We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien

Save Saved
You added Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.2 Yongxing Road, Hualien City, Hualien 970, Taiwan (Formerly Chinatrust Hotel Hualien)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 102 Hotels in Hualien
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

They gave us a family room for 4 adults and a double room for 2 adults - both rooms are of the same size and same types of beds. So the family room felt a little castrophobic to me. Facilities are pleasant, the breakfast range is great - we like it.

Location is not so good as it is far from the night street market - will cost you around TWN$200 to TWN$250 for one way taxi ride to get there. The hotel counter provides currency exchange and the rates are comparable.

Room Tip: Ask someone to translate the free happy hour drinks for you - in chinese it is buy 1 get 1 free not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    42
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
15
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

The room and the bed is very big I hope I take my whole family on my vacation that day! I like the feeling in the room because its brown paint made me feel very homey.

In the morning, I felt very happy when I see their breakfast menu, a lot of drink, food, fruits, breads and cakes! Their staff in very helpful for me, the can tell i'm a moslem so they forbid me to eat anything with pork or alcohol in it. Thank You!

Oh, the bathroom is very clean too.

I met a sport star in this hotel, a bunch of girls was screaming around her and asking him for signature. I dont know who he is. But I think it is great to take a photo with a star (even though i don't know who he is)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Chateau de Chine is an offbeat, kitschy hotel masquerading as a regular hotel or vice versa. It feels like a large, tour group kind of hotel, but then there are animal "mascots" in the lobby and cartoons on the signage. It's just a bit slightly odd.

Anyway, the staff is extremely friendly and welcoming and it has a laid-back environment. We had a nice fruit and cookies plate in our room upon arrival, though the decor has seen better days - there were stains on the worn carpet and the bathroom door was chipped.

Food is extremely mediocre, so you'll do much better exploring the local streets for authentic Taiwanese food.

Overall, it is a convenient place to stay if you plan a day trip to Taroko Gorge, but just be prepared for the quirkiness of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I chose this hotel because it looked fun and funky on the outside! Never judge a book by its cover. The hotel is actually staid and plain inside but that's not its biggest crime. I could like with the drab interiors but the soundproofing in the room was awful. Noise came from the hallways and from the traffic outside. The hotel is surrounded by roads on three sides ( something not apparent in the pictures). The bed was also rock hard, I mean not much softer than a carpeted floor. I couldn't understand how other reviews on trip advisor had said the bed was comfortable, but when I moved rooms it was a different bed, still hard but softer than my first bed... so if you must stay at this hotel ask for a high floor and a soft bed. As a minor point reception was a catastrophe, staff more interested in doing paperwork, answering the phone ( mid conversation with guests) and flitting about from one guest to another. Very poor service. Breakfast was a noisy and not very relaxing experience. Food was standard. If you are into Taiwanese breakfast then it could be considered a wide selection. There is parking but it was chockablock. Once I got my space I took a taxi into tow as didn't want to loose it! I paid 94 quid for this hotel which really was a joke for what it was like.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien is a very good option for those wishing to visit Taroko National Park.

Pros:
- Very nice front staff, although not alll of them speak good English
- Comfortable rooms
- Very clean room
- Nice buffet restaurant
- Fast free wifi
- Large free parking
- Bike rental onsite (for a fee)

Cons :
- Ventilation is bathroom does not work well
- Location pretty far from city center, with limited food options around

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here AUG 2013
I love this hotel, it has nice room and colourful design, big comfy bed, and great selection of breakfast from the yummy dimsums to noodles to fruits and breads.
They cater for big groups
Would recommend this hotel to anyone I know !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The property is beautiful and restful. The staff were helpful, always remembered your name and were there to help always! It's obvious that the hotel takes care of their staff, as everyone truely seems to enjoy their work. The room was very nice, and the pool was fabulous. The service and food were also great! Definitely a nice stop for a few days.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien

Address: No.2 Yongxing Road, Hualien City, Hualien 970, Taiwan (Formerly Chinatrust Hotel Hualien)
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 102 Hotels in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial 10-story Hotel situated 2 km from train station & 6 km from Hualien Airport (courtesy transfer). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.