We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unforgettable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien to your Saves list
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.2 Yongxing Road, Hualien City, Hualien 970, Taiwan (Formerly Chinatrust Hotel Hualien)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 116 Hotels in Hualien
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The hotel is awesome, modern interior, colourful room, comfortable bed, clean bathroom, nice pool, free wifi with fast and stable connection.
Although the location is isolated but a lot of facilities are provided, so you may want to stay in the hotel for whole day. The dinner buffet is quite good, a lot of choice, with free drinks included beer and wine.
The staff are helpful, and they can help you to plan your trip, it is a good choice if you want a relax and comfortable holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    55
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
50
21
9
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
bandung
Level Contributor
154 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Modern interior, clean, but rather isolated.
Stayed for 1 night.
Love its 5-mode shower head, with powerful spraying. Wifi available in room, and connections was very fast.
The only downside is the hard bed.
Bathroom ameneties is standard, with body lotion, toothbrush, shaving kit.
Breakfast : standard.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
148 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The hotel is clean and quite comfortable. But the location is not that good. We were on a packaged tour, so this hotel was actually the choice of the travel agency.
We would prefer to have a hotel that have a night market nearby so we could somehow walk around if ever the tour finished early.
But, if your the type of person who would want to just stay and relax at the hotel after a tiresome day, this would be the right choice for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I was so surprised with this hotel the location is very Isolated there where still a few cheap eatery if you wish the hotel food is quite affordable and great views
the hotel has all the pools spa etc you could not ask for moor the staff are helpfull and nothing seems to much trouble

Room Tip: Looking over the moutains
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

The hotel appears to be fairly new (at least the current interior), and is well kept and clean. The staff is friendly and helpful, however their English is not particularly strong (if that's a concern). The staff helped us arrange a car and driver for sightseeing (Katie, our driver, did a great job). Free Internet in the hotel but not password protected so a few more security risks. The hotel has a nice buffet for breakfast. In sum, a decent option.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Our family (2 adults and 2 kids) took a 3-day trip to Hualien when we visited families in Taipei. We chose Chateau de China for its value - a tour included and 2 breakfast and 1 dinner. The room is spacious, pleasant and clean. The food is DELICOUS. But what I want to highlight is their exceptional service. I had questions before booking the room and had email exchanges with the hotel. They answered my questions promptly and were very unfront about the price. When we arrived at the hotel, they made us feel very welcome and they were very helpful. They recommend places we can visit and help arranged transportation. When we went out the first day, as we were getting into the taxi, a staff ran out to us, handing us 4 bottles of water for our trip! One night my daughter didn't feel well and wanted some congee. I looked around in the restaurant (we were having buffet dinner) and didn't see congee. When I inquired about it, the chef said "I will go cook some for her right now". 15 minutes later she had what she needed! I am very grateful for their service.

The hotel is not in the center of the town, which can be a good or bad thing depending on what you want. But it's a short taxi ride into the town. We prefer to be away from the town center. My husband and I took a short walk toward the water. It was a nice walk. There is a stone sculpture museum nearby, which we didn't have time to go, but looks like a nice place to visit. Although the surroudning is not as developed as the city center, the place is very safe.

We enjoyed our trip. They can get taxi for you charged by hour, to go anywhere you want. And the taxi drivers were all very friendly and helpful, acting also as a guide. We found this to be the best for us. We also went on their tour (included in the package), but we didn't like it because it didn't give us enough time at the sightseeing places, but let us out in a shopping place for one hour. I wished we would just hire our own taxi, if we knew what the tour was like.

I recommend this hotel to anyone. I want to thank all of the hotel staff for their exceptional service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I stayed here for one night earlier this month. Location wise, it wasn't all that good. The surrounding areas was poorly lit and run down, making a night stroll pretty scary. Having said that, the river near the hotel made it a nice morning stroll for me.

The hotel exterior itself was very colourful with a hotel logo plastered at the entrance, much like a university building rather than a hotel.

The rooms themselves was functional without being outstanding. I certainly have no complaints about them.

Buffet breakfast selection was good and the staff were generally kind. All in all, a good and interesting hotel to say the least.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien

Address: No.2 Yongxing Road, Hualien City, Hualien 970, Taiwan (Formerly Chinatrust Hotel Hualien)
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 116 Hotels in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien is the first international resort hotel in Eastern Taiwan which features the environmental concept of “green hotel,” featuring ecological, energy-saving, carbon-reducing and health-oriented green architecture. The 11-story hotel has 197 elegant rooms where beautiful natural scenery can be taken in from all sides—the vast blue Pacific Ocean to the east, the rolling greens of Central Mountain Range to the west, the Coast Ranges to the south, and the view of the Suhua cliffs to the north. Situated near the Hualien Port and Hualien Cultural Center, guests will find easy access to a wide range of activities in the Taroko Gorge and Eastern seafront. Jimmy, Taiwan famous artist, presents his magic world in Chateau de Chine and share the same concept-hug, love, and sharing.We invite everyone with open arms to embrace without a word, to exchange and deliver care, support, thanks, and many other positive energy. Througout the hotel corners, Jimmy’s installations and embrace story will quietly involved in your journey, we wish to recall your every touching moment and see your smile in Chateau de Chine Hualien. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.