We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely traditional Japanese style house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daydream Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Daydream Hostel to your Saves list
Daydream Hostel
No.6 Jieyue St., Hualien 970, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Hualien
Certificate of Excellence
Tainan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely traditional Japanese style house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I love the album which the host choose for the house. The singer is 宋冬野. These songs made me feel peaceful. Even after a month later, his voice always appear in my mind. Although I was the only one visitor, I could really enjoy stay here. And the host, she is so enthusiastic pretty girl, I was so happy to have a little chat with her. Next time I will come here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    7
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
16
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Adaptive reuse-
From a clinic to a BnB.

Past and present-
Centrally located within the city, the bnb is located admist of the hustle and bustle of today's life. However when one retreats into the space, one finds an oasis and a connection to the city's rich history with Japanese influence.

Old body with a young soul-
A 70 year old Japanese style shell in hinoki timber with a lively spirit- the new wires, wifi, music, toilets, beds and the ever-so-energetic/ warm/ helpful owner!

An excellent alternative to hotels! An perfect choice for free and easy travelers! An must-visit for architecture lovers!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muar, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Just back from lovely stay at Hualien- Daydream hostel. We stay for 3D2N.
At first, we are worry about the hostel location which are not within walking distance from train station. But, there was a lot of taxi outside train station and not costly.
Hostel owner, Ms Angeline is very friendly and extremely helpful. She was provided a lot of informations and suggestions for our trip arrangement and also helped us to send our big luggage to next station even though she did not had any experience on that.
We had a standard double room with queen size bed, and utilities. The only bathroom and the only toilet is sharing with others so will be 'jam' during peak.
Overall, Daydream is a nice place for those who wish to have an experience with old japanese style home stay. Thumbs up for the excellence hostel owner.

特別的旧房子
特別的老板娘
特別的好環境
特別的超特別

不是每个人都配得上這特別⋯⋯
只有特別的老板娘才撐得起
不是每個人都會欣賞这特別
只有特別的過客才會聞得到

老闆娘與過客的相遇
只因特別的緣分
雖然短暫
但每一位過客都有不一樣的特別
愿這特別的一切能延續特別久

期待在這特別的未來
能夠在特別的際遇下相遇

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I only spent one night in this house but had the chance to have it for my own since there were no customers in the other rooms. The house is composed of 3 rooms, 2 rooms with double beds and 1 one bigger room with a wooden floor that can host 4 people. The double bed rooms are OK but still a little narrow and dark while the 4people room, which I chose, is very light and is right in front of a Japanese style little garden.
The bathroom has been designed by the owner of the place itself which gives it a certain charm assuming you don't care showering on concrete. The house combined a Japanese and eccentric style. While there were a lot of wooden structure in the house as well as wires that the owner chose to show instead of having them hidden behind the wall as we are used to.
As long as the location is concerned, this place is great, right next to a lot of small restaurants, shopping area, and night markets. You will be 2 streets away from great meat buns, and 10 minutes from the street of congyoubing. And for those whose stomach is not used to Asian food there is still a Starbucks and a McDonalds not far away!
The only point that I really did not like during my stay is that the lights in the toilets were not working which is really annoying at night... Hopefully this has already been fixed!
Overall it is quite a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
說時依舊日風民宿, 業者 at Daydream Hostel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Google Translation
不好意思,廁所燈的部分隔天已經修理完成,造成您的不便,深感抱歉!也謝謝您對老宅的介紹。
歡迎您下次再回來,讓我好好招待您。
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Very interesting little humble old Japanese style house, you could still find some old building structure.
Owner is a very detail person where you could find many small interesting notes and coroners around the house, have fun exploring!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I had a wonderful time there. It is the MOST beautiful guest house I've ever been!! Service is really good, I am so impressive by the oldie atmosphere created by decoration combing old fashion and modern spirit. Rooms spotlessly clean, JayYi must be constantly cleaning it. Thanks for the warm treatment while staying. I will never forget the good time there and will sincerely recommend anyone who plans visiting Hualien in the future! -tony

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkirkara, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at daydream hostel. The house is beautifully and stylishly refurbished and the rooms a really comfortable. We stayed in a room with large glass windows overlooking the back garden.

Angeline the host is really helpful and had a good time with her when she joined me and another guest to the night market.

I'd recommend this hostel to anyone staying in Hualien!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien hotels
0.7 mi away
Beauty Inn
Beauty Inn
#10 of 116 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
0.3 mi away
East Town 26
East Town 26
#3 of 116 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sleeping Boot Backpackers
Sleeping Boot Backpackers
#2 of 105 in Hualien
5.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Realive Backpacker
Realive Backpacker
#4 of 105 in Hualien
5.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
6.5 mi away
Green Villa
Green Villa
#1 of 105 in Hualien
5.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daydream Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daydream Hostel

Address: No.6 Jieyue St., Hualien 970, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Daydream Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daydream Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.