We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silks Place Taroko

Save Saved
You added Silks Place Taroko to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Silks Place Taroko
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.18 Tian Hsyang Road, Shioulin Town, Hualien 972, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 100 hotels in Hualien
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ultimate relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is simply a wonderful place to unwind with a view that is out of this world. Sit in the hot tub and watch the mist roll down the mountains, luxuriate with a massage, enjoy good food. This is a place not just for couples! They offer lots of activities for children as well. Staff and service was excellent. Rooms very clean and very comfortable and cozy. I would highly recommend the Silk Place

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPT-PR, Public Relations Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience of Silks Place Taroko. We are very happy that you enjoyed your holiday with us. The place always loves to have our friends return back to stay with us, or bring new friends to see fantastic gorge views. Like you said, we also have a big playground and lego room for kids, very good for family. We are looking forward to serve you again.

With Regards,

Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    278
    99
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
133
153
23
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Silks Place is a first class hotel with all the amenities one would expect from large city hotels. From the moment you walk into the lobby you are met with smiles and courteous employees who are there to take care of you every need. I would visit there with family, friends or by myself over and over again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the outside grounds of the hotel for beautiful views of the mountains and gorg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPT-PR, Public Relations Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. The place always welcomes our old friends, new visitors and new developers. We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,

Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed in a honeymoon studio on the retreat floor for 3 nights. The service was excellent and as I would expect in this price range. Breakfast and dinner were included in my package as well as access to the retreat lounge, on the top floor, next to the outdoor pool.

I could not fault the quality of service or attention to detail and this felt like a real treat in the middle of Taroko, which was packed with tourists, coaches and traffic. I was collected from Hualien station by the shuttle and also took advantage of the half-day tour of the main Taroko tourist attractions.

Within walking distance, there are some good trails to walk and a temple to visit. The spa is also worth a visit, and the jetlag massage is particularly recommended for the travelling tourist.

Room Tip: I can recommend the retreat floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPT-PR, Public Relations Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience. Honeymoon studio is excellent choice for single tourist or couple, cozy and right size to stay. The package is included everything you needed. As you mentioned, The Spa at Silks Place Taroko features breathtaking gorge view treatment rooms, where you can truly relax while enjoying the beautiful view outside the window. If possible, please do come back one day. We look forward to serving you again.

With Regards,

Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

It's the second time I choose Silk in Taruko gorge national park. The location is great, you can see the canyon view through the balcony. The first time I stayed here with my boyfriend, I was touched by the view. So I plan a trip with my family, and stay here again. All my family love this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPT-PR, Public Relations Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience and do love us very much. Whenever you wanna take a rest, just come back to the mountain with someone you love. We are looking forward to seeing you again.

With Regards,

Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Second time here. The staff are friendly n helpful. The room condition is great. Their day tours are excellent. Certainly a place to come to enjoy the scenery of taroko. Will definite stay here again. The restaurant food are good and the prices are abv average but it beats eating at the stores nearby. Remember to bring walking shoe!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPT-PR, Public Relations Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience here. As your recommendation, bring walking shoes to come. Within the walking distance, our guests can visit trails easily and enjoy the nature environment. Thank you again and we are looking forward to seeing you in the near future.

With Regards,

Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is our second visit, our first visit was in summer 2012 and we had a wonderful and unforgetable experience during our first visit. We love the location and the surrounding very much, plus, friendly and helpful staffs. Hotel's location is an ideal resting point especially for those who love trails hiking and cycling.

However, we find that the service quality was dropped compared to our first visit particularly in breakfast and dining service, the table arranged for us bit of a squeeze, the foods not as tasty as before, some of the waiter/waitress' face filled with clumpy expression due to crowded guests. I was confused by the fruit tag placed on the table and been lectured by one of the staff in charge... T.T...

We have been wait for 30 minutes during the check out because there is only one staff in charge, rushing here and there for check in and check out customers.... Therefore, the service quality discounted and cant match with what we expected and the price we pay for.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPT-PR, Public Relations Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience and let us know what your concern and feeling during this stay. Apologies for the issues that have caused your disappointment with us and we do appreciate that you have highlighted some points. We seriously review all you mentions and have already taken these issues into our department head meeting. We do hope that we can let you see our improvement and have any opportunity to serve you again.

With regards,

Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Such a treat it was for us to stay at this lovely friendly hotel set in beautiful surroundings. We enjoyed wonderful views of the gorge from many places within the hotel even the fitness room. They aim to please and my 2 young daughters had several cooking lessons despite being the only ones enrolled. The indoor swimming pool and recreation facilities were wonderful. A lovely place to rest and relax. Service is excellent, rooms comfortable and very personable as they remember your name!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPT-PR, Public Relations Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience here. Our hotel is great for people who wanna relax and truly refresh. We are happy to know you and your family had great time with us. Thank you for your encouraging comments and let us know when you will be back in the mountain.

With Regards,

Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silks Place Taroko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silks Place Taroko

Address: No.18 Tian Hsyang Road, Shioulin Town, Hualien 972, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hualien
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hualien
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hualien
#2 Family Hotel in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Silks Place Taroko 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silks Place Taroko open in December 2009 after renovation with 47 Suites and 113 Resort rooms located at the Taroko Gorge surrounded from breath taking marble mountain.The best Hotel in Taroko to stay and enjoy the beauty of The National Park Taroko. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Ctrip DaoDao so you can book your Silks Place Taroko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silks Place Taroko Hotel Hualien
Grand Formosa Taroko Hualien
Grand Formosa Taroko Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silks Place Taroko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.