Mei Road, Hualien CIty, Hualien, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 107 Hotels in Hualien
Okinawa, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful change of plans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We arrived very late in Hualien and the roads were closed due to rock fall. Our taxi driver took us to the Lakeshore Hotel and we were greeted and helped upon arrival. Because we arrived late they gave us a very nice room at a discount. 8th floor, ocean views, beautiful. We were traveling with a 1 year old and they provided a nice small crib for him. Our favorite part of the room was the huge tub and shower room enclosed in glass and overlooking the ocean. Judy at the front desk was very helpful and spoke excellent English. Then buffet breakfast had a huge variety. Overall this was a pleasant change of plans and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    24
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
10
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bulle, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Stay at the lovely spacious room with huge twin beds and free in room internet access. Nice restaurant with delicious food. Too bad that the location is far away from the center and tourist attraction.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for our yearly family trip to Hualien. The staffs were very nice and helpful. The room were new, comfortable and we had the sea view. We woke up with the sun shining right into our bed room. Overall experience was excellent.

I am more of a western breakfast guy. Most of Taiwan hotels incline to offer asian style breakfast with congee rice, dried meat, and stuff like that. This was no difference with Lakeshore, however they provided more variety.

I would definitely come back again.

It is not located in center of Hualien City. So driving is recommended.

Room Tip: Sea side view is good if you don't mind waking up with the sun rise. Think about transportation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Brand new hotel with huge room and beds with free wifi. Arrive late at night at 8 and hardly find anything around. Decide to have dinner at the hotel and found nice food in the restaurant. Overall, I really enjoy each facilitity at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We chose this Lakeshore hotel because we like the one in Hsinchu. We were there for a family trip and stayed at the hotel for 3 days. It was a wonderful experience. The hotel is brand new and its facilities, including the kids' room, gym and sauna, are great. The staff from the reception, housekeeping and restaurant are very friendly and helpful.

The hotel is located in a nice and quiet neighbourhood. Quite a few eateries and bakeries nearby. We were upgraded to the rooms on the 8th floor with the fantastic ocean view. The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable.

There is a garden on the hill around 10-minute walk from the hotel. You can see the harbour and lighthouse from there. A nice place to have a cup of coffee and relax.

We'll definitely return to the hotel next time we visit Hualian!

Room Tip: ask for a room with the ocean view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My friend/guide and I were traveling down the coast of Taiwan. Our planned lodging for the Taroko area fell apart at the last minute so we decided to just go into Hualien and find a place that looked nice. This was late on a Saturday evening and we were tired after a long day. One of the first places we came to was the Lakeshore which looked pretty nice from the outside so we decided to give it a try. So, basically by dumb luck we found probably the nicest place I stayed in Taiwan. It is just a shame we didn't get to spend more time there.

I had a room on the 8th floor with a view of the ocean which I believe was probably in the best category of rooms in the house. King size bed. Hardwood floors. The configuration was a bit odd with the shower and bathtub at the window end of the room, and the toilet and vanity in a small room at the other end near the door. Everything looked and smelled brand new.

I agree that the breakfast buffet had a lot to offer and was pretty good quality. Ultimately it was just a quick overnight for us. We met some very friendly staff members as we were checking out who wanted to know what we were doing there basically. I think they mainly get Chinese bus tours.

There is a small free parking garage in the basement. They also offer shuttle rides from the train station and to Taroko.

The Lakeshore name is a mystery as well. Maybe it's part of a chain?

I would not hesitate for a second to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medan
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Although this hotel is not located on the city center, i found this hotel is impeccable, luxury and huge bedroom also the bathroom is incredible clean! The breakfast was good, with plenty of selection ranging from Chinese to Western menu.
There's also a convenience store and some bakery shops nearby, so you still could get any supper if u're looking for food at late night...
In my humble opinion, Lakeshore Hotel is one of my favorite hotels during my trip throughout Taiwan!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakeshore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeshore Hotel

Address: No.142 Jung Mei Road, Hualien CIty, Hualien, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 107 Hotels in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeshore Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lakeshore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeshore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.