We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully designed minsu. I will be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Echo villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hualien
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Echo villa
Save
You added Echo villa to your Saves list
No. 21, Alley 168, Lane 289, Guofu St., Hualien 970, Taiwan   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 1,000 Hualien B&B and Inns
5.0 of 5 stars 206 Reviews
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Beautifully designed minsu. I will be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Ah Cheng and his family are a bunch of helpful people. We stayed in the cheapest room (coz the room that I liked was way too expensive for a night). This minsu is relatively far from town area. To get to the night market, just call a cab. Ah Cheng has some connection with the taxi company. You get 30% discount by mentioning that you are a guest in Echo Villa. The Zhiqiang night market is just 15 minutes drive away from Echo Villa. Ah Cheng also provide us with a food map. But our time at Hualien was too short that we did not have much time to explore this quaint little town. The design of this minsu is absolutely great. The antiques are nicely utilised and arranged in the minsu. Love the entire design in the minsu. I wish they have a hammock at the garden. :) Ah Cheng also dropped us at the Hualien train station using his Austin which he bought over from a Taiwanese singer. So classic and vintage-y! Feels like I am back to the 70s. I will definitely be back to Hualien. There are so much to see and to do, especially on eco tourism. There are many organic farms to visit too!

Room Tip: We stayed in Pop Style room located at the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
48
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Absolutely loved this minsu. The place looks exactly like the picture in the website. I stayed in the room where there's the swing-chair and the glass roof.

The minsu host offers free pick-up and return to-fro the train station. It is a short drive from the main city area (5-10mins). And the minsu is located in a quiet street away from the city. Thankfully, if not i wont feel very safe in a 'glasshouse'. The house just looks amazing and the room is an absolutely lovely place to stay in. I even spotted a fire-fly in the woods area. I spent 2 nights there. The owner provides loccitane toiletries (shampoo and soap) and bring bf into the room every morning.

The night market is a short taxi ride away. Very convenient to just call a cab.
Very peaceful place to stay in. Would go again! but perhaps not as a solo person, cost the rooms are quite pricey.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with the glasswall/roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The rooms are spacious and beautifully styled right down to the theme and details of Each room. Owner, Ah Cheng is a fantastic host. He spared no effort to make sure we are comfortable and welcome. He also gave us places of interest and guides on the best eats in Hua lien.

Michelle

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. Didn't like the booking system. Which only allows you to book 3 months in advance. This meant you would have to camp at 12am at the website to ensure you can get a room. I booked at 1am and the room I wanted was already taken up!!!! Very upset with that. So we had to take the next room available.
The place is really not that far from the city, about 5 mins drive to will get you to Starbucks. All the good food are near the Main Street which just a street road through the city.
The breakfast was excellent. Freshly made by Ah Cheng's mum. With freshly squeezed juice daily. It was healthy and yummy. Loved it very much.
Now the bad thing about the B&B is the toilet. The room I was staying in had the copper bathtub. It was a hassle to climb in and out of the tube to bath. And dangerous too! Imagine if you slip. The hot water in the room was very inconsistent. It takes sometime to heat up and when it is hot, it is very hot. We found it hard to control the temperature of the tap and the shower. And like what the other reviewer commented, the area near the toilet bowl was almost always wet.
Additionally, as the house had a glass room, there is an automatic blind that will unroll when it's hot and roll back in when it's not. We found it quite irritating. At 730am every morning, the blind will start rolling itself out and it makes quite some noise, waking us up in the process.

It was definitely an experience to stay in a place with glass roof and fully glass windows all around but for me I will either try another room or stay at an entirely different place.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The hosts - Chen, is a very friendly person. He greeted us, shared with us a little story about the place, and how it is being built by his dad and decorated by his mum. He recommended to us tours that would suit our time, and provided us with all the convenience we need to get along town (taxi number, map etc). We just felt so taken care of!
Our room was superb! The vintage decoration (all across the house as well as the room) was just - so unique. It is very clean, equipped with hot water (really nice hot shower), and beds are comfortable too!
Breakfast - is home made egg sandwich with prawn fritters and mango juice - was just so yummy that we're hoping for 2nd serving! :) Will definitely come back here again.
Highly recommended for honeymoon stay, if you just want to get away from the world. :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Kind hospitality, sophisticated design and quality finishes characterise the whole Echo Villa experience. The hosts are attentive, but also respectful of your privacy. The rooms are beautifully equipped, with eclectic antique furnishings and appointed to bring the best of the stunning nature outside into every room. The photos do not lie - it actually looks this good!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed 2D1N in Echovilla, we regretted not staying longer.

Before coming to Taiwan, Ahcheng was very prompt in replying email and he will answer to all my queries. He even guided me to which train to book and recommended a driver to drive us around.

The driver that Ahcheng recommended was Mr Yang. He was a good guide, he never stop telling us what was around us when he drove. Some times, he will crack some jokes which make our time with him very enjoyable. He also told us about the history of Taroko Gorge. We enjoy every moment and the scenery. Mr Yang also brought us to buy hualien's best zha dan cong you bin, very delicious! Till now we are still craving for it!

At night when we return to Echovilla, Ahcheng came to talk to us and ask how was our day. He also show us around, tell us how echovilla came about and even tell us some jokes. A very friendly owner indeed! We feel like home under his guidance. The room we booked was 觀星閣. It was so big and we slept under the stars. A lay back moment away from the buzzing city.

Next day in the morning, Ahcheng send our breakfast to our room personally. It was prepared by his mom. Very healthy and delicious breakfast! We love it! Then he will set a time with us so that he can send us to the train station with his vintage van. He even tell us to drop him an when we reach Singapore, so that he will know we safely arrive home. He also replied my email by saying that Echovilla is our home in Taiwan. Really appreciated it!

Overall, we love echovilla and enjoy our stay there!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Echo villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echo villa

Address: No. 21, Alley 168, Lane 289, Guofu St., Hualien 970, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 1,000 B&Bs / Inns in Hualien
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Echo villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.