We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely need more than 1 night here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silks Place Taroko

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Silks Place Taroko to your Saves list
Silks Place Taroko
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.18 Tian Hsyang Road, Shioulin Town, Hualien 972, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 106 Hotels in Hualien
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Definitely need more than 1 night here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Great place to relax and enjoy the Taroko Gorge surrounds. Overall we enjoyed everything about this hotel: rooms, outdoor pool and jacuzzi, and both breakfast and dinner buffet spread were excellent. You definitely need more than 1 night here, we will definitely return for a longer stay. Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPT-PR, Public Relations Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your Taroko experience here. Yes! It is a great place that you deserve to stay longer. Have time to visit trails, go around the popular spots and just enjoy doing nothing on the rooftop of The Hotel. We look forward to serving you again in the near future. All the best for now.

With regards,

Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    107
    27
    8
    2
See reviews for
143
166
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pyeongtaek, South Korea
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed for two nights in October 2013. Our weekday package included breakfast, dinner, $1000 spa coupon for roughly $350 per night. Our assessment:

Pros:
Location- The hotel is in Taroko Gorge National Park and is a short drive (5-30 minutes) to most trails/sites.
Service- The front desk, restaurant, spa and kids area staff were uniformly friendly and helpful. The restaurant staff accommodated for food allergies and dietary needs.
Kids Area- The kids play area is large with an small indoor playground and ball pit (see pictures).

Cons:
Food- The variety was adequate however the quality was lacking e.g. the steak offered on the nightly menu was small, poorly cooked and a bit fatty. Additionally evening meals ordered in the western restaurant took 20-30 minutes to arrive.
Distance from Hualien- You will need to coordinate a car, shuttle or taxi to make the 50 minute drive from Hualien to the hotel. The hotel coordinated a taxi to pick us up at the airport for $1200.
Service- As mentioned the staff was helpful however the quality of service in some areas could improve. Two examples spring to mind; no one at the front desk staff knew the location of the nearest ATM that services foreign cards (no ATM at the hotel). A hotel with a steady stream of foreign guests should have this information available. Second, the front desk initially said our package did not include the aforementioned spa coupons even though the reservation email indicated otherwise. When we returned from touring the sites they apologized for the mistake and promptly provided our coupons.

Other: We hired a car and driver for 8 hours midweek for $3200. Provided flexibility for us and our children to see the sites. The spa is lovely and the view from the hotel roof is nice.

Summary: We would recommend this hotel if you can get a reasonable package and want to spend 2-3 days touring the gorge sites. The hotel staff deserves an A for willingness to please however the management could certainly improve it's level of customer service in a few areas to accompany it's stunning location to make it a world class operation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPT-PR, Public Relations Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm greeting from Taroko Gorge. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Some department heads as you mentioned have been briefed regarding your comments on the issues and we are confident that you will see a marked improvement on your next visit. As your recommend that we always put our promotion packages on the website, so please book the room and get the special price online. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. All the best for now.

With regards,

Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

It's a pity we only had 1 night is this beautiful hotel. This place is pretty isolated (but in a good way, total serenity and peace). Apparently the day before we arrived, there was an earthquake which triggered a landslide. Thus on the way up to the hotel, there were road blocks due to the landslide. First time seeing an aftermath of a landslide! Traffic was only clear to move every 2 hours but that didn't dampen our mood. Best part was we were upgraded to a suite and that really made our very tiring day better! The suite was beautiful and the view was even better. No doubt we had a really good rest. I even made use of the bath tub and sea salt they provided and it was so relaxing!

Breakfast and dinner were included and the spread was amazing. At night we chilled by the pool and boy was it so peaceful, the both of us actually fell asleep. There were other activities going on that were organised by the hotel because you can't really go anywhere else but we were too tired.

I highly recommend anyone to spend more than a night at this lovely hotel and if you're in need of a zen mind, this is a place to be at.

Did I mention the toiletries smell so good? :)

Room Tip: Our room had a balcony and it was facing the rocky hills and the small river flowing through
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPT-PR, Public Relations Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking time to share your experience here. Our hotel is located at middle of Taroko National Park, totally serenity and peace. You can truly relax and refresh deeply. Thank you very much for your great review and hope we can see each other very soon again at the beautiful Resort.

