We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home Away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monet Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Monet Garden to your Saves list
Monet Garden
No.138, Section1, Chinan Road, Shoufeng Town, Hualien 970, Taiwan   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Home Away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This review is long overdue. We were at this quaint B&B in the chilly month of Nov, with 2 young children and my parents.

Joe and his lovely wife went completely out of their way to make us feel comfortable and even ferried us around the area, prepared the most delicious freshly caught fish together with a lavish meal for us, and took us fishing in an area untouched by tourists next to a flowing stream where the boys could dip their feet and splash about. They provided heaters for the cold & attended to the smallest details.

We were so touched by their kindness and generosity and hope to repay them one day should they ever come our way. Ask them where to buy the most delicious roasted pork (bak kwa) in Hua lien. Simply out of this world!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    4
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
7
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Monet Garden looks like another good value Taiwanese B&B when you visit it through their lobby/restaurant. The place is very nicely decorated and sits on poles above a pool full of fish.

Unfortunately the rooms are less nice and bad value for the price you pay for them. Almost all the B&Bs we visited in Taiwan had very nice bathrooms, except this one. It smelled like mould which makes you want to shower as short as possible. Not so nice if you travel on a bicycle like us. Even worse was that the mould smell was also in the room, which constantly irritates you. Maybe not everyone is as sensitive to this, but it certainly bothered us.

Overall the beds were nice, there's a fridge, water cooker with tea bags, and a TV in the room. And the wifi worked in the lobby and on the hotel grounds (but not inside the room). The breakfast was also good. Especially the coffee! The service is friendly as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

If you want to relax in the countryside you will feel that Monet Garden is the perfect place to be. The rooms are spacious and decorated with a cosy personal touch. Each room has its own little terrace in front. Moreover you can relax and sit outside in garden. For breakfast you will find really good coffee, made from fresh coffee beans and you can choose between Chinese and European style. The congee is delicious.

We had a great time with our two kids and a remote and relaxed stay at Liu Lake. The owner, his wife and family are just great and very kind and helpful towards any question you may have. Thanks to them we were able to discover a lot about Taiwanese culture. As we arrived by train from Taipei we were picked up from the train station, helped to rent bikes and find our way to Taroko National Park and to Hualien. We had a very warm stay.

Room Tip: The rooms are all large, nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My girlfriend and me booked a weekend at Lyju lake. We checked the internet and the lonely planet for a decent but not to expensive b&b. We decided to stay at monet garden. After a phonecall with the owner (who speaks decent english) we bookend the latin romantic room. Upon arrival it became clear that the room was already full. They immediately upgraded us to a very nice room. Beautiful wooden accents and a nice spacey room. Most importantly the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was clean, and there was a little terrace in front of our room where we could drink a nice red wine. The owner and his family were very hospitable and was kind enough to bring us to Hualien city when this was needed.

All in alll we had a great stay and definitely recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My family stayed in Monet Garden for two nights in July 2013. Joe and his family really went out of his way to make our visit very special, particularly helping us get a permit to visit the Mugua River Gorge. Without him, we would have undoubtedly missed this highlight. Our room was very comfortable and the whole place has a very relaxing setting (it reminds me of Bali). I'll be recommending this place to my friends and would have no hesitation to recommending it to others. Despite my lack of language skills, I really felt a strong sense of friendship.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is beautifully presented. You must try their sweet potato leaf juice! The hotel has plenty of ambience. This would be a good getaway for anyone who wants to stay outside of downtown Hualien.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our family stayed with Joe and his family for three nights in April 2013. We were picked up at the railway and brought straight back to the motel. We had been traveling direct from New Zealand and were treated to a traditional dinner the moment we arrived. This was our second trip to Monet Garden, and will be recommeding it to any friends who plan on making a trip to the area. We were given great advice as to local attractions, and in some instances, transported by Joe to make the most of the local attractions, first hand. No request semed too difficult, and we truely enjoyed the atmosphere the owner provided to his guests.
If you are a lover of great coffee, then you will definitely love this location, as Joe imports and roasts his own brand of excellent cooffee.
Peter and Sonya from NZ

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monet Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monet Garden

Address: No.138, Section1, Chinan Road, Shoufeng Town, Hualien 970, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 95 Specialty Lodging in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Monet Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monet Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.