We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to relax....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shin Kong Chao Feng Ranch and Resort

Shin Kong Chao Feng Ranch and Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Shin Kong Chao Feng Ranch and Resort to your Saves list
Shin Kong Chao Feng Ranch and Resort
No.20, Yongfu St., Fenglin Township, Hualien, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 103 Hotels in Hualien
Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to relax....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Due to road closure, we cannot stay at Tanoko Silk Palace and staying in this ranch is our contingency plan. We were lucky that they still have vacant room and they did not even ask for deposit. The service there is excellent. All the staff in the resort are very helpful and efficient.
In general we have a good time at the ranch, except that we were disappointed that we cannot experience milking the cow and for those who are sensitive to insect bite, make sure you ask the receptionist for insect spray before going to the farm. The bite by the little insect are painful and itchy. It will takes a few days to subside... I hope so as mine is still swollen after 4 days.

They only serve standard set menu for dinner, where they have fish, vegetables, pork soup, pork rib, chicken, pickles and rice. . Also, make sure you go early for dinner as they close by 8.30 pm.

For those who like to have hot bath, this is a good place too. You can go to the public one which is free of charge or have a private room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Basically a place where Taiwanese families go with their children. You can live in a holiday house consisting of oe large room, shower and toilet. The one we had was very clean, there were no mosquitoes or other bugs which is very good when you are out in the green. There's a little zoo where you can touch the animals and other attractions the little ones enjoy. You can see the mountains - a breathtaking view.

The golf carts you need to move around on the car-free area are not provided. You have to rent one for 1000 TWD a day. Depending on your booking some fees are included (admission to the zoo, hot sping, etc.) or you pay extra. Breakfast is provided in one of the bigger buildings. Food is soso, but the coffee had a distinct Cl-flavor to it. This place is far from the sea and far from Hualien City. I wouldn't recommend it for people without children, people on a short stay or people who are coming to Taiwan for sightseeing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed there for 1 nite. The rooms are dated with loose powerpoints hanging around and holes in the tiles in the bathroom.

The farm has a bit of everything but nothing is really of the must see must experience type.

There are 2 things that our family really enjoyed very much though.

1. the free hotsprings - very nice and when we went at around 10am in the morning, we were the only ones there ...
2. the buggy - the place is so big so it is fun driving the buggy around including the kids .. oops

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012 via mobile

We spent 2 nights there in all. The room is huge with 2 queen beds. Must do is to rent their buggy during your stay there. We had a good time driving around the farm in the buggy. Had our hot spring dips for 2 nights there-it's free for visitors staying at the farm. The little farm -zoo area is a must go for children. There's a chance to feed and milk the cows too! Enjoyed our stay there but had to change destination bec we are tired if eating the same food (breakfast, lunch and dinner) every day.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We spent 2 nights in this farm. A shuttle bus at the price of NT$100 took us from Hualien Railway Station to the farm. The journey was around 35-40 minutes.

The farm is actually a hot-spring resort with a petite zoo, orchard, insect corner and botanical garden. Accommodation in the form of small chalets (either 4 single beds or 2 king size beds), spacious and basic, the king size beds are good enough even for 2 adults. Although there were scratches and stains on the walls and floor it's clean and tidy. The highlight must be the open air hotsprings - different sizes and temperature. Even with the influx of local tourists at evenings, the hotsprings seems not too crowded. Due to the duration of our stay we booked a golf-kart for travelling within the farm - this is very important for kids or elderly because the size of the farm is really big. Another alternative is the 4-wheels 'bike'.

There is only one restaurant which serve lunch and dinner (another restaurant only serves breakfast). Although the choice is limited the kids still enjoy their meals. There is a convenience store near the reception hall for guests to buy snacks or drinks.

Although there are no luxurious facilities such as in-room theatre, kids' club or a great variety of restaurants to choose, somehow the kids enjoyed the stay very much. Compared with other entertainment parks such as Eda this farm is able to display a wide range of natural wonders for the kids to appreciate. Kids were amazed at the sight of Friesland cows and the experience of feeding the calves. This is one of the best farms in Taiwan.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shin Kong Chao Feng Ranch and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shin Kong Chao Feng Ranch and Resort

Address: No.20, Yongfu St., Fenglin Township, Hualien, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 103 Hotels in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Shin Kong Chao Feng Ranch and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shin Kong Chao Feng Ranch and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.