With regards,

Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were there to spend our pending honeymoon, and felt happy when the hotel thoughtfully prepared a very delicious cake in our room for our celebration. The room itself was nice and big enough, with the view of gorge outside the window. Definitely worth to upgrade the price to get the amazing view.
The room was clean, the mattress was comfortable and the amenities in the bathroom was totally heaven. The hotel was decorated with wood & stone, and it gave off zen-like atmosphere, which is nice. The breakfast and dinner were delicious with polite waiters & waitresses. The front desk are fluent in English, but the housekeeping/operator/etc are not so good in english, so sometimes we had difficulty to communicate.
The hotel can arrange for tour around taroko gorge, but mind you that the guide speaks mandarin to explain to their chinese guests, and left us non-chinese tourists staring only into the shuttle bus window.
Me & my husband loves this hotel and would want to stay there longer!

Room Tip: definitely pay more to get the gorge view~
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPT-PR, Public Relations Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm greeting from Taroko Gorge. We are very happy that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us, sweet love. It is a good place to stay longer. Enjoy the atmosphere and truly nature. By the way, regarding communication issue, we will convey your feedback to the department head concerned. We will review and improve what you mention. We are looking forward to serve you again.

With regards,

Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu, Taiwan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Been there for three times, always with pleasure. Good location, good food, good service. Even with very good playgrounds for kids. My kid loves the duck pool and the kids playground a lot! Cannt wait for my next trip to Silk Place Taroko! :)

Room Tip: Choose Gorge view room with higher level (ex: 3F). you'll see different view @ night. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPT-PR, Public Relations Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience of Silks Place Taroko. We are very happy that you and your lovely kid enjoyed the holiday with us. The place always loves to have our friends return back to stay with us, or bring new friend to see fantasic gorge views. We are looking forward to serve you again.

With regards,

Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Location inside Taroko National Park gives this hotel a spectacular view of the gorge as a backdrop. All your earthly worries seem to melt away as you step into the hotel, welcomed so warmly by its staff (who speaks perfect English!) and mesmerized by the zen-like details of hotel settings.

The room is huge and have separate areas for showers and toilet. They also leave some welcoming fruits in the room for you. Breakfast spread is so plentiful! Everything is fresh and I love how they bring in the best local fruits & salad selections for their guests. Both Taiwanese and Western selections are available.

Prepare your bathing suit. You must not miss the outdoor rooftop jacuzzi and swimming pool, overlooking the gorge! Such heavenly bliss!

Note that the hotel is dimly lit in the evenings for a soothing ambience (both inside and outside) so do watch your steps. But then again, there's no rush to get anywhere once you are in Taroko NP. I'd recommend spending at least 2 nights here to enjoy all of the hotel/gorge. The hotel/NP is just so spectacular. Go on and spurge a little here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPT-PR, Public Relations Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank for taking your time to share your experience here. We are very glad to know that you had great time with us. Certainly, we do always recommend our guests bring their swimming suit to here. We have outdoor and indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi at the roof top. Guests can truly enjoy the atmosphere and views. And as you mention, stay here at least two nights, need time to visit trails and enjoy hotel facilities.

Once again thank you for choosing Silks Place Taroko as your holiday destination. We are sincerely looking forward to see you again in the near future.

With regards,

Jackie

We are pleased to hear you had a splendid stay with us and certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If you do need any assistance with making a reservation in advance please do not hesitate to contact me on the email address below. All the best for now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arkansas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

shuttle met train, departed on time, special check in at retreat lounge, room was really large, with bathroom, twin sinks, bathtub, separate shower and toilet areas. size of room was comparable to two hi express rooms. clean and comfortable. we purchased retreat package..included tour, snacks and drinks all day, happy hour, excellent dinner and breakfast. staff was great..treated us like family...a very good experience!!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view. not inside, we didnt..our mistake
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPT-PR, Public Relations Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your Taroko experience here. We are pleased to hear you had a splendid stay with us and certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With regards,

Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silks Place Taroko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silks Place Taroko

Address: No.18 Tian Hsyang Road, Shioulin Town, Hualien 972, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hualien
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hualien
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hualien
#2 Family Hotel in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Silks Place Taroko 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silks Place Taroko open in December 2009 after renovation with 47 Suites and 113 Resort rooms located at the Taroko Gorge surrounded from breath taking marble mountain.The best Hotel in Taroko to stay and enjoy the beauty of The National Park Taroko. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Otel, Odigeo, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Silks Place Taroko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silks Place Taroko Hotel Hualien
Grand Formosa Taroko Hualien
Grand Formosa Taroko Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silks Place Taroko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.