We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find out why Veggies won't miss eating meat...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Land

Green Land
No.20 Minguo Road, Hualien, Taiwan
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 345 restaurants in Hualien
Cuisines: Vegan
Restaurant details
Bielefeld, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Find out why Veggies won't miss eating meat...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

This little restaurant in Hualien offers absolute great vegan / vegetarian food for very affordable prices. The veggie "chicken" with curry was so crispy and well spiced that you almost wont believe that no chicken had to die for it... The wraps, dumplins and pancakes were very delicious as well. Unfortunately no beer to order but thats also ok... If you are not a veggie yet, try it out and find out why veggies won't miss eating meat...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    4
    3
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Affordable. Clean. Tasty food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

This place seems popular amongst the locals. Menu is in Mandarin. I wish menu had photos. Staff does not speak English. I pointed to the menu and used thumbs up or down to communicate with the server. I don't know mandarin but noodles its mein, pronounced "mee-in" Rice is phan, pronounced "sic fan" (eat rice) From there, the server made recommendations. Vegetarian dining is limited in the area. This restaurant was recommended by our concierge. Would dine here again

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Arrive early, as they close around 8.30pm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We arrived around 8.30pm, and we were simply asked if we liked "fried rice and vegetables." When we replied "uh, yes", the waitress disappeared and returned with 2 plates of very basic fried veg. Looking around the restaurant, the locals had much more imaginative dishes. Seems they were rushing to get us fed and out the door, as they switched off the lights soon after and we felt under pressure to eat up quick and leave. Seems things shut down early in Hualien!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 150 cities Reviews in 150 cities
381 helpful votes 381 helpful votes
“Vegetarian Oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Green land is located at No. 20 Minguo Road, Hualien City.

Situated in the trendy streets of central Hualian, bright and modern Green land serves Taiwanese vegetarian food. There are no English or picture menus but if you are keen to visit it is probably because you are desperate just to avoid meat. The cheerful woman serving did speak some English and was happy to show other peoples dishes.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great Vegetarian Food... from the view of an American Tourist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

So my Mom is vegetarian and it's always nice to take her to a vegetarian restaurant every now and then so she doesn't have to only order salad. We were here on vacation, i'm from Miami, FL and we have family here. THe town is small so if you happen to be reading this review you are probably deciding from only a handful of places. The restaurant is clean and relatively modern for american standards. the menu is pretty extensive and even for non-vegetarians (me) the food was great.

I'm uploading a pic of the restaurant as well as the menu... the menu has the address and phone number on it.

Pros - great food, clean, good service, easy to find once you know where you're going.
cons - can't think of any.

enjoy.

I hope this review was Helpful for you!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Land also viewed

Hualien, Taiwan
Hualien, Taiwan
 
Hualien, Taiwan
Hualien, Taiwan
 

Been to Green Land? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Land, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